We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Positano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence La Dolce Vita
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place in Positano”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here last April. Location is good although a lot of steps involved but then its in Positano. We had a lovely room with a balcony and sea view. For breakfast we usually had croissants, fresh fruits, cheese, yoghurt and Vincenzo's capuccino. About 10 min. walk to the main beach Spiaggia Grande. Some of the hotels in Fornillo beach are still closed and there were no sun loungers yet. We love the sound of the waves especially in the evening when going to sleep. When I did online booking Maryse was very helpful in also securing a private taxi pick up for us at Naples airport when we arrived. Vincenzo waited for us at the main road and helped carry our heavy suitcase a few hundred steps down to the hotel ( I didn't really count the steps but felt like more than a hundred). Wi-fi was not that brilliant in our room except in the early hours of the morning and late at night but if you want to get in touch with friends and family back home thru the internet you can go to the breakfast room for stronger wi-fi connection. I would definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    17
    7
    3
    9
See reviews for
18
68
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I´ve been here last August with my daughter for a weekend and just loved it!! The owners are very nice, it´s close to the beach and there´s a very nice pathway over the sea to take you to Positano.
The room was big, comfortable and the breakfast was nice too. I definitely reccomend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia33303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

La Dolce Vita was an amazing place to stay! From the delicious cappuccinos in the morning, made by Vincenzo, to the stunning views of the sea - this place was a dream come true. The rooms are incredibly spacious with lovely new bathrooms, decorated with blue ceramic tile. The showers have nice hot water and excellent water pressure. Breakfast is served each morning with delicious fresh fruit or tomatoes depending on the season. I can't say enough good things about the hotel and Vincenzo the host, who is very gracious & kind. La Dolce Vita is well-worth every stair!! The best part was hearing the sea lap against the shore while you sleep with your doors/windows open. A little piece of heaven!! Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: As all the rooms face the Sea, you really can't make a bad choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at la dolce vita. Our room was beautiful with a large balcony looking out to the sea. The owners were very friendly and helpful, giving tips on activities and restaurants that we wouldn't have known about otherwise. We would definitely recommend staying here to explore beautiful positano. There are quite a few steps to the hotel, but if steps are a problem for you, then you shouldn't visit positano!!!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My husband son and I spent a delightful night and wonderful conversation over breakfast at La Dolce Vita thanks to Maryse and Vincenzo (who makes a great cappuccino l might add)! Regret that we only stayed one night. Most comfortable stay we've enjoyed so far! Fitness center? Those stairs will have your glutes tightened up in no time!! No swimming pool just the beach front with lovely blue ocean and marvelous view.

Room Tip: As far as I could see all rooms face the ocean. The rooms we had, (without special request) both had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lawbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Stayed here our first two nights in Italy, very charming, Positano right outside your door, the view was fantastic. Maryse and Vincento were very gracious and helpful, our room was huge, and the breakfasts were fresh and delightful. Should have stayed much longer...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed two nights at La Dolce Vita in late September and thoroughly enjoyed it. Maryse is a charming hostess and the room (with the bougainvillea over the outside sitting area) was large, clean, and well-appointed. The Fornillo beach is a pleasantly smaller beach just around a point of land and perhaps a 10-minute walk to central Positano. If arriving by car, one uses the Ma Cri parking facility about halfway down the one-way main street from SS163. It is over 300 steps down to La Dolce Vita (LDV), but a porter (on salary from LDV; Maryse says no need to tip) carries your bags down and back up when you leave. I noticed that one of the main hotels advertised that it's only 900 meters from the beach; at LDV, you listen to waves gently breaking on shore! Don't be put off by the steps down; your every move in Positano will necessarily involve continuous climbing up and down anyway. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The room with the bougainvillea on the pergola is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pupetto
Hotel Pupetto
#16 of 38 in Positano
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#11 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#27 of 38 in Positano
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 38 in Positano
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Dolce Vita

Property: Residence La Dolce Vita
Address: Via Fornillo 31, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence La Dolce Vita 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The scenery is amazing, the beach of Fornillo is set between steep mountains green hills and the beach. The house used to be a simple fisherman's house,once the only one on the beach. Now, the house offers 6 comfortable bedrooms on two levels,facing the sea, full south, with balcony or terrace or garden, bathroom with shower, fridge, air conditioning and daily breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Residence La Dolce Vita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing