We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't look like much but great food!”
Review of Trattoria Grottino Azzurro - CLOSED

Trattoria Grottino Azzurro
Cuisines: Italian
Description: In Positano, on the Amalfi Coast of Italy, it is a local trattoria serving very good home made pasta, cakes and other specific italian food, with reasonable prices and good service. It seems they have been also reccomended by ROUTARD 2010 South Italy and FROMMER'S guides.
Restaurant details
Description: In Positano, on the Amalfi Coast of Italy, it is a local trattoria serving very good home made pasta, cakes and other specific italian food, with reasonable prices and good service. It seems they have been also reccomended by ROUTARD 2010 South Italy and FROMMER'S guides.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Doesn't look like much but great food!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were in Positano last week and just happened to stumble across this place in our travels and decided to check it out. From the outside this doesn't look like the nicest place however the food was fantastic and we were very happy that we stopped. The food was very fresh and perfectly cooked, I completely enjoyed the pasta that I ordered and my fiance is still raving about the lemon pepper mussels that he had at this restaurant. We did find that the service was a little slow but the food more than made up for it. The only complaint we had was that the restaurant was located in a very busy intersection with a bus stop right in front of the patio so there were quite often many people standing around and the exhaust fumes could get a little bit overwhelming but other than that this is a very authentic Italian restaurant with great food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Positano”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

This is one of the least touristy places in Positano. It's a family owned and operated restaurant (for the last 40 years). It's very casual, and has an unassuming decor. The food is probably the best we have had in Positano. The fish was fresh and prepared perfectly, as was the pasta. The first time we were in Positano we ate here 3 of 7 nights. This year we are here for 2 weeks, and plan to come back often. Highly recommended if you are looking for authentic Italian food from the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mribando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worse place ever!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Walked up to Grottino Azzurro as the menu looked decent from an earlier walk by. Had open tables all over the place. Waited to sit down. Table has no overlay white table cloth. Waiter was mean, rude and worthless. Had to ask him to set the table. Then just waited and did not say anything wanting to see how long he would take to give us menus. He never did!!! Not sure if he was on drugs or if this was his normal personality. Other waiters and servers walked by us numerous times and did nothing. Needless to say we walked out at this point. There are plenty of great restaurants in Positanto and this clearly is not one of them. Go somewhere else!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Grandma was sitting at the table as you entered”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

A wonderful family operated restaurant with simple foods prepared with a "Nonna's " touch. Simple setting up on top of the mountain. Excellent basic choices, well priced. Never noticed till I read a takeaway menu that service is included. Don't worry doubling the tip was worth it. Had tomato, mozzarella and olive salad (shared) homemade pasta with octopus, bisteca with garlic and parsley, string beans with limone, 1/2 carafe red house wine and shared tiramisu. Wonderful evening. Price was 56 euros.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RonaldAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is a small, family run restaurant with good Italian food. We ate there several times and tried different dishes (both appetizers and main dishes) each time. Everything we ate was delicious and we were very comfortable there. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingNana67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Grottino Azzurro also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing