We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary...not just a meal, an experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zass Restaurant. Il San Pietro Di Positano.

Zass Restaurant. Il San Pietro Di Positano.
Ranked #42 of 84 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Woodstock, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Extraordinary...not just a meal, an experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week at Il San Pietro to celebrate our 10th anniversary. Dinner here on the actual evening of our special day made it exceptional, from our Captain Guiliano, to our waiter Matteo and the kind Somaliere who had secured and reserved a 10 year old bottle of Dom Perignon for us. Pizza first! A uprising and delicious. We had the lobster special and lobster tagliatelle. Mouth wateringly good. And the service was outstanding! Island Living 75 sounds to me like a bitter soul with no joie de vivre - for the friendliness and laughter of adjoining tables made the night even better. For example, a very beautiful couple was next to us (currently, not past model good looking, "Island living 75" but fun!) and In the process of taking a picture, she accidentally dropped her phone which bounced from the balcony three stories down into the bushes! Without having to be asked, one of the younger waiters went down and retrieved it for her! That says it all. This place will always be special in our hearts - one of the finest dining experiences of our lives.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    24
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We arrived by water taxi to the base of the hotel then took a lift through the rock the hotel is built on and arrived on the hotel terrace with the best view of positano up and down the coast .After such a entrance lunch had to be good and it was .Service and quality you would expect but it was all done with a friendly warmth that will want me to make my next stay in Positano at this hotel

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The astounding Zass Restaurant, Positano, Amalfitana, Italy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

On July 28, 2013 we had lunch to celebrate our 40th anniversary at the Michelin starred Zass restaurant, Il San Pietro Hotel, near Positano. Booking was by internet about a month in advance when planning our 24 day Mezzogiorno trip. My wife Terry and I had just arrived by car from Paestum. The luncheon would almost bring to a close our journey that had taken us criss-crossing the south, from one superb experience to another. We were early, so we took time out to sit on the patio. The scenery is out of this world. No one needs to be reminded of that. A Koferhof 2012 Pinot Grigiot, magnificently peachy, with olives and kettle chips had us wind down. With time to spare Mr. Andrea Esposito, the reservations manager, took us on a tour of the suites and rooms taking our collective breath away. Then to lunch. A delightful Prosecco Tre Dame 2011 was to accompany the meal. I started with Steamed lobster. It was soft, tender and tasty. Terry had her staple calamari. Also tender and pleasantly, gently spiced. Secondi piatti were filleted sea bass for me that was superb with just the right combination of herbs (including ground sage perhaps?) and for Terry fillet of Black Angus that had a bit of grizzle which could have been removed in the prepping department, but had great flavour which Terry allowed me to confirm with a small piece on her fork, and 100% done as ordered. Between courses, was to my mind, the triumph of the day: The intermezzo was a thimble of pressed John Dory. Rich in taste, packed in its tiny presentation I shall forever taste its magnificence. It accentuated the fish experience as well as referred to Terry’s steak, such was its maximum flavour. Service was exemplary. No hovering about. But at least three were a discrete distance away. And ever ready. We asked to be taken to the chef in charge of the meal. It was Sous Chef Mr. Antonio Villani in attendance whose happy countenance can be seen in one of our pictures. He and his kitchen team were enthusiastically congratulated. What a happy crowd. Contented kitchen staff make for contented diners. A magnificent experience all round in every department that deserved the price of the meal in every respect. We hope to be back soon. Thank you, the Cinque family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Karl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This is a class act full stop. Oh! and with a view to die for!..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is the "main" restaurant at this superb hotel and shouldn't be confused with "Il Carlino" the beach restaurant which is only open to residents and opens afternoons only. This is the Michelin starred main restaurant and is open for bookings/visitors.
Obviously we were staying at the hotel so ate here often and apart from the rabbit was never disappointed. More about the rabbit later.
Pasquale 2 the Maitre d' is probably the friendliest you will ever meet in a classy restaurant like this, so take his tips seriously. The fresh fish IS that good....
Sea-Bass cooked in salt was brilliant and the Veal chop my idea of a veal T-Bone heaven. Oh and you have to try the Gnocchi with black truffle its sensational.
The Rabbit... Well the last time we stayed they did a Ragu of rabbit in a rich tomato sauce and it was so good I had it twice. But this time they did a whole organic rabbit for two simply grilled and apart from being too much it was not as tender as the Ragu version. So please Il San Pietro please put the Ragu version back on the menu for our next visit.
Okay it's pricey but where else can you eat food this good and with the best view on the Amalfi coast to sip your cocktail on.
Oh! and here's the bonus as an appetiser you get a slice of probably the best Margarita pizza in town so if you don't make dessert don't blame me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkyibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zass Restaurant. Il San Pietro Di Positano. also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Zass Restaurant. Il San Pietro Di Positano.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing