We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devine!”
Review of Zass Restaurant

Zass Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 88 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, International
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Devine!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This is one of the most unique places you can visit when in Positano. The hotel and restaurant is situated on a cliffside and the scenery is spectacular. The restaurant presents delicious gourmet dishes and many of the vegetables and fruits are from their own gardens. The atmosphere is devine, you just have to experience it. This was our second visit and it was just as special as the first, we simply love it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milla007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    27
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ever wish you could press the 'undo' button on a meal?”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This place is ridiculously expensive, which you of course know before you book a reservation there. But when a restaurant charges so much, one would expect a fabulous meal and excellent service. We did not experience that. There were several things that were entirely subpar:
- the amuse bouche was a slice of pizza. No, it wasn't a unique pizza designed by the chef that incorporated ingredients from the region. It was a lousy slice of margherita pizza that you could just as well buy down at the beach.
- all of our courses were under-seasoned; not even the right amount of salt. The lobster dish had a little dried sage (wrong choice of herb).
- the John Dory fish was over-cooked.
- the risotto was bland and under-cooked.

Overall, I thought the menu was uninspired and the chef did not take any risks. Take a look online and see for yourself if the descriptions draw you in. Usually for a restaurant at this price point, you would expect an exotic dish with unique flavors. Instead we got risotto, a plate of grilled vegetables, lobster with no sauce, etc.

To top things off, the service was lacking. Our espresso arrived well after we finished dessert, and the waiters were impossible to flag down to get the bill. Normally those sorts of things don't bother me, but when you define yourself at the ~$200/per person price point, they become finishing touches that you can't screw up.

Other diners who wrote reviews seem to have had a better experience than we did, so maybe we just caught them on an off night. Feel free to roll the dice and try it if you'd like, but I am unwilling to give them a second chance. I will say that we ate at La Sponda and Da Vincenze on other nights here in Positano, and we can recommend those spots highly.

The positives of Zass include:
- beautiful view
- romantic
- pleasant live music

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Socrates_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanctuary cove
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Always exceptional dining experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This Michelin-starred restaurant is set in one of the most beautiful locations you'll ever visit. You can sit inside or on its terrace, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The meal menu us spectacular, inventive, original, creative, and delicious. Presentation is also superb. Excellent extensive wine list covering regional as well as expected wines, with a highly-informed sommelier on hand to advise. Maitre d Pasquale does a superb job indeed, as does his entire team. Treat yourself to this experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Exquisite and not to be missed!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had stayed at IL San Pietro on our first trip to Positano and it is still my favorite hotel in the entire world - it is absolutely the most beautiful place ever! Every meal we have had here has been absolutely delicious, but this visit we planned to late to get rooms for our large group who traveled with us for my husband's 50th birthday. We were able to have an absolutely fabulous dinner to celebrate his birthday at Zass and it did not disappoint - the service was impeccable, the attention to detail - down to slightly different hand blown glasses to indicate if you have chosen still or sparkling water so they don't have to ask you repeatedly - was fabulous - the food was delicious, the views were breathtaking and the piano music and singing were such a wonderful extra - a perfect evening in every way. With regard to the remarks about attire from a previous post, the restaurant was clear with us on attire and I would expect nothing less but a dress code that required long pants for men from such a fancy and wonderful place. They did not require jackets or ties. We felt welcomed and received excellent service and would return again in a heartbeat! This is a VERY special setting in a fabulous hotel that takes full advantage of the beauty of the natural setting it is in and it is not to be missed! If you are looking for a romantic setting or just a lovely place to be with friends or family, this is absolutely the place to be - it is the kind of place that dreams are made of...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank opinionatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pushing the Boat out in Positano”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a birthday celebration group of six at Zass. Be prepared to open your wallet because it is one of the more expensive restaurants in Positano, but my goodness its worth every euro that you part with.

We started with cocktails on the terrace, one of the best bellini's I have had in along time. The terrace affords some fantastic views back to Positano and as the sun sets the vista become truly beautiful.

Make sure you make a reservation and boys, you must wear long pants, something that isn't explained when you book, and you won't get away with trendy shorts no matter how much you paid for them.

Ushered to our table by a not so friendly waiter, but no matter we had a great table on the terrace and the staff in there were terrific. Complimentary pizza arrived along with some more bubbles.

The wine list is extensive and caters for both ends of the spectrum, you can spend 50 or 500 euro, there is something for every budget. I involved the sommelier in our selection and he recommended some lovely white and red wines that didn't break the bank.

Our waiter Guilano helped out with the food selection which was also perfect. Small serves of exqusitely presented and melt in the mouth tasty plates arrived. The menu has plenty of selection so all palettes are catered for.

As the sun sets and the lights of the super yachts parked off shore come on, you are treated to scenes of the rich and famous.

If you have a really special night to celebrate consider Zass, we had a really memorable evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zass Restaurant also viewed

 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Zass Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing