We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, outdated”
Review of Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Savoia
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location, outdated”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Family of 3 stayed here in mid March. Overall my rating would be somewhere between average and very good. The positive: Location (close to beach and shopping), great breakfast, good views, spacious room, good english channels. Negative: Room is outdated mostly because of the furniture, and service is mixed. At breakfast the service is great, but at checkin they sent us to the wrong room, and then when the bellboy came with the luggage he just charged into the room without knocking or apologizing afterwards. At checkout they overcharged us by mistake, but apologetically corrected teh mistake when we pointed it out. Not sure if this is the best bet in Positano I would do a little research if returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    229
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
169
372
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We found Savoia position to have a great location and very helpful staff. It is located at the village square next to a car park 10 metres away where you can park your car for 18 euro a day.

The room we got had a great view and also nice bathroom. The location is a short walk from some great restaurants(Bruno's up the hill for lunch) Max' s down the hill towards the beach and Chez Black are worth a try. Pizza bar at the beach off to the side of the main beach bar where it is self service has great wood fired pizzas and is a great economy option for lunch or dinner at 8 euros for a large pizza.

Breakfast is very Italian with great cakes and filled croissants. They will make you a competent cappuccino as well. you will also find a small amount of meats and cereals as well.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Punchclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

It does have great location but I booked here specifically because they claim they updated in 2010. Not sure what was updated, furnishings are tired and need to be replaced. For $250 a night you do get a clean room and great location but don't expect much beyond average.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Therese P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had two rooms and the smaller had mildew. We asked one of the staff, which was a family member to assess the problem and he agreed that the room was not habitable. He moved my friend into my larger room but when it came time to check out they would not credit us for the room we did not stay in. I told them that it was not fair and they threatened to call the Police. I have traveled through Europe for the past three summers and have stayed in all types of hotels and never experienced that kind of hostile treatment. Most often I have returned to all the previous hotels. This was not only unacceptable as a room but made us very afraid. The location was good, the large room I stayed in was okay, a little dirty but the staff very unprofessional.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank missMarieKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Me and my husband visited the Amalfi Coast for a week on August 24,2013. It was my dream vacation for a couple of years and I was wright. The whole coast is beautiful. we decide to stay at Positano because is the town with the most dramatic views. All towns are beautiful, but in my opinion, Positano is the winner. We stayed at the hotel Savoia because I saw the pictures on trip Advisor. The hotel is situated very close to bus stops, restaurants, shops, and the views from our room where my dream made reality. The room was huge, same the bathroom, extremely clean, and I'm very picky on this subject, the staff was nice and the complimentary breakfast was awesome, also the staff at the breakfast area was excellent. Our room had views of the ocean and the mountain. we were on the third floor. the balcony was large enough for the little table and two chairs but that was also we needed. Positano is BEAUTIFUL, we also liked Amalfi (the town) a lot. It was a wonderful vacation!!!

Room Tip: Our room was 307. It was a corner room and we could see the ocean and the mountain with the village...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dreamer054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We're from new york and spent a week here in september for our honeymoon and it was amazing. The hotel was in a perfect location near the bottom of the city with a stunning view and a 5 minute walk to the beach. The rooms are great and breakfast was always on point. You can't beat the location and views and the staff is first rate, family owned. Restaurants to go to, cafe bruno, right up the hill has the best outdoor view and food and cera una volta at the top of the hill. And definitely take a day trip to capri.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dvwnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

What a great find in a pricey town.
We had everything we could want here. Very spacious room and bath as well as very large terrace with chaise lounge as well as table and chairs.
The view of the sea as well as the town capped it all off.
Breakfasts were excellent including fresh tomato slices!
Great location. I could have stayed here much longer-- and the price was right too.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street are fabulous with great view but can be noisy if a celebration is going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psixtyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 39 in Positano
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 39 in Positano
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Property: Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Positano
#18 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Hotel Savoia è affacciato sul panorama incantevole di Positano e si trova in una posizione privilegiata al centro del paese sulla “Piazzetta dei Mulini”.Banche, negozi e ristoranti sono a breve distanza e in 5 minuti si raggiunge la Spiaggia Grande, dalla quale si possono fare gite in barca all’Isola Dei Galli, alle spiaggette sulla costa e con le barche di linea, raggiungere Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento e Ischia. La comoda posizione centrale e a livello stradale consente di raggiungere tutte le destinazioni in breve tempo.Saremo lieti di darvi indicazioni per visitare Pompei, Ercolano o Ravello oppure indicarvi le passeggiate sui sentieri di montagna che sono famosi in tutto il mondo come il “Sentiero degli Dei”.L’Albergo è a gestione familiare da 3 generazioni è completamente ristrutturato ma mantiene lo stile originario mediterraneo con volte a cupola e pavimenti in ceramica locale.I confort moderni si armonizzano con la discreta eleganza degli ambienti e il tutto vi offre un soggiorno piacevole e rilassante.La ricca colazione a Buffet viene servita nella nostra sala con aria condizionata oppure in camera sui terrazzini che si affacciano su Positano e sul mare della Costiera Amalfitana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing