We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Convenient, & Charming with Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Savoia
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenient, & Charming with Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Savoia for four nights, and we found it to be an excellent choice. Our room was spotlessly clean, with a beautiful tile floor, comfortable bed, large bathroom (not always common in Italy), antique furnishings, and a stunning view from our 4th floor balcony. The location is ideal, high enough to provide a wonderful view of the city and the sea, but also situated just around the corner from the pedestrian avenue that leads past the many shops and art galleries to the beach. We saw many hotels much further away, which would have required much more walking up and down Positano's MANY hills and stairs. Your legs will get a workout in Positano no matter what, but there's no reason to make it harder than it has to be! The hotel's WiFi really only works in and around the first floor breakfast area and bar, and the hourly rate is rather expensive, but why would you want to waste time on the Internet while staying in Positano anyway? Paid parking is just a stone's throw away (€20/day), and the Savoia staff booked it so that the garage was expecting us and had a space reserved. Speaking of the staff, they were wonderful - friendly, helpful, English-speaking, and happy to provide excellent recommendations about restaurants and sights in the local area. When I asked about one particular restaurant we had read about, the woman at the desk called the place for us to confirm whether they had opened yet for the tourist season. While you're in Positano, be sure to get out and explore. The place is a labyrinth of little streets and stairways with many hidden shops and cafes. Also, be sure to walk the path from the main beach to Fornillo beach (ask any of the locals) to take in the amazing views.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GonzoJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    219
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
154
350
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

This is the best hotel in Positano. I was very pleased with my stay. My room was very clean and the service and accommodations were impeccable. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel has a great location. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingery23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

The staff took very good care of us. The service was excellent, the rooms were lovely, as well as spacious, and the balcony had a fantastic view. Just a stone's throw away to beach access. Requested a crib and received in less than an hour after we arrived. The variety of items available for breakfast made it hard to choose. We will definitely be returning to Positano and the Hotel Savoia. Molte grazie!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

Jeanne's first year staying at the Savoia was in 1970 and we both have been staying there since 1979.
We consider ourselves so lucky to have enjoyed so many wonderful holidays in Positano, but more importantly to have been looked after so well by the D'Aiello family and all the staff of the Savoia Hotel.
The friendliness, charm and service are exceptional.
We would have no hesitation in recommending or encouraging visitors to stay at the Savoia.
Very centrally located, bright and spacious rooms impecably serviced.
A three star hotel with five star accommodation is how we would describe the Savoia.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJcastleknock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

The hotel has a very nice location, near the beach, in the high part of Positano. The rooms are not very simple, great acomodations, very comfortable, the rooms have big balcony, with lots of colorful flowers. Very close to a parking area, where u can leave the car safely.

Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GabiGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

We stayed at Savoia Positano from 3 to 10 October 2009. We will always return. Perfect service, great rooms. great staff. Fantastic vacations. Good restaurants, excellent walks.
After dinner, find a restaurant with live italian musicians. Just avoid the restaurant Palazzo Murat, very bad service, we waited 1 hour for bad food.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo_SP_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

They upgraded our room without even asking. The view off our balconey was wonderful and the location near shopping and restaurants was great. We left early in the morning and they made sure we had our coffee before leaving. The owners helped us contacting our local travel agent and even gave us a lovely pen holder made of local pottery as a farewell gift. We would surely return if in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackieflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#11 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#9 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Property: Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Positano
#18 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Hotel Savoia è affacciato sul panorama incantevole di Positano e si trova in una posizione privilegiata al centro del paese sulla “Piazzetta dei Mulini”.Banche, negozi e ristoranti sono a breve distanza e in 5 minuti si raggiunge la Spiaggia Grande, dalla quale si possono fare gite in barca all’Isola Dei Galli, alle spiaggette sulla costa e con le barche di linea, raggiungere Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento e Ischia. La comoda posizione centrale e a livello stradale consente di raggiungere tutte le destinazioni in breve tempo.Saremo lieti di darvi indicazioni per visitare Pompei, Ercolano o Ravello oppure indicarvi le passeggiate sui sentieri di montagna che sono famosi in tutto il mondo come il “Sentiero degli Dei”.L’Albergo è a gestione familiare da 3 generazioni è completamente ristrutturato ma mantiene lo stile originario mediterraneo con volte a cupola e pavimenti in ceramica locale.I confort moderni si armonizzano con la discreta eleganza degli ambienti e il tutto vi offre un soggiorno piacevole e rilassante.La ricca colazione a Buffet viene servita nella nostra sala con aria condizionata oppure in camera sui terrazzini che si affacciano su Positano e sul mare della Costiera Amalfitana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing