We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, would be happy to stay there again”
Review of Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Savoia
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Savoia. Our room was large and well decorated, the bathroom was large. Our room had a beautiful tile floor. The staff was warm and friendly, the included breakfast had a large selection and and was very good, espresso was excellent. The free 30 mInutes of Internet each day was perfect for checking email. I avidly recommend this hotel if you are going to Positano.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IraDerwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2010

This was a last minute booking based on the reviews. We had been offered cheaper and just as nice accommodations in B&Bs but didn't book in time. This hotel was definitely in the best position possible so we weren't disappointed - so close to everything, and easy to walk everywhere.
The room was spotless and a good size. The breakfast in the lounge was good quality and it was great to have a balcony to enjoy it on.
The service was incredibly friendly, but not specific enough when asking for travel help or for restaurant recommendations. We had to resort to their free half hour of internet.
As per the previous review we did find the hallway incredibly noisy, but had no issues with street or balcony noise. The bed was also two singles pushed together with the join in the centre quite hard and uncomfortable, although otherwise the matresses and pillows were comfortable.
The airconditioning worked a treat in the heat even though it was switched off during the day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IandJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Savoia for 4 nights in June. On arrival we found the hotel to be nice and clean with a nicely furnished, spacious room and a balcony overlooking the town. The hotel is in a great location just a short walk to the shopping area and beach. The breakfast was good too. The only problem we found we that the hotel is so noisy. Every noise in the corridor echoes through the rooms as there are gaps under the doors as they have no door seals. Noise from other guests in the surrounding rooms using their balconies at night time was bad too as the windows have no sound proofing and our room was in a corner so the balcony next to us faced our window. Also the window had nothing to block out the morning sun. So we were kept awake at night by other guests and woken early in the morning by the sunlight. We asked to be moved to another quieter room but were told they wouldn't do that.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jparker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

From the moment we entered the lobby of this hotel, we were made to feel welcomed. We were greeted with warm, friendly smiles. The staff was attentive, engaging, friendly...just exceptional!!! The staff gave us excellent suggestions for restaurants that we would never have found on our own. We absolutely loved our comfortable, clean, and spacious room. The bathroom was beautifully tiled, spacious, clean and modern. The highlight was the wonderful view from our balcony. We did NOT want to leave this hotel. Since returning home, we have received an email from the hotel thanking us for staying....another example of their attention to detail. This was definitely a 5 star experience (although it is listed as a 3 star hotel).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeraldWalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Just want to echo the recent raves about the Savoia.

I stayed there with my one-year old in early June (husband working in London, so we met up with my parents on their Italian trip). The family who run the hotel made my stay and all the arrangements easy - a luxury when travelling with a baby!

The hotel organised a car to collect me from the airport (90 euro - appparently other hotels charge commission on top of this), all went very smoothly. The lift was handy with pram and my room was beautiful, scenic and spacious. I had a suite (all that was available at v short notice) - it was worth it, because I could read quietly in the 'lounge' area off to one side when baby went to sleep at night. OR, I could be out dining with family, as the hotel organised a babysitter on request - wonderful! A lovely girl Giovanna came and when she couldn't come the next night, she organised her cousin. I'm sure they speak English but I communicated with them in (my dodgy schoolgirl) Italian - but hotel staff also speak good English, if needed.

Breakfast room utterly lovely, especially the cakes and pastries... Zoe and I would trot down each morning, indulge in some cereal, fresh fruit and a very good coffee (for me) - by the second day, the excellent waiter knew my coffee order (i'm afraid i don't know names, but waiter isn't really the right word, all family members!). Like a previous reviewer, I've been lucky enough to stay at many 5* hotels worldwide so am used to sumptuous buffets - I loved this breakfast because it just did the basics, but very well. It was a serene way to start the morning, looking out to Positano and the beautiful sea.

There's a computer with internet in the lounge area - again, just very low-key but all you need.

You can also get a civilised glass of wine there in the afternoon/evening ...

The staff couldn't have been more helpful (preparing some warm milk on my first night, before i'd had a chance to do some shopping; restaurant tips etc).

There is a noise factor, as some have mentioned - our room was above the street so we had scooters and some music at night. This didn't bother me (probably exhausted!) - but they may have quieter rooms on the other side, so check if you're concerned.

The location is excellent.

I stayed at Villa La Tartana in 2001 and would recommend that also, but the Savoia is better if you're travelling with a baby.

It compares favourably with Hotel La Ville (Juan-les-Pins) and the Hatton (Melbourne). Simple, unpretentious and lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

In the magical town of Positano on the magnificent Costiera Amalfitana, the "HOTEL Savoia" stands out for : location (literally in the heart of Positano), for service (caring, familiar extremely attentive and professional) for decor (rustic, exquisite and yet simple).
Upon arrival we were greeted like we were part of the family, our luggages were brought upstairs and we were showed the intimate breakfast room (where the following morning we had the best "CORNETTI" we ever tasted).
Our stay there was exceptional, and for sure we will return, promising that this we will not cry when the time to leave will come.
My family and I left a piece of ourselves in the magical town of "POSITANO", for sure some of it can be found at Hotel Savoia.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelbrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

we had a excellent holiday in positano and the surrounding areas including visits to Capri , Amalfi (then on by sita-local bus to ravello) the staff in this hotel are very ,welcoming with nothing a problem to them , we booked in advance and had excellent response and confirmations etc we mistakenly requested a "balcony " for our room /stay and on arrival found we had exactly that but in fact we had wanted a" terrace "(our mistake not the hotel's) to sit out on ,,,, this was immediately changed to our needs and was absolutely perfect with the mountain view backdrop
location is absolutely perfection for the narrow pedestrian lanes to the shops cafes +harbour in the village itself we'd recommend the covo di saracenci on the right hand side of the harbour for pizza's and pastas (beware max's and a few others are VERY expensive) also the ice creams are delicious from there too take an outside table on the beach wall and que sera
with us having a balcony and table outside etc we dined al fresco a few times by getting some very nice (and unbelievably inexpensive) food /meats/salads rice dishes/ fruit potato chips etc etc + wine from the deli supermarket about 100mtre's below the hotel .. up the stairs opposite the bank
the hotel is immaculately clean / great bathroom/ tasty breakfast treats as well as the staple cerials etc etc and that air con runs as smooth as silk .. and we needed it as the weather was 30 + every day while we where there for a special wedding at the church of saint maria of assunta we had great evening service from the staff .. as with breakfast actually ..... with a special mention in particular ....for .....Gabriele ..........(a lovely /pleasant /friendly young man )......................... whose grand mother is the owner and whos aunt ,uncle, mother and father, all work very hard to ensure we had a great stay with them a great family hotel with a smile for all
we will certainly revisit the area ... its beautiful and would not think of staying anywhere else ............ and we did visit the top notch hotels in the village too .....the savioa is not 5*luxury and doesnt try to be its much much more of a friendly experience where the owners and staff match the traditional values to make sure you enjoy your holiday !! we've done paris /dubai/ vegas /london/ N/york etc and this small hotel is up there with them on many levels TRY IT OUT if you're going to stay in positano

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewmaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 38 in Positano
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 38 in Positano
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#11 of 38 in Positano
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoia

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 73, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Positano
#18 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £121 - £849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoia 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Hotel Savoia è affacciato sul panorama incantevole di Positano e si trova in una posizione privilegiata al centro del paese sulla “Piazzetta dei Mulini”.Banche, negozi e ristoranti sono a breve distanza e in 5 minuti si raggiunge la Spiaggia Grande, dalla quale si possono fare gite in barca all’Isola Dei Galli, alle spiaggette sulla costa e con le barche di linea, raggiungere Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento e Ischia. La comoda posizione centrale e a livello stradale consente di raggiungere tutte le destinazioni in breve tempo.Saremo lieti di darvi indicazioni per visitare Pompei, Ercolano o Ravello oppure indicarvi le passeggiate sui sentieri di montagna che sono famosi in tutto il mondo come il “Sentiero degli Dei”.L’Albergo è a gestione familiare da 3 generazioni è completamente ristrutturato ma mantiene lo stile originario mediterraneo con volte a cupola e pavimenti in ceramica locale.I confort moderni si armonizzano con la discreta eleganza degli ambienti e il tutto vi offre un soggiorno piacevole e rilassante.La ricca colazione a Buffet viene servita nella nostra sala con aria condizionata oppure in camera sui terrazzini che si affacciano su Positano e sul mare della Costiera Amalfitana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoia Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing