We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unreliable Hotel”
Review of Royal Prisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Prisco Hotel
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unreliable Hotel”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Do not book at this Hotel. Seriously, trust the other reviews that have mentioned experiencing problems with this hotel either losing your hotel reservation or canceling last minute. I unfortunately decided to rely on all the positive reviews that I saw about this Hotel and I sadly got BURNED. :(
My fiancé and I are traveling to Positano to celebrate our Honeymoon so we were so excited to stay at this Hotel after seeing all the amazing pictures and positive reviews online. We booked the Hotel in November AND got a confirmation number, but I still decided to emailed the hotel directly since I was worried that others on TA had reported problems with the reservation process. I emailed the resort 4 different times over the last couple months (in English and Italian) and heard nothing from the Hotel until a couple days ago stating that the Hotel is closed during my time of visit! I’m sorry, but we are traveling to Positano during a peek time so there is NO WAY the hotel is just closed during a busy season. AND on top of that, why am I finding this out just now when I booked months ago?? If the Hotel really is closed (and didn’t just double book my reservation) shouldn’t I have been contacted immediately after my reservation was made so I could have time to make other accommodations? Needless to say, this is an incredibly important trip for me and my fiancé and now we no longer have a place to stay. I am very disappointed with the lack of professionalism this Hotel displayed and it seems obvious that there is an pattern of unreliability with their reservations. The LAST thing you want to worry about is your hotel canceling on you when you are traveling internationally, so it is just very sad that this beautiful resort has proven to be such an unreliable business.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SanDiegoJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    79
    22
    10
    12
See reviews for
43
250
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel and were impressed by the friendliness and family atmosphere.
Our room was spacious ,clean and comfortable and the hotel is well situated and quiet .
IWe had no difficulty in E-mail communication re our booking and our request for transport from Naples station was well organised by the hotel .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELLER795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

It's worth getting a view at this hotel. We had a room on the top floor, the room was so spacious with terrace balcony. The view was awesome to the ocean and the top of the church.

The hotel is in very good location. Easy to walk uphill to some very good restaurants and about 10 min walk down to beach and harbor.

Breakfast is basic - no hot food but fruit, bread, cereals, yogurt

Room Tip: Room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Twigtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I could list several negative points which requires a little bit more professional touch to be corrected about our stay in this hotel. Then I realised that despite those negatives we felt happy all along our stay and the owners took good care of us once we were there. If we go to Positano once more we would definitely stay in this hotel again and I think this is how I would like to feel for any hotel after any trip.
My biggest suggestion is they should improve their communication through e-mails. They should record their answers, be more prompt and exact in answering.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kemal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Last may I booked 2 rooms with ocean view, for 3 days, on the internet with Sir Michael Angelo... I had all the emails confirming my reservation. One month before the trip I mailed the Hotel Royal Prisco again and then the problems begin....First they tried to change the price and I had to send my first email to show them they have already told me the prices and confirm it... Then, at the day of our arrival, at 8 at night when we got to the hotel walking with all our luggage we were surprised by the same Sir Angelo telling us there was no room for us due to some problem with the bathroom and sending us to another hotel without our seaview and where we just had 2 nights to stay. We had to go there because it was late at night and we were tired of the car trip. Positano was croweded so we couldn't find another place to stay. We stayed the 2 nights on the hotel and then had to find another hotel to stay the last night....Carrying our lugagge up and down Positano...The worst experience ever....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tetebrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This well priced hotel is terrific value and so Italian! Nonna makes the best Croissants for breakfast and her son is an attentive and helpful host. All questions welcomed and answered. Our balcony was fantastic and we could watch the town and tourists go by with a glass of local wine in our hand. Central to the town the location is terrific for restaurants and attractions both up and down the hill! Would highly recommend this as a place to stay om beautiful Positano!

Room Tip: Junior Suite with balcony and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We went here on our honeymoon and didn't want to leave. Our room had a balcony with a part sea, part mountain view. Breakfast was pretty standard in the tea room, service friendly, hotel and room were spotless. We spent most of our stay having picnics and vino on our balcony. It was close to the main part of town and about a 8-10 minute walk down to the beach. Waking up to a sea view every morning was therapeutic!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samanthafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#32 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Prisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Prisco Hotel

Property: Royal Prisco Hotel
Address: Via Pasitea 102, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Positano
#17 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Prisco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Royal Prisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Prisco Positano
Hotel Royal Prisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing