We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Royal Prisco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Prisco Hotel
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Brasilia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel is really nice. There are spacious rooms, with a beautiful ocean view. The breakfeast in the room is worthy. If you are arriving by bus, you will need to walk around 10-15 minutes, downhill.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdv1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    80
    22
    10
    12
See reviews for
46
253
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A spacious, well appointed room, a magnificent large balcony, a stunning view. We're off to a good start. The hotel is just above the main square and many rooms offer a magnificent view down the valley to the ocean. The hotel is scrupulously clean and the maid service...fastidious. The only slight criticism we could make was that the breakfast room was a bit cramped and the food, although more than sufficient, was a bit lacking in imagination. It wasn't quite in the same class as the hotel itself. The staff was most helpful, particularly when it came to arranging a car to take us back to Sorrento. Crowds, heavy rain and limited Sunday morning service had us looking for options to the Sita bus, and the hotel arranged an excellent car transfer at a reasonable price.
As many reviewers have commented, Positano is very pricey. We made excellent use of the the deli in the main square area, and brought simple, but delicious meals back to the hotel to enjoy on our wonderful balcony. The fridge in the room was a bonus for us.
Be aware that if you arrive in Positano by ferry, there are a number of steep stairs before you reach the "square" and the hotel is a fairly short inclined walk beyond. One needs to be quite fit if you have any amount of luggage, or you need to arrange a luggage transfer. There is a town bus that connects the Sita bus route (the Amalfi drive) with the town square. Moving luggage from the town square to the hotel is neither far nor onerous.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay. We were in Positano for a family wedding. Royal Prisco is perfectly positioned midway to the lower town and walking distance to the bus stop at the top of the hill for trips along the coast. The hotel is clean, comfortable and rooms furnished in typical Italian style. Breakfast is served in a lovely little dining room. Plenty of choice cheeses,ham, pastries and cereals. Staff were very accommodating and provided an early breakfast for our departure. Thanks! We would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view with balcony, stunning views overlooking bay. Family member had room with sky lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliPatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
กรุงเทพมหานคร (กทม.), ไทย
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a best place in my trip. The hotel is very close to the city and has very nice and clean room the breakfast also very good. The place is not only good but also come with reasonable price.
If someone looking for visit Positano this is a highly recommend place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsupoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Like Italy itself you have to enjoy the Prisco for what it is. I can understand why some visitors got frustrated with the Prisco however it is what it is. Michelangelo and Mario are great and very helpful. The maid is something else- it's true when people say she has a tidying fetish, and she's lovely. The rooms are large a bit kitsch and those with a seaview fabulous- many people used the view from the hotel to take pics of the bay. The walk down into town is gentle however the walk up to the best restaurants is steep and no good for unfit or people with walking disabilities. Access to the beach is almost impossible for such people. Few Brits there, lots of Americans from cruises. Great deli in the town square family run tops for value but no concept of queuing much to the Americans' disgust. Beware though Positano is expensive; 100 euros for a basic meal for 2 is not out of the ordinary

Room Tip: sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonywilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My boyfriend and I had a lovely 4 night stay at this hotel. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Pros:
Very clean - the cleanest hotel we had in Italy and the cleaning staff did an amazing job every day.
For Europe standards this is more of a 4 star hotel. I was impressed once I walked in with how nice it was. It was nicer than other 4 star hotels I stayed out in Italy. The value for the price was exceptional.
Big rooms and bathroom with a great sized patio with lounger and chairs. The view was great!
A true queen bed, not two twins pushed together. Only hotel who had this on my trip!
Location is good - it's still up a lot of stairs, but not as high as other hotels. I actually liked having the walk uphill so I could indulge in more Italian food. If you have trouble walking a lot I would recommend staying lower in Positano. The view is worth the walk if you are active.
Staff and owners are great at helping with recommendations, arranging luggage porters or anything else you may need. They are locals and know everything about this beautiful town.

Cons: Only real con was that the internet tickets only worked for short periods of time and only on one device at a time. Not a deal breaker by any means, but could have been more convenient since we like to use the internet to look at restaurant reviews before dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Gal_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leoben, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A really fantastic hotel. It is way beyond its 3 stars. We stayed there for one week in the end of August. We got room No. 6, which has the most beautiful view i have ever seen in my life. The room was small but very nice and clean.The location is perfect, close to the shops and just less than 10 min walk to the beach. The owners where very kind. We had to leave very since we had to catch our flight at 8 am in Naples, so the arranged us a breakfast at 5 am.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone and i would love to go back myself someday.

Room Tip: Room 6 has probably the best view in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitko007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#31 of 39 in Positano
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#11 of 39 in Positano
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Prisco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Prisco Hotel

Property: Royal Prisco Hotel
Address: Via Pasitea 102, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Positano
#17 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Prisco Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Prisco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Prisco Positano
Hotel Royal Prisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing