We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location & friendly staff, Amalfi coast prices”
Review of Hotel Pupetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pupetto
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect location & friendly staff, Amalfi coast prices”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed 5 nights in hotel Pupetto in August, after a friend recommended it.
The location is perfect, right on top of the Fornillo beach in Positano, a lot better than the big beach.

The hotel is not fancy, just very clean and good size rooms with a great terrace overlooking the beach.

The staff was extremely friendly, they helped us booking trips and restaurants and were very handy after Naples airport lost our suitcases.

The rooms are not cheap, but nothing is cheap in the Amalfi coast. We will definitely recommended it and will stay here again once we return to Positano.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrodri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    173
    44
    5
    5
See reviews for
98
238
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We were so impressed by this 3 star hotel as it is so much more! Rooms were bright, spacious and so clean. The balcony and views are to die for. Veronica and all the staff were so welcoming and helpful. Food was great, we ordered take away on our balcony one night which was a memorable experience. Very near the beach and town. Arrived in by boat after travelling from Rome, what better and easier way to travel. I would love to visit again and thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna10uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not fancy or sophisticated. It is not cheap in relation to other resorts elsewhere.

It is however clean, has friendly staff, has a great beach bar and sun lounger areas and also does lovely food.

I am so glad we stayed here rather than somewhere up the hill in Positano proper. The whole area where the hotel is located has a far more relaxed family run italian feel than the other main area which is just great.

Staff were brilliant throughout our stay.

If you are in two minds I say 'book it'.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyg831977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Positano itself is stunning.... The Pupetto is reached via a well made up and lit footpath with stunning views and is situated on the 2nd beach in Positano. The hotel is actually on the beach and I would say you need to be a beach lover to achieve the best of the hotel and location. Loungers and umbrellas are available to hire on the beach, these are hired through the hotels excellent beach bar which also serves food and is equipped with changing rooms and shower if needed. Having been to Positano before we didn't eat at the hotel as we knew all the towns eateries, so cannot comment. The hotel is very Italian, and family run, it also seems very popular with Italians. It has a bygone feel (as much of real Italy does) so the public rooms and bedrooms are functional. Veronica on reception is brilliant speaks perfect English and booking from the UK was a breeze. All the staff are polite and attentive, albeit its laid back, remember it is on the beach so has that vibe!! The location and views are stunning... if you love the beach and sun, don't want to drive anywhere and chill its very much worth a try.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carrotman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

If you are planning to spend time on the beach and go to the city once a day, it's an amazing location. It's not for drivers, as one of the guests said, but if you get dropped off at the rock where the stairs start, the hotel sends a porter to deliver your luggage to the room, and you are set. We stayed for 6 days in July'13, and since we went to Positano for the beach, it was perfect: you can use your room to shower/change throughout the day,eat at their beach bar or at the restaurant (the views are unparallel), but every evening we ould walk to the main beach area ( a 10 minute walk on a picturesque path [no steps]_and venture into the city form there. For those who want to enter the city form up above, via Vialle del Positea, indeed, they need to walk the steps and use Hotel Victori's elevator which doesn't save much tiem or energy.

Staff at the hotel is good, especially Veronica: she made us feel as a part of family.

Re. views: when you swim, you have the great views of Positano proper and the mountains.

The bottomline: it's a hotel to use the beach to the fullest.

We're planning to be back.

Room Tip: all rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena_N478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
788 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were not staying in the hotel, but since we were in Positano, were recommended to have lunch at the Ristorante Pupetto, part of the hotel. We sat on the terrace and had amazing views of the beach and enjoyed the site seeing! Our waiter was efficient and the food was ok – but only just ok, and nothing more. What you are paying for is the location and views, though be aware that you have steps and a long coast-line path to get to the hotel/restaurant and this may be a problem for anyone with a disability. We also found that the hotel has a beach bar and I believe that we may have eaten as well there – and for less than the 50 Euros for two cost on the terrace - one course each, a salad and one beer and a bottle of mineral water.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Do not go to Hotel Pupetto if your are not in great shape : if you drive to Positano, you must park your car in a garage, then walk down 450 steps to reach the hotel whose selling point is that it is on the sea. What they don’t tell you is that ALL the hotels in Positano have views of the sea. Pupetto just happens to be at the lowest point – and thus, is the most arduous to reach. If you do not fancy walking back up the 450 steps, you can take a somewhat less arduous – uphill path which brings you out unto the other side of Positano. From there, you need to continue walking up steep inclines to reach the bus stop where you wait – and wait and wait for the bus to bring you to the garage on the other side.

The hotel décor is somewhat outdated but the people at the desk are friendly and helpful. The large patio overlooking the sea is lovely. Being able to step off the patio onto the beach is also a plus if that is what you are looking for.

Here is the catch : do not under any circumstances, entrust your fragile baggage to the porters. When it was time to leave – I hesitated to give my knapsack with my computer to the porter but given how steep the path back up was, and seeing that he had a heavy duty luggage cart, I entrusted my computer to him, saying “this is my computer, would you please be extra careful?!”

When the porter met up with us – my knapsack was open.

When we reached our next hotel and I turned on the computer – impossible to see my desktop – the screen was broken.

I phoned Pupetto Hotel immediately: they said to contact their lawyer. Despite photographs of the computer which I sent immediately upon discovering that my screen was broken, despite the estimate of repairs I sent upon returning home, I have not heard back from them.

I specifically told the porter that the knapsack contained my computer. Accidents do happen but wouldn’t you expect the porter to be extra careful when entrusted with fragile items? Such gross negligence is shocking. The fact that they have not gotten back to me, equally so.

Replacing a MAC screen costs $780. You do the math. That was one very very costly stay at the Pupetto hotel.

Do not make the mistake I did of entrusting your computer to the porter to bring up the hill for you – no matter how heavy it may be and how steep the walk back up to town is.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank NadineZaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 38 in Positano
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.3 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pupetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pupetto

Property: Hotel Pupetto
Address: Via Fornillo 37, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#24 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pupetto 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pupetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pupetto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing