We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff; needs to be cleaner”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pupetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pupetto
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Hanson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great staff; needs to be cleaner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel last week. I hate to write a negative review, so I'll start with the positives. The view is incredible and the staff is extremely nice. The receptionists and the waitstaff were all excellent. If you're looking for a place to get some sun, this is the hotel to choose. We upgraded to the larger patio and you won't be disappointed by the size. The beach is a bit rocky, so the elevated patios are awesome.

That said, this hotel has a serious ant problem. When we got into our room, we noticed a number of tiny ants all throughout the room. We more or less let it go and just kept our suitcases on a table because it was bearable. After the second night, we found about 20+ ants in our bathroom and we had to switch rooms. The receptionist was extremely accommodating and moved us to a new room. The ant issue was improved, but not 100% fixed. You constantly feel unsettled after that kind of experience. In the hallway, we noticed ants marching up towards the ceiling into some type of attic, so it didn't seem like an isolated incident.

We enjoyed the restaurant on the first night; I had the gnocchi, which was very cheesy and filling. We ordered a steak as well, but I wasn't a big fan of it. It was undercooked. The house wine was some of the best we had in Italy.

All in all, it's a nice hotel, but I could never recommend staying here until the ant issue was figured out. I would have given 1 star, but the staff was great. If not for the bugs, it would be close to a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the patio and it was very nice; plenty of area to lounge in the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ddonahue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    163
    41
    5
    5
See reviews for
91
219
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My experience at Pupetto was really great. From the evening we arrived when a man at the parking lot called the hotel to get someone to help us with the luggage to the very last day when a lovely receptionist was helping us print our boarding cards for the flight back home. We were happy with our room with a partial seaview that was cleaned daily. The reception ladies were always on hand and smiling, helping to organise birthday dinner and advising on things to see and do. The breakfast is rather repetetive but not bad.
The best thing about Pupetto though is the location - right on the beach. And also this is the second beach in Positano which is less crowded. I don't think there's any other hotel in Positano that has this advantage so unless you book somewhere with a pool (and there aren't many of those either...) you're facing a daily trek down to the beach (not to mention the uphill return).
The walk to the town takes about 10 minutes and we actually really enjoyed it at all sorts of times during day and night. Even coming back from Music on the Rocks at the early morning hours we felt safe and admired the views.
I would love to come back to Positano and when I do I wouldn't hesitate to book Pupetto again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolina_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Pupetto is a great hotel in front of the beach, and just 10 minutes away from the center.

The restaurant is very good with an excellent attention. In fact, is a good alternative to the pricier restaurants in Positano.

There are only two things I would improve: The rooms could be cleaner and the WiFi better (No signal in the room and not very stable).

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yo-no-fui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I am not sure where all the positive reviews for this place are coming from. The hotel is old very old and looks like it has never been updated. The pictures on their website look nothing like the actual rooms. The first night we arrived in a garden room sitting on our bed I noticed two ants come out from underneath the pillow. We moved our pillows to notice more ants on the bed. My husband moved the bed from the wall and there was an ant infestation. I immediately asked to be moved to another room in which they told me the only room available was a seaview room. They did not want to give me that room as we were paying for a garden room. We said we would take any room as long as it was not this one with the ants in the bed. After much debate they put us in the seaview room for the night. The next day the manager said that not only did they look and see no ants in which I told her I would show her ( she tried to say we lied) which we never would make up ants all over the top of the bed, she also said since we moved we had to pay for the more expensive room. What kind of hotel that has bugs in the bed then proceeds to charge you for the more expensive room when that was all that was available. TERRIBLE Customer Service. She would not let us leave without paying the extra 60 euros... Also would like to mention the new room we were put in had dead flies all over bathroom counter. I was waiting to see if the cleaning staff would clean the following two days and guess what flies were still there. This place is Filthy.. dirtiest hotel I have stayed in europe and I have traveled all over. Breakfast is terrible too.. just packaged cookies and crackers.. no fresh items. I would not recommend find a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ErikaF1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely view! The walk down not easy but again the view make up for the pain and sweat! 10 minute walk from town. Rooms small but comfy. Had a bad food experience in restaurant on day 1 and avoided it for rest of stay. Breakfast also tasteless. Not a bad choice overall but expected a bit more!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hannelie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford on Avon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for two nights with three children and had a brilliant time. The decor is simple but chic and the room we stayed in was clean and very comfortable for all five of us to stay in. Beautiful balcony with jaw dropping views, the staff were approachable and attentive. We enjoyed reasonably priced food in the restaurant and our 10 year old proclaimed that the pizza (cooked in wood fired pizza oven) to be the best he has ever tasted and he has tasted a lot!! Brilliant beach side service, beach towels included and brilliant breakfast in the morning. Free wifi and porter service to transport baggage. We loved it, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123MumofThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesmo, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel in itself is " simple" .....But the view is AMAZING !!!! You're right on the beach!!!!!
Breakfast, lunch or dinner on their veranda facing the sea is wonderful!!!!!
The staff is amazingly courteous .....we were served a full breakfast wayyyyyy out of their breakfast hours!!!!! We even had dinner there the first evening and it was pretty good!!!!
Very clean and reasonably priced.......all considering .... I will go again !!!!
The romantic walk from the hotel to the town is worth it!!!! Only if you're in good company!!!!!! :)

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#18 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pupetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pupetto

Property: Hotel Pupetto
Address: Via Fornillo 37, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#24 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pupetto 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pupetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pupetto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing