We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”
Review of Hotel Pupetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pupetto
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
sb
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay and we were so happy to be back! The staff treats you as guests in their own home and the location right on the beach is amazing. They have a snack shop and bar right on the sand and on the terrace they have a restaurant with great food, wine and a perfect view! Just a short walk to the busy side of town for shopping and more restaurants but we ended up canceling our dinner reservations and having dinner at the hotel restaurant both nights. We also ate lunch both days at the restaurant! We have two small daughters and they were also treated like family. We can't wait to visit Positano again and will surely stay at Hotel Pupetto for the third time!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SbSpall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    171
    42
    5
    5
See reviews for
97
234
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manuel San Antonio, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our family had a great experience at Pupetto this summer. Beautiful beach (and right on it) and a very warm, friendly atmosphere.

This isn't a five star, formal kind of place, but rather a very genuine, warm and immediately comfortable environment. Whether it's the fun bar right on the beach (and nice bartender), the lounge chairs you can reserve right on the water, or the super helpful staff, we found it super inviting and relaxing. While being just 5 minutes from the heart of great downtown Positano (or 10 min from the higher road and many top restaurants).

We loved it, and will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a fantastic experience at pupetto, on the beach hotel with views and relaxation combined to make a holiday of a life time. Staff and service is excellent, they organized help with luggage which would be a daunting task on your own from either the road or port. Hotel restaurant is excellent, good value and no real need to walk into Positano central to eat. On the beach also you have a choice of bars. As the beach is 400m from positano central it pretty much clears by 4:30-5 when the sun drops behind the sheer rock face and serenity is with you, reminding me much the Rottnest Island feel you get back home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GandG128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel for lunch as we were staying at Sorrento. The lunch was delightful and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Food very fresh and tasty, fish amazing and Aubergine parmigiana amazing. Good choice of local wine.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanorah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel last week. I hate to write a negative review, so I'll start with the positives. The view is incredible and the staff is extremely nice. The receptionists and the waitstaff were all excellent. If you're looking for a place to get some sun, this is the hotel to choose. We upgraded to the larger patio and you won't be disappointed by the size. The beach is a bit rocky, so the elevated patios are awesome.

That said, this hotel has a serious ant problem. When we got into our room, we noticed a number of tiny ants all throughout the room. We more or less let it go and just kept our suitcases on a table because it was bearable. After the second night, we found about 20+ ants in our bathroom and we had to switch rooms. The receptionist was extremely accommodating and moved us to a new room. The ant issue was improved, but not 100% fixed. You constantly feel unsettled after that kind of experience. In the hallway, we noticed ants marching up towards the ceiling into some type of attic, so it didn't seem like an isolated incident.

We enjoyed the restaurant on the first night; I had the gnocchi, which was very cheesy and filling. We ordered a steak as well, but I wasn't a big fan of it. It was undercooked. The house wine was some of the best we had in Italy.

All in all, it's a nice hotel, but I could never recommend staying here until the ant issue was figured out. I would have given 1 star, but the staff was great. If not for the bugs, it would be close to a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the patio and it was very nice; plenty of area to lounge in the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ddonahue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My experience at Pupetto was really great. From the evening we arrived when a man at the parking lot called the hotel to get someone to help us with the luggage to the very last day when a lovely receptionist was helping us print our boarding cards for the flight back home. We were happy with our room with a partial seaview that was cleaned daily. The reception ladies were always on hand and smiling, helping to organise birthday dinner and advising on things to see and do. The breakfast is rather repetetive but not bad.
The best thing about Pupetto though is the location - right on the beach. And also this is the second beach in Positano which is less crowded. I don't think there's any other hotel in Positano that has this advantage so unless you book somewhere with a pool (and there aren't many of those either...) you're facing a daily trek down to the beach (not to mention the uphill return).
The walk to the town takes about 10 minutes and we actually really enjoyed it at all sorts of times during day and night. Even coming back from Music on the Rocks at the early morning hours we felt safe and admired the views.
I would love to come back to Positano and when I do I wouldn't hesitate to book Pupetto again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolina_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Pupetto is a great hotel in front of the beach, and just 10 minutes away from the center.

The restaurant is very good with an excellent attention. In fact, is a good alternative to the pricier restaurants in Positano.

There are only two things I would improve: The rooms could be cleaner and the WiFi better (No signal in the room and not very stable).

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yo-no-fui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pupetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pupetto

Property: Hotel Pupetto
Address: Via Fornillo 37, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#24 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pupetto 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pupetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pupetto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing