We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Pupetto!”
Review of Hotel Pupetto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pupetto
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Wilton, Connecticut
1 review
“Loved the Pupetto!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was nervous going in, as I had booked 2 rooms for our family and read some mixed reviews. We absolutely LOVED this hotel. Very clean, amazing location... I think the best location in Positano... and just a wonderful place to stay with kids. We knew about the 350 step climb down, and that was a fun adventure. A few times a day I would walk with one or more of the kids over to town, while my husband and other kids stayed on the beach- the flexibility was great.
The beach bar next door- Ferdinand's- was fantastic too. We had a great meal at C'era una volta at the top of Positano- the hotel arranged a car from the restaurant to drive down and pick us up in town. I actually think this hotel is a deal for beach front in such an amazing location. Our rooms were 222 and 223- loved them, a clear view over the flowered arbor to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jksdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    173
    43
    5
    5
See reviews for
97
236
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The best things about this hotel are its location and its staff. Be warned that Positano is very hilly so if you arrive by bus from Sorrento or Amalfi you will need to need walk quite a way downhill to get to most places. For Hotel Pupetto I would suggest you arrive by ferry then walk around the path from the wharf to the hotel because there are no stairs. This was a lovely way to get to the Positano main shopping area each day but it was delightful to be staying away from the mayhem of all the tourists that flock to Positano itself.
Pupetto has its own beach and restaurant. The staff on reception were extremely helpful and welcoming. Our room was booked by a tour operator so we were couldn't select it and it was at the end of the building with a sea view from a small balcony off the side of the room. We dined at the hotel restaurant each night and the service was excellent and the view peaceful especially as the sun was setting over the water. Local wines were available at a reasonable price.
If you are leaving by car then you need to climb over 200 stairs up to Hotel Victoria then a few more to access the road. Reception organised a porter to carry our bags for a fee.
The wifi was not available in the room but could be accessed in the reception area and restaurant.
Breakfast was adequate with the usual small selection of cereal, a range of 2 or 3 fruits, and plenty of sweet pastries, cakes and biscuits if you have a sweet tooth first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scheza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sb
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay and we were so happy to be back! The staff treats you as guests in their own home and the location right on the beach is amazing. They have a snack shop and bar right on the sand and on the terrace they have a restaurant with great food, wine and a perfect view! Just a short walk to the busy side of town for shopping and more restaurants but we ended up canceling our dinner reservations and having dinner at the hotel restaurant both nights. We also ate lunch both days at the restaurant! We have two small daughters and they were also treated like family. We can't wait to visit Positano again and will surely stay at Hotel Pupetto for the third time!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SbSpall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel San Antonio, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our family had a great experience at Pupetto this summer. Beautiful beach (and right on it) and a very warm, friendly atmosphere.

This isn't a five star, formal kind of place, but rather a very genuine, warm and immediately comfortable environment. Whether it's the fun bar right on the beach (and nice bartender), the lounge chairs you can reserve right on the water, or the super helpful staff, we found it super inviting and relaxing. While being just 5 minutes from the heart of great downtown Positano (or 10 min from the higher road and many top restaurants).

We loved it, and will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a fantastic experience at pupetto, on the beach hotel with views and relaxation combined to make a holiday of a life time. Staff and service is excellent, they organized help with luggage which would be a daunting task on your own from either the road or port. Hotel restaurant is excellent, good value and no real need to walk into Positano central to eat. On the beach also you have a choice of bars. As the beach is 400m from positano central it pretty much clears by 4:30-5 when the sun drops behind the sheer rock face and serenity is with you, reminding me much the Rottnest Island feel you get back home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GandG128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We visited this hotel for lunch as we were staying at Sorrento. The lunch was delightful and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Food very fresh and tasty, fish amazing and Aubergine parmigiana amazing. Good choice of local wine.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanorah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanson, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel last week. I hate to write a negative review, so I'll start with the positives. The view is incredible and the staff is extremely nice. The receptionists and the waitstaff were all excellent. If you're looking for a place to get some sun, this is the hotel to choose. We upgraded to the larger patio and you won't be disappointed by the size. The beach is a bit rocky, so the elevated patios are awesome.

That said, this hotel has a serious ant problem. When we got into our room, we noticed a number of tiny ants all throughout the room. We more or less let it go and just kept our suitcases on a table because it was bearable. After the second night, we found about 20+ ants in our bathroom and we had to switch rooms. The receptionist was extremely accommodating and moved us to a new room. The ant issue was improved, but not 100% fixed. You constantly feel unsettled after that kind of experience. In the hallway, we noticed ants marching up towards the ceiling into some type of attic, so it didn't seem like an isolated incident.

We enjoyed the restaurant on the first night; I had the gnocchi, which was very cheesy and filling. We ordered a steak as well, but I wasn't a big fan of it. It was undercooked. The house wine was some of the best we had in Italy.

All in all, it's a nice hotel, but I could never recommend staying here until the ant issue was figured out. I would have given 1 star, but the staff was great. If not for the bugs, it would be close to a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the patio and it was very nice; plenty of area to lounge in the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ddonahue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#19 of 39 in Positano
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pupetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pupetto

Property: Hotel Pupetto
Address: Via Fornillo 37, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#24 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pupetto 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pupetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pupetto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing