We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just book it”
Review of Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vittoria
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just book it”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one week for our anniversary, it was also our first trip to Italy. We both absolutely loved it! Positano itself was gorgeous and I'm so glad I never listened to others when they said to make sorrento our main stay. The hotel itself is in a perfect location 200 steps up (quite tiring but amazing views) from the smaller and more private Fornillo beach. Once at the beach there is a wonderful romantic 15 minute walk to main centre which is completely safe and so enjoyable. Vittoria hotel was Ok to find- go right at the signs next to the virgin Mary!! There are lots of restaurants within walking distance, hotel itself was clean, rooms spacious with gorgeous views, staff were so lovely and breakfast in mornings on the terrace was great, with coffee freshly prepared for us every day. We will definitely return as it was by far our favourite holiday and I thought the location of this hotel was really perfect! Enjoyed our holiday so much. Only thing to add- we got an airport taxi on return which was far more enjoyable than a train from rotten naples central standing all the way then another bus to Positano. More time to enjoy holidays!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    73
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
145
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Wow wee! What a view!
This little hidden gem was a fantastic escape from our big journey in Italy! Daniella & staff were delightful! Great room, but you are always at the beach!
The steps up and down to the coast were hard, but perfect to walk off dinner! Great stay all the way from Australia... Hope to be back!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the end of our three week Europe vacation. The room was smallish, little decor, but cool. Our balcony was big and the view was great. The only problem is you need to walk down approximately 74 steps to get to the hotel and 274 steps down to the beach (bring water shoes). Location is great as you can walk to the center of town and if you wish take a bus back. Daniella (front desk) was fantastic. She recommended restaurants and a unbelievable tour guide (Charmlimos). Breakfast was not so good as the variety of items was extremely limited.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w.p.bch. fl
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights in early July '14. This was not our first choice but Vittoria was great. Positano is built on the side of a mountain and for the most part all views are great. Here they where fabulous. It is quiet and has it's own semi private beach. (254 steps down!!). Our room (74) was large with a nice scenic balcony. Breakfast was continental and acceptable. The real find was the receptionist Daniella. This young lady is a saint. Her knowledge and disposition are immeasurable. What a gem. If she wanted to come to the US I would hire her.
In close proximity to the hotel are a number of excellent dining options, not requiring long walks or a bus ride. One evening we chanced upon our first hotel choice and are we glad we were unable to be booked there. Vittoria is a solid choice for any type of traveler or length of stay. Caio..

Room Tip: We were on floor three. I believe room prices may vary on location and size. We booked through an on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plantmanW_p_bch_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is such a sweet, beautiful, and unpretentious hotel in the stunning town of Positano. It's a white stucco building perched on a cliff overlooking the Mediterranean. .The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. The ac worked well and the showers are large and never wanting in water pressure. We spent 5 nights and had a partial sea view which was perfect. From our private terrace we had an ideal view of both the sea and the charming town. The continental breakfast included fresh fruit, a generous assortment of breads and pastries, cheese, salami and the best cappuccinos ever. Breakfast is served on a patio with magnificent views draped with bouganvillas. Salvatore quickly got to know my obsession with his double expressos and would have it ready for me without asking. Daniella's smile lit up the room and she was always happy to help with restaurant and travel suggestions. In fact, all the staff without exception were welcoming and helpful.

The smaller semi private beach is infinitely better than the overcrowded primary beach on the other side of town. But be prepared to walk - a lot: 250 steep steps down and up to get to the beach. There is also an slightly easier walk along the beach to the public beach and then through town. Walking ALOT is the Positano way of life and is unavoidable so don't hold it against Hotel Vittoria. And although it is tucked away on a little perch, it was not difficult to find as all the locals know of it and are very willing to help you find it. The porter can help you lug all your suitcases. Do avail yourself of his help so you don't wear yourself out before your stay has begun.

I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. We will be back for sure

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights while sightseeing through Italy. Positano and the entire Amalfi coast is simply amazing.

First the location: there is a main road going along the coast and a single (one-way) road which goes through town off of this main road. First winding down as close to the beach as cars can get and then winding back up. This sort of divides Positano into two "sides". By choosing Hotel Vittoria you are choosing to stay on the quieter side of Positano, away from the larger restaurants, larger beach, concentration of shops etc., BUT you are by no means far away (it is a small town), and some of the best parts of Positano are right by the hotel. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is directly on a walking path down to the smaller, less crowded, second beach in town. It is also just a short stroll (past many great restaurants and shops) to the downtown area (less than 10 min). In our minds the location is perfect.

The Hotel: Very well kept, beautiful hotel which looks down on part of Positano (you're up away from downtown remember) and the Mediterranean. We booked a Superior room with a terrace for two nights and a room with only a balcony for two nights. Both were amazing (HUGE compared to rooms in Florence, Milan, and Rome), beautifully tiled, and with spectacular views. Breakfast also has a spectacular view from a dining area that opens up onto a large terrace. I cannot emphasize enough that none of the pictures of the hotel views, Positano, or the Amalfi in general are tricks. The scenery is absolutely stunning. Breakfast was as nice in content as atmosphere. The gentleman who serves the coffee is truly hospitable.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and neither should you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewtd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Where to even begin!
I can hands down say Hotel Vittoria is my new favorite hotel ever!
Taking everything into account, the staff, the views, the private beach club. It was beyond any and all expectations! Upon arrival, they will set up a porter for you. These men are amazing! They can carry hundreds of pounds luggage as if it's nothing at all!

We walked in and were greeted by Daniella (The most amazing, hospitable, helpful hotel staffer I've ever encountered!) She showed us to our room, which was SO spacious! Lovely sea view balcony. It said partial, but it was pretty much the entire ocean!

After this, we walked down to Pupetto Beach Bar, which is a little heaven away from the insanely crowded main beach of Positano! It seemed like a lot of the Italian locals come and stay on this side of town, to get away from the crazy tourists! Not to mention, if you are a guest of Vittoria, you get 10% off of everything! BEST MOJITOS I've ever had! It's only a short 7 min walk into town (We timed it) and there you can find all the italian shops, gelato, ect!

The Hotel has very many good restaurants near it as well if you don't feel like walking into town! Daniella helped us with all of our reservations! She even booked us a scooter to enjoy the Amalfi Coast on! All in all our experience was nothing short of magic!

I will miss wine on the upper deck, and our amazing rain shower with a view! My boyfriend and I both agreed it;s our favorite place we've ever been, and want to get back to Positano as soon as possible, and there is no doubt we will stay at Hotel Vittoria again! Thank you Daniella and staff for making this stay the best part of our three week trip!

Till Next Time!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JadanHuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#32 of 39 in Positano
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pupetto
Hotel Pupetto
#16 of 39 in Positano
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 39 in Positano
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#11 of 39 in Positano
485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#28 of 39 in Positano
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vittoria

Property: Vittoria
Address: Via Fornillo 19, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Vittoria 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittoria Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing