We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, family, comfortable, relaxed place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel - Albergo California Positano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel - Albergo California Positano
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Warm, family, comfortable, relaxed place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Great location! Very ckean and big rooms! Service nice and and warm, as if you are a family friend. Maria and her family members are doing great job! She could give great recipies both for food and for life! But the breakfast could be better ;)!
Anna Mazmanyan

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazmanyan_FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    118
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
80
317
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

When checking in to the hotel California the staff made us feel like long lost and most welcome family. The experience of maria's hospitality alonemake this hotel a bargain at twice the price but the room is huge, wonderfully appointed and furnished and has a view to kill for. The bath alone is as large as some hotel rooms in Europe. The location, while a bit of a walk from the beach is very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Maria, the owner, greets you every day. Her entire family runs this hotel. Couldn't ask for better service or friendly attitude. They have parking available also. Fabulous restaurant next door "Bruno". We had a room with a wonderful view of the ocean.

Room Tip: If you stay more than three nights you can request a room higher up for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We had a great experience at this hotel and highly recommend it. The location was perfect. The most memorable part of the stay was the service and Maria. She makes the overall experience at this hotel such a pleasure. I would definitely stay again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room on the second or 3rd floor even though there is no elevator. The views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MexIndio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and we absolutely loved it. Maria greeted us warmly and made us feel so welcome. She is the quintessential Italian Mother/Grandmother. While a little on the pricier side, we spent 175 Euros per night, we had a terrific room on the first floor with our own private patio area. You can get lower priced rooms but for the two night we stayed there, ours was the only room available. Breakfast was set up for us at our table when we awoke. The views from the patio were spectacular. Everything was within a short walk, although it is always uphill or downhill, as is the case on the Amalfi Coast. Breakfast was all carbs and it was a pretty good assortment of breads, fruits, juices and coffees. Right next to the hotel, walking out on the left, is the Bruno cafe, where we ate one evening. The food was good and the prices were reasonable, for Positano, that is. \I highly recommend that restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonypct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

As soon as we arrived at Albergo California, we were treated like family. We arrived around 10 am so we had to wait for our room to be ready. Momma Maria invited us to sit and have some breakfast and relax. She made sure we were comfortable and well taken care of our entire trip. The whole family was warm and welcoming. I can't say enough about their hospitality! Antonio, their bellman, waiter and all around helper, was there every afternoon to welcome us back from our adventures with Prosecco and snacks!Our room had a spectacular view of Positano and the sea. The room was very large and clean with lots of character of it's own. I initially chose the hotel based on the view (and great reviews) and was not disappointed! We were close enough to shopping and the beach that everything was a 10-15 walk and high enough above the beach to have the incredible view . The California is located on the main road so we would hear the traffic, but I loved being right in the middle of everything. We kept our balcony doors open the whole time we were there and still had plenty of privacy. I would love to stay with Maria and family again!

Room Tip: Corner room has window as well as balcony, so will have more light; second floor has best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imsothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

What a fabulous place, shame we could only stay for 3 nights. On-site parking is a real bonus here, with Guiseppe parking the car for us in their private garage. Breakfast on the balcony was great. Our room was large and comfortable and very clean. Maria and her family make you very welcome and are always ready to help or provide local advice and recommendations. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_Steve36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel - Albergo California Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel - Albergo California Positano

Property: Hotel - Albergo California Positano
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 141, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Positano
#7 Family Hotel in Positano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel - Albergo California Positano 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel - Albergo California Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo California Positano
Hotel California Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing