We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best part of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel - Albergo California Positano
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our third hotel on our trip in Italy, after Venice and Florence we got here to relax a bit before going onto Rome. We booked this hotel on the recommendation from our travel agent. When we pulled up in the rental car about four people greeted us, Maria at the front desk was excited when we walked in and checked us right in, another person parked our car in the garage free of charge and another took all our luggage and carried it to our room. When we walked in I was pleasantly surprised, the room was large, bathroom was very spacious, but then we opened the door to the balcony we were blown away. The rooms are very clean, safes are free of charge, staff was very helpful all the time. Location of this hotel is great, just a short walk to the beach, about 10 minutes. I fell in love with this place and can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for the room on the second floor with larger balconies, there are three rooms like this, but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marysya818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    121
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
81
321
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Prior to going on a cruise from Civitavecchia, we stayed a few days at theHotel California. This hotel was exactly as it appeared to be on the internet. Our room was large and spacious (junior suite) and the view from our balcony of romantic Positano was spectacular. On arrival, friendly Antonia handled our luggage and parked our rental car (free parking). John on the front desk checked us in immediately and was always so helpful and kind. The hotel and our room were spotless. We enjoyed breakfast with the two friendly ladies managing the breakfast room. This hotel is seconds from city center, shopping and restaurants. We would highly recommend this hotel and certainly would love to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Room 65 (junior suite) spectacular ceiling in master bedroom and large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Wow! I was blown away when I opened the balcony doors- this view is spectacular! Can't fault the hotel. Perfect location to the beach, shopping and beautiful restaurants. Large, clean rooms. Towels were so soft and fluffy. I highly recommend this hotel. Staff were also extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rendoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was our first trip to the Amalfi Coast and we had only set out two nights for this leg of our journey but we are so glad we did! I was extremely apprehensive about booking this part of the trip on our European holiday as my husband was concerned about how we'd get there lugging our bags from Rome and all the hotels were so very expensive. But Hotel California turned out to be a gem and well worth the trek! Amazingly priced (especially in August!), very centrally located (only 2-3 minutes walk to the center which leads down to the beach or up to some great restaurants, no stairs to lug suitcases (other than the ones leading to the hotel which the concierge was happy to carry) and the most gorgeous views from the balcony. We were lucky to be given a room at the end of the main balcony where breakfast is served each morning which meant that we had breathtaking views and our room had been partitioned from the main balcony by big planters and a rope. So we had a nice private breakfast area of our own! The room was absolutely huge but very sparsely furnished.. almost empty.. but functional and clean and the bathroom was also fairly large with a single person whirlpool bathtub.
Breakfast was decent and there was a surcharge if you wanted eggs or extra coffee. A small downside to having the room so close to the breakfast area and the main balcony was the noise from the other guests, which started about 7-7:30 am but it was wasn't unbearable and we were getting up around 8:30 - 9 am anyway to make the most of our limited time.
We had lunch at cafe Positano which had great views and an amazing carpaccio but the best food we had was dinner at da vincenzo, a few steps further up from cafe Positano. Make sure you reserve in advance.
Also, when coming on the SITA bus from Sorrento, Positano is the first town on the Amalfi Coast and we didn't know exactly where the hotel was so we got off on the first stop in Positano which was a big mistake. The hotel is towards the end of Positano after the center so we ended up having to take a cab to the hotel which cost us an extra 18 euros. Instead, get off the stop towards the end of Positano after the main city center. The hotel is about 3-4 mins downhill from that bus stop.
To get to Positano from Rome, we took a fast train to Naples, then a local train to Sorrento (stations are right next to each other) and then a SITA bus to Positano from outside Sorrento station. A bit of a trek but easily achievable even whilst lugging 20 kg suitcases and once you get there, so worth it!
We also recommend staying longer, 2 nights are simply not enough :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lalarukh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Excellent service. The view from the breakfast gallery is breathtaking. The staff was very kind and accommodating. Our reservation was lost somehow but they went out of our way to get us a room and find a solution in high season.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianna_Ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights and the family run hotel was in a great position with lovely views of Positano. The rooms were large and clean and everything about our stay was wonderful. The breakfast was particularly great eating it on the balcony overlooking the bay. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper levels did not get the noise from the street or noise from people sitting on terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KELLY040251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

It was our first time to the Amalfi Coast, and Positano, and wanted to make sure it was the best experience possible. AND IT WAS!!
With so many hotels in Positano, and all of the talk of the hundreds of steps it was a lot of work trying to find the right one. With the help of google maps, we were able to pin point exactly were each hotel was, and its proximity to the main beach and shopping areas. A very good friend suggested to take a look at Hotel California, as he stayed there a couple of years ago, and was in the actual room that was used in the movie "Under the Tuscan Sun" .
This place was outstanding, starting with the location, which was away from the busy areas, and only a 10 minute walk down towards the beach and shops. The owner Maria, her son Gianni and the rest of the family made our stay exceptional. We felt right at home as one of the family members ourselves. They were very personable and helpful.
Breakfast was great, Rooms were huge and bright and clean. WE will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd Floor, as the view is much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greatcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel - Albergo California Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel - Albergo California Positano

Property: Hotel - Albergo California Positano
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 141, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Positano
#7 Family Hotel in Positano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel - Albergo California Positano 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel - Albergo California Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo California Positano
Hotel California Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing