We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Located almost in the middle of everything in Positano, the views are incredible .
The rooms are spacious and spotless, with all basic amenities including AC. They also provide parking (provided) that you request it at the time of reservation, this is important since is impossible to get a parking spot in this town.
Included breakfast is basic, but nice ( bread, pastries, fruit, coffee).
The hotel is run by a very nice family, who are always willing to help.
Absolutely recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is an incredible place to stay in Positano. The view from our balcony was stunning, and the windows on every landing offered a breathtaking vista over the sparkling blue ocean. Our room was quiet and spacious, and the service was outstanding. From carrying our heavy suitcase up three flights of stairs to giving us directions around the Amalfi Coast, the staff were extremely obliging. One night when we were late getting back to the hotel, one of the porters sat out on street for a half hour so he could open the garage door when we arrived.

Eating breakfast on the patio every morning was wonderful, and from the hotel it's a short walk to great shops and restaurants, and of course the beach. On our last night in Positano we sat on our balcony and watched the fireworks of Ferragosto exploding over the bay. If you're heading for Positano, I recommend the Hotel California enthusiastically.

Room Tip: Ask for the room featured in the film "Under the Tuscan Sun." We can vouch for its romanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was our third hotel on our trip in Italy, after Venice and Florence we got here to relax a bit before going onto Rome. We booked this hotel on the recommendation from our travel agent. When we pulled up in the rental car about four people greeted us, Maria at the front desk was excited when we walked in and checked us right in, another person parked our car in the garage free of charge and another took all our luggage and carried it to our room. When we walked in I was pleasantly surprised, the room was large, bathroom was very spacious, but then we opened the door to the balcony we were blown away. The rooms are very clean, safes are free of charge, staff was very helpful all the time. Location of this hotel is great, just a short walk to the beach, about 10 minutes. I fell in love with this place and can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for the room on the second floor with larger balconies, there are three rooms like this, but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marysya818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Prior to going on a cruise from Civitavecchia, we stayed a few days at theHotel California. This hotel was exactly as it appeared to be on the internet. Our room was large and spacious (junior suite) and the view from our balcony of romantic Positano was spectacular. On arrival, friendly Antonia handled our luggage and parked our rental car (free parking). John on the front desk checked us in immediately and was always so helpful and kind. The hotel and our room were spotless. We enjoyed breakfast with the two friendly ladies managing the breakfast room. This hotel is seconds from city center, shopping and restaurants. We would highly recommend this hotel and certainly would love to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Room 65 (junior suite) spectacular ceiling in master bedroom and large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Wow! I was blown away when I opened the balcony doors- this view is spectacular! Can't fault the hotel. Perfect location to the beach, shopping and beautiful restaurants. Large, clean rooms. Towels were so soft and fluffy. I highly recommend this hotel. Staff were also extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rendoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was our first trip to the Amalfi Coast and we had only set out two nights for this leg of our journey but we are so glad we did! I was extremely apprehensive about booking this part of the trip on our European holiday as my husband was concerned about how we'd get there lugging our bags from Rome and all the hotels were so very expensive. But Hotel California turned out to be a gem and well worth the trek! Amazingly priced (especially in August!), very centrally located (only 2-3 minutes walk to the center which leads down to the beach or up to some great restaurants, no stairs to lug suitcases (other than the ones leading to the hotel which the concierge was happy to carry) and the most gorgeous views from the balcony. We were lucky to be given a room at the end of the main balcony where breakfast is served each morning which meant that we had breathtaking views and our room had been partitioned from the main balcony by big planters and a rope. So we had a nice private breakfast area of our own! The room was absolutely huge but very sparsely furnished.. almost empty.. but functional and clean and the bathroom was also fairly large with a single person whirlpool bathtub.
Breakfast was decent and there was a surcharge if you wanted eggs or extra coffee. A small downside to having the room so close to the breakfast area and the main balcony was the noise from the other guests, which started about 7-7:30 am but it was wasn't unbearable and we were getting up around 8:30 - 9 am anyway to make the most of our limited time.
We had lunch at cafe Positano which had great views and an amazing carpaccio but the best food we had was dinner at da vincenzo, a few steps further up from cafe Positano. Make sure you reserve in advance.
Also, when coming on the SITA bus from Sorrento, Positano is the first town on the Amalfi Coast and we didn't know exactly where the hotel was so we got off on the first stop in Positano which was a big mistake. The hotel is towards the end of Positano after the center so we ended up having to take a cab to the hotel which cost us an extra 18 euros. Instead, get off the stop towards the end of Positano after the main city center. The hotel is about 3-4 mins downhill from that bus stop.
To get to Positano from Rome, we took a fast train to Naples, then a local train to Sorrento (stations are right next to each other) and then a SITA bus to Positano from outside Sorrento station. A bit of a trek but easily achievable even whilst lugging 20 kg suitcases and once you get there, so worth it!
We also recommend staying longer, 2 nights are simply not enough :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lalarukh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Excellent service. The view from the breakfast gallery is breathtaking. The staff was very kind and accommodating. Our reservation was lost somehow but they went out of our way to get us a room and find a solution in high season.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianna_Ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 38 in Positano
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.3 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#8 of 38 in Positano
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 141, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Positano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £105 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo California Positano
Hotel California Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing