We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming family & stunning terrace - see photos”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
623 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Welcoming family & stunning terrace - see photos”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived earlier than expected so we were offered a cappuccino on the terrace while our room was finished - didn't take long. Wow! what a terrace as you can see from the photos. A very nice breakfast was included in our rate & served on the terrace each day of our 3 night stay. If you want a cooked breakfast - eggs etc there is a charge...we had just come from a big hotel/full breakfast in Sorrento so we were happy with a lighter breakfast anyway. I liked the way they served tea in a pot with a heated cup - something I missed since leaving home a few weeks ago. On the subject of breakfast, on our final day we were being picked up at 630 am (flight from Naples)...when finalising the bill the night before, we mentioned leaving early. So when we came onto terrace at 615, the owner of the hotel was there to offer us tea/coffee/toast/croissant &/or anything else we had time for (fruit etc) a generous gesture as breakfast didn't start until 7. The room itself was lovely; sort of homely in an old-fashioned way but with modern white linen/towels. Like many similar hotels - shower curtain/no gowns so expect nice/clean etc but not v upmarket. What we did love was the balcony - gorgeous view & room to actually sit...unlike other hotels in Europe. Like most other hotels, no tea/coffee making facility so that was only thing we missed a little (most Australian hotels have that); nice when you have a balcony. I think all rooms have a view. We compared the prices of hotels in Positano and this one, while still comparatively expensive to other parts of the world, Albergo California was a good find - more affordable, unpretentious & excellent service. Many thanks to the family and all the staff, we will recommend your hotel to our friends and family.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NotMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    121
    15
    7
    8
See reviews for
82
325
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Albergo California Positano is a lovely place. The staff is great and always ready to help you with anything. They even made reservations for us at one of the best restaurants in Positano.
The view from the room balcony was amazing. Definitely will come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The staff is what makes this hotel so great! We arrived late after a very long (and adventurous!) drive, and the hotel staff were so warm and welcoming! They quickly got us settled, and gave us great dinner recommendations. We were always greeted with a smile and felt right at home. We were especially impressed with Maria at the front desk in the afternoon/evening, Antonio, and (I didn't catch his name) another man who worked the front desk in the night/morning - he helped us make changes to our rental car reservation, printed out better driving directions, and, in my opinion, went above and beyond with amazing service.

Our room was quite large, with a nice-sized bathroom too. We had a balcony that opened out to a magnificent view of the water and city. The views were unreal! Our room was on the main level, so it was a little noisy and not very private - if our windows were open, other guests could see in as they were walking in/out. (This is the only reason I'm rating it a Very Good instead of Excellent.) When we stay here again, we'll pay a little extra to have a room on an upper floor. The hotel also has free parking, which was great! (If you have a car, let them know in advance so they can reserve you a space. Otherwise, there are public lots nearby.)

The hotel is very centrally located! A 5-minute walk to the right, and you're in the heart of downtown Positano, complete with little shops and restaurants. A 5-minute walk to the left, and you're at the bus stop which can take you to the other towns (Amalfi, Sorrento, Ravello, etc.). We went to Amalfi, which was about 30 min by bus. We loved the location and were so thankful that we were so close to all the action.

To Hotel California - Thank you for a wonderful stay! We hope to return!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We had a great view of the sea from our room. They all face the sea. Ask for 2nd floor or higher. Fabulous hosts. A really wonderful family-- they could not do more for us. Parked our rental car for us in their underground garage. No charge for parking. The location is much quieter than right downtown at the center. It is a 10 minute walk to beach and only 5 minutes to bus service to Amalfi, Ravello or you can take a boat. They gave us guide books, really super friendly and helpful-- all family! We would definitely recommend staying here,

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great family hotel located close to the centre of town with wonderful uninterrupted views of the Adriatic. We really enjoyed our stay here ...the rooms are well appointed and the staff are very service orientated. Breakfast can either be eaten on the terrace or in the breakfast room and consists of meats, cheese. pastries, cereal, yoghurt and breads with a cooked breakfast available at a reasonable price.

The rooms are spotless and are serviced every day....the staff were lovely with smiles all round. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Positano.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington
Level Contributor
305 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

You will love your stay here! The rooms are fantastic...large and well appointed with the most amazing views of Positano. The large terrazzo lining the front of the hotel is filled with greenery (we found a wee lemon on the lemon tree) and is a wonderful place for pre-dinner cocktails or a bottle of wine after dinner. Breakfast is also served here and the variety of options offers something for everyone. The staff is a wonderful blend of helpful and friendly. A fantastic place to stay in Positano!!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wahoowa1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massillon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Albergo California, Positano,
Italy,is a lovely hotel with a great view of the sea from all the spacious rooms and from the huge breakfast terrace. Perfect location, lovely staff and gorgous flowers and lemon trees with breakfast included. Will return every year!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrizia012001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 141, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Positano
#7 Family Hotel in Positano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albergo California Positano
Hotel California Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing