We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel California
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$412
US$402
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Prisco Hotel(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montemare(Positano)
US$433
US$411
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ancora(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$353
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posa Posa(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$406
US$343
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$257
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$758
US$714
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$839
US$787
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,956
US$1,673
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
419
130
17
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
130
17
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalbergo californiaunder the tuscan sunamalfi coastperfect locationroom was largefamily owned hotelthe busamazing viewsentire familyfamily runeach morningthird floorbeautiful terracewonderful hotelwonderful stayoverlooking positanoloved positano
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in Positano for 4 nights and was the first stop of our 2 week honeymoon. We booked a room at Albergo California and we are so happy we did. We loved everything about this place! The staff was so helpful and nice and assisted us with luggage upon arrival and when again we left. This place felt like home. The breakfast is basic but good to start the day. The location is perfect and close to everything especially the beach. We had a balcony room overlooking the water and it was amazing. Wine is priced the best at this hotel and very good. If I were to ever come back to Positano I would 100% stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jjenny099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Loved staying here. Great location, amazing views, above and beyond service in a warm family run atmosphere. Gianni is a wonderful person. Patient, helpful, always ready with suggestions on what to do and places to eat. Upon arrival we were shown to our room by his niece Maria and just after checking in we were warmly greeted by the other Maria. This is a hotel that is run a by happy, warm and friendly clan who make you feel welcome at every turn. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed exceptional. You can get a better price if you are willing to sacrifice the view, but then again you only live once.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ollie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had 8 wonderful nights at Hotel California. There was nothing that we asked for that was too much beginning with Gianni welcoming us as we arrived at 2am to check us in and carry our bags to recommending restaurants, assisting us with train and bus timetables and finally getting up at 4am to check out and help us with our luggage down to the car! Maria at reception was extremely helpful, lovely and friendly.

Our room on the second level was awesome with two balconies overlooking what must be one of the most picturesque views in the world. The room was large and spotlessly clean every day. We had a wonderful cooked breakfast each morning on the terrace where we were always warmly welcomed by the staff.

We slept with the balcony doors open every night and we hardly noticed the street noise and were woken each morning to the sound of the sea on the pebbly beach.

We have been back but 3 days and I am wishing we were still there! I will definitely go back to Albergo California if I was to return to Positano! It was truly delightful.

Room Tip: We had room 58 and would highly recommend it!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We drove there and as soon as we stopped we were greeted and asked if they wanted them to park the car. They did and brought our luggage directly to the room. Check in was fast and friendly. While we were there any questions we had on the area were answered with much information. All of the staff was quite friendly. The room was spotless and the view amazing. WE spent four days there and wished it could have been two weeks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbkenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I had a picture in my mind of what I wanted Positano to be and our stay at California Hotel was everything I had dreamed of. Maria in reception was so lovely and helpful and everything ( including restaurant bookings, shuttles, transfers) was organised without a hitch. If you are unsure about where to stay in Positano, this hotel was perfect - not too high up as some of the others may be - it's about mid way up the main part. The view was so good we kept looking out and laughing in disbelief and joy!

Room Tip: Room 52 worked well for us but it is the first room on the main terrace so could be noisy with guests coming and going but view was perfect!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews