We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Marincanto” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marincanto
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Marincanto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

A very nice Hotel with spectacular views from your room balcony. A very attentive and courteous staff. Excellent choice to view the Amalfi coast. The hotel is very conveniently located to get around the city. The breakfast is also very good with a lot of choices. We would go back without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merenge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    208
    37
    14
    9
See reviews for
152
765
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I just got back from a 1-week holiday in Positano to celebrate my sister's 50th birthday, and we were so lucky to have been able to enjoy this milestone at the Hotel Marincanto.

From the moment one drives into the hotel driveway, one is captivated by the stunning postcard-perfect classic view of Positano. With the sea dropping down below and the golden dome of the Santa Maria Assunta Church to the right against a vista of rugged cliffs and hills, one feels like the having arrived in heaven.

Upon entering the lobby which had clean white linen sofas against a backdrop of ceramic Italian tile floors, one is imbued in the ethereal lemony-vanilla scent that permeates the air. This unique, addicting scent was later discovered to be a trigger of pleasant memories as I again had the pleasure of whiffing it when I unpacked my luggage upon my return to Florida-- I felt as if I had packed Hotel Marincanto in a bottle, and for a moment I was transported back in time and space to the one of closest places I have to been to heaven on earth.

Service was impressively warm and personal, yet professional and efficient. The hotel created a suprise Positanean birthday cake for my sister and delivered it to her suite on the morning of her birthday, much to her delight!

The beautiful breakfast buffet to be consumed at the hotel patio overlooking the quintessential Positano panorama was a sight and experience to behold every morning. It was a sumptuous choice of prosciutto, parma hams, eggs, cheeses, patries, fruits, breads, fresh juices, etc... and of course your choice of coffee, of which I had the authentic Italian capuccino every morning.

Many thanks to its management and staff without whom this would not have been the spectacular holiday that it was. Grazie Antonella, Enza, Rafaella, Rita, Rosa, Lisa, Gianni, and Carmine. Amore!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sweetdreams007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel was incredible. The staff and service are incredibly friendly and helpful. Conveniently across the street from the bus stop. Worth noting that the beach is very close, but it takes 200-something very steep steps to get down to it.

Room Tip: The sea views are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Marincanto for 3 nights during an 11 day trip to Italy celebrating our 25th anniversary. We were very pleased with our stay here. We were upgraded to the Villa and had a beautiful room on the lower level with a large, gorgeous patio with amazing views of the Mediterranean. The room was spotless and the staff was very attentive. The breakfast was one of the best of our stay in Italy. I highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay there again if I am lucky enough to return to Positano.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Whilst this hotel is certainly not 5 star in terms of rooms, fittings and furnishing - it makes up for it by pure location and spectacular views. We stayed for 4 nights in September and had a room overlooking the terrace and sea for the first night and then a room (the one pictured on their website) overlooking the beach and town with a good sized balcony for the following three nights. We had specifically booked this room many months in advance and had confirmation but on arrival were told it was 'always in demand' and we could not have until the following day. We were fine with that and didn't make a fuss. They then moved our things to other room the next day. Another night we specifically requested and pre-booked a table for two (a romantic dinner) on the terrace with the pianist playing etc. - it was lovely! But on arrival the table we had booked was occupied and we were shown to another which did not have the view we were after. We had seen the receptionist write down the table number we requested - table 3, but on the restaurant booking sheet another number had been written...they were unapologetic, but did find us another table. On the whole a good stay - great exercise down the many stairs to the beach but a wonderful plus as not many other hotels have this kind of private access. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely each morning and a swim in the pool (not heated) with a plastic glass of champagne was rather nice too!

Room Tip: Not overlooking the terrace on the first floor as you can hear everything said by restaurant patrons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longwayhome48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We chose Marincanto hotel based on reviews in Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is situated on the cliff with beautiful views to the sea and town. Pay attention when you book your room some of the rooms offer only partial views but that is stated beforehand and reflected in the room's price. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The breakfast is good though cold, there was never a hot dish. The staff was very helpful always and the service impeccable. Certainly if I'm ever in Positano again I'll stay here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Went to the Amalfi Coast for my 50th birthday and we stayed at the Marincanto Hotel for 5 nights. The premier service began the moment we arrived. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Our room had a gorgeous balcony and view of the ocean - not to mention iconic scene of the hills of Positano. Breakfast on the terrace each morning was delightful. The pool and deck chairs so relaxing. The stairs right to the beach was perfectly convenient. A special shout out to Enza and Antonella for their phenomenal assistance and making our stay so enjoyable. This is truly a 5 star hotel - I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMHNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Property: Hotel Marincanto
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing