We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and food ”
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marincanto
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing service and food ”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were recommended to stay at this hotel from friends. We spent the past four days here. The rooms were spacious and always clean with a great view of the ocean/ positano landscape. The service was amazing. All the hotel employees were extremely attentive , helpful and knowledgeable especially Gianni and Enza. The restaurant at this hotel has the same great view and food is decent as well. I def recommend staying at this hotel for a great experience

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    217
    39
    16
    10
See reviews for
165
817
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Texas, USA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here with my husband and loved it. You get what you pay for and the service is great. We enjoyed the pool area and direct stairs to the beach. Definitely hire a porter to bring up your luggage for 8 Euro/bag as it is a walk from the beach if you arrive by boat. The TravelMar boat from Salerno was very fun, much easier than a bus/car and only 12 Euro/person. The view pulling up is incredible also.

The hotel staff was very helpful as we needed to change a train reservation and made dinner reservations 2 nights. The air was not on in April as it was chilly outside at night, but we sleep with it cold. We started the night with our balcony door open and loved hearing the waves crash, but it got too cold and we shut the door. Then it got too hot - so maybe bring your own fan? We asked if the hotel had any and they did not but said they could get us one by tomorrow. Very nice, but we were leaving that day. All in all we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: to get a balcony and sea view you must be above the terrace where breakfast is served. You will hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have just stayed for 4 nights and we would definitely recommend this hotel. The views from the terraces are beautiful. The hotel is very well situated and an easy walk down to the centre and well placed for easy access to public transport for Amalfi/Sorrento etc. The hotel is well maintained and the staff very helpful. They made restaurant reservations for us and booked our transfer back to Naples for our return home. Breakfast was good -plenty of choice and good coffee. We had a junior suite and on arrival were allocated one on the first floor above the breakfast terrace - lovely room but only partial sea view. On request we were re allocated to room 213, which was slightly smaller but a fantastic open view ( see photo). We were in the main building with a lift so the stairs were no problem at all for luggage.

Room Tip: Higher floors have uninterrupted sea views. Room 213 was a good choice - unless you would be bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitor083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Let me say something in advance: Positano is definitely a must for all Amalfi-Coast-Travelers, BUT please be aware that Positano is really attracting lots of tourists! Furthermore, the weather in Positano can get even hotter than in Amalfi, due to the location in a dry bay.

We stayed at the Marincanto for only one night before leaving to Sorrento and after staying at the Santa Caterina Hotel in Amalfi. To be honest, I would have preffered to stay at the Le Sirenuse (the place to be in Positano), but at prices of 1000 euro per night, this is simply out of the world.

The room was airy, large but did not have much windows, only one towards a public terrace. It seems that we got an upgrade to a Junior Suite or some other large category, The bathroom was also very large with a Jacuzzi tub, but no quality toiletries. The bed was alright for the one night.

During my stay at this hotel, there were only a few (maybe 10) employees, I've seen. So please do not expect Room-Service, excellent front desk abilities, valet parking or porter service. To be fair, the housekeeper did help us with the luggage - the problem: we were travelling through Italy and had 3 bags, which means that we had to take 2 by ourself. No problem at all, as this is a four star hotel!

Breakfast was small and well sorted, good quality and nice service staff. As mentioned above, employees are too less, which causes dirty tables and delays of coffee. If you want to use the pool, you first have to find a free lounge chair, as there are only a few. On the floor of one public terrace there were a lot of ants, which did not make the terrace much attractive, as the view was stunning.

For 220 euros per night including breakfast and upgrade, this was a nice stay but I am happy that I only stayed there one night - the climate in Positano is definitely not my taste!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors (above the reception) do have better views as the rooms in the buildings belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxuryexecutive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Myself and my partner were booked into this hotel as we were travelling on business for a wedding. The room was very clean! The scenery was breath taking and the buffet at breakfast certainly had a lot of variety. The hotel had nice entertainment and on our last night ,we'd enjoyed a live piano performance and treated ourselves to a bottle of red wine.

The only thing I would say about Positano is the expense, it can be quite expensive so just make sure you bring enough money with you. However there's a local cafe that sells bread and cheese for a few euros and the two ladies who run it are very friendly.

Overall we really enjoyed ourselves and we hope to come back again to Positano at some point in the future

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite upon arrival. The views from our private balcony were probably the best views in Positano, which overlook the entire town and ocean The hotel is about a 5 min walk into town, but being away from the "action" makes this hotel more unique, since the hotel is able to provide the guests a private beach. Wonderful breakfast spread and fantastic service. This hotel is not to be missed, as your pictures will be well worth the money spent for the luxury rooms.

Room Tip: don't be cheap and upgrade to a balcony room. They are well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My wife and I can't say enough about this hotel and its happy and helpful staff. In our opinion Positano is the gem of the Amalfi Coast and Marincanto is the gem of Positano. We stayed 5 nights in a spectacular room in the Villa to the left of the main building (looking towards the water)....beautiful garden patio overlooking the town and sea for morning coffee and evening aperitif - peaceful, private location in the hotel, airy, comfortable room, bed and bathroom. Hotel is a stroll up the hill, but the tranquility and view from the location is spectacular - and the walk was a nice time each day to explore the town. Infinity pool is breathtaking, dining patio is romantic and beautiful. From reception to breakfast to pool side, service was exceptional - grazie mille!! We walked through the other top hotels in town and were elated with our decision to stay at Marincanto.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caseyandnicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Property: Hotel Marincanto
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing