We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Hotel Maricanto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Maricanto
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2009

What a fabulous place. We stayed at the Marincanto for a week in July 09 and it was delightful. The staff were so kind and friendly all the time. Always with a beautiful warm polite welcome. Our room was stunning with amazing views, very clean, bright and comfortable.
The Hotel itself is only a 15 min walk into town (down hill) were you can find lots of great restaurants, bars and catch ferries to go to Capri.
The Marincanto in Positano I would recommend to any one but you got to be fit. There is lots of walking to be done but that just means you can eat more :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anthlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maricanto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2009

We stayed at the Marincanto for 10 nights and were disappointed with our room (very small, pooky and the beds were very uncomfortable) not what I'd expect for the rate we paid. Doen't help that the euro is strong at the mo but even if it was weaker we still woundn't be happy paying the rate for what we got (a bad back!)
OK to stay for a couple of days if passing through but that's about it. Breakfast was the same everyday day, not very exciting but good if you're there only for a couple of days.

On the plus side Positano is beautiful and the views from the Marincanto are lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed here for three nights July 2-5, 2009. It was amazing! We arrived at night and they helped us quickly to our room (brought us an aperitvo and gave us great dinner reservation at Bruno's a short walk from the hotel. (By the way a must try....great food and beautiful views) The room was a junior suite with full panoramic views of ocean and positano. I would also stay here on this side because at night the views are better from this side. Our full view room was absolutely wonderful! The views are indescribable as the beauty is breathtaking...even the bathroom had shutters that opened up into the ocean. The staff here are wonderful too...always energetic and helpful. Take the 295 steps down and up (with your coupon from the front desk) to the blue chair beach area. Rent a pair of chairs on the rocks (name in Italian escapes me starts with an "s"). For 10 euro you get best location and service. Swim in the ocean to wake up your senses! This place is great! Stay here and have a great trip :)
Stephanie

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svanderbilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Marincanto for one week at the beginning of July. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly like to return. We booked a “Special Junior Suite” direct with the hotel which was beautiful. The view from the balcony and Jacuzzi bath was very special indeed. The room was large with tasteful furnishings, although no dressing table. There was a very large flat screen TV which took up quite a bit of space. The double Jacuzzi had glass doors that could be opened onto the balcony and had a fantastic view of Positano town. The hotel has two Special Junior suites that are next to each other on the third floor of the main building. The room was just like the pictures on the website. It was kept spotlessly clean with new towels twice a day. Definitely a four star hotel!

There were nearly 300 steep steps down to the beach, an easy and enjoyable walk down but hard work coming back up (don’t forget the sun cream)!! The hotel gardens were very well kept with fantastic plants around every corner. There was plenty of space to relax, and no trouble getting a sun bed.

The staff looked after us very well. They were always very polite and happy to help. Breakfast was continental with plenty of choice. Although there is no restaurant in the hotel they do have a lunch and dinner menu which had a good selection of lighter dishes.

Positano is an expensive place to visit, especially with the low sterling/euro exchange rate at the moment. It is definitely worth it though; it is a truly beautiful place. We enjoyed eating out in the evening and would recommend Bruno’s, Caffe Positano and Lo Guarracino. For our airport transfers we used Johnny’s Taxi Service who were excellent and good value!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sollytear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We just returned from eight nights at Hotel Marincanto, and had a great visit. We stayed in room 203 which is right above the breakfast terrace and has an excellent view. The hotel is on the ocean side of the road and is below street level, so traffic noise is never a problem. Plus, while the hotel is an easy walk to town, it is far enough away to be in a quiet area. The staff are all very helpful and kind, and do whatever it takes to answer questions and assist with travel arrangements. We had to leave at 6 am, and they sent us off with a large bag of snacks and drinks for breakfast and lunch. The hotel is very clean, and the two large terraces are great places to sit and relax. We hope to return to Positano, and will definitely stay at Hotel Marincanto. Other trip comments: We arranged transfers from FCO to Positano and two full day excursions with Tour of Italy. Giancarlo and Giovanni were great drivers and very reasonably priced. We would use them again--www.tourofitaly.com. Also, we enjoyed meals at Bruno, Max, Caffe Positano, and da Vincenzo.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Service was tremendous from check in to check out. The room exceeded our expectations. We expected a decent room with sea views and ended up with a 3 bay suite , 2 balconies and incredible views of the town, beach and sea. The morning breakfast buffet is more than enough to start your day. We rented a car and had no problem with in / out priveleges. The valet car park was included in the room rate. Driving in and around the Amalfi Coast roads and towns off of the coast is a real challenge and not recommended for inexperienced drivers. 10 minute walk to the center of town and another 10 minutes to the beach.
The food was fine at every place we tried -- especially liked the family experience at Brunos, and certainly would go back to Mediterraneo & daVincenzo. Wherever you eat, you must get the lemon sorbetto for dessert.
For hikers, we highly recommend the walk "up" to Nocelle -- it is only 1700 hundred steps through a nature reserve to the top where you find a nice little town and more incredible views. At the end of the walk we hung out and had a drink and a light meal at Risorante Santa Croce. The concierge will give you good directions to the trail head.
Last but not least; if you are interested in a cooking / demonstration experience, book Mama Agata while in the area. It is about a 1 hr drive from Positano and well worth the time and cost. Enjoy

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lgoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Spent 5 nights with my wife in a Special Junior Suite and had the most memorable time. The room had the most fantatstic views and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful with advice and tips regarding what to do and where to go. It is in a great location - easy access to the beach via the private steps but far enough away from the centre of town and the crowds. The breakfast served each morning on the terrace - once again great views - was delicious and plentiful.
I cannot praise this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuinnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
963 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 38 in Positano
890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
794 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maricanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maricanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#10 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £112 - £1,771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maricanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Maricanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing