We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view with so-so amenities ”
Review of Palazzo Talamo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Talamo
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We spent one week at Talamo and enjoyed our stay. First the positives, the view is fabulous, it is in a moderate walk to all of the towns attractions. You can walk to the streets to the water or the 300+ steps. Service was adequate and staff was friendly. Downside is the cramped bathroom, shower in #2 was so small, the soap bar was a reminder of traveling in the late 60's at small hotels. Wifi was poor in the room and better in the lobby. No face/washcloths. Breakfast was good, tiring of the same thing after 6 days! I don't have a comparison, of other places in town, but I would check around.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank fremont5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Talamo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

It would be hard if not impossible to top this great family owned and run hotel.
It is spotlessly clean, in fantastic shape and the staff are all caring and knowledgeable.
The rooms are spacious, and the breakfasts superb.
We found the location great, and a real bonus is that while the view is stunning, the balconies are shaded so you can actually sit outside on the sunniest days and enjoy it.
The only downside of our stay here was that eventually, we had to depart.

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Mesmerising location and helpful staff. The view from the room is something to kill for and we just couldn't get enough of it. The staff also gave us helpful tips on how to go around the town and what to see. The location also offers a good amount of privacy from the tourist hub-bub.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ssj2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This room was so charming we stopped inside the door to take a picture. We even took pictures of the bathroom. Very friendly staff. Restaurant dinner was excellent and included breakfast buffet better than the norm. They no longer charge for WiFi. This was the nicest hotel we stayed at in Italy

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Nice hotel in a great location. The views for the rooms are spectacular but this means that you are a way from the main shopping and Restaruant areas. This means a decent walk up and down stairs but if you are mildly fit this won't be a problem.

The rooms are clean and basically appointed. Our shower (room 2) was broken but once this was raised with the staff it was fixed within a few hours.

The breakfasts are continental style as expected and the service was quick and attentive. The coffee was good......

The parking of our car up in the main car park was handled with ease and it only took around 10 minutes for it to be delivered when we called for it.

My only gripe was that the wifi was not free and the cost to pay for 1 hour was exorbitant. I find this practice of charging for a service that is free in most other places in Positano an interesting one as it forces guests out of the accomodation (where they could be consuming beverages from the bar or food from the restaurant) to other establishments that are more than happy to accept their patronage for a service that in real terms is very very cheap to provide.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Hockfam_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

By Positano standards this hotel is just a short walk up the hill. The views are unbeatable from this quaint hotel. The rooms are simple and the bathroom is tight but you're not in Positano to sit in your room. Great restaurants close by (don't choose the popular tourist ones, walk further up the hill for good, local favorites).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundaisy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Great location. Clean rooms and amazing views from balcony. Restaurants close about ten minute walk to beach. Staff is very friendly. Parking us not included in room rate. We spent four nights and can't wait to return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank peteradina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#31 of 38 in Positano
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#11 of 38 in Positano
617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#8 of 38 in Positano
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#25 of 38 in Positano
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Magia
Villa Magia
#23 of 38 in Positano
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Talamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Talamo

Address: Via Pasitea n. 117, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £133 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Talamo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Talamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Talamo Positano
Palazzo Talamo Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing