We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Buca di Bacco
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$412
US$402
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Prisco Hotel(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$243
US$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montemare(Positano)
US$433
US$411
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Posa Posa(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$406
US$343
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ancora(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$353
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea(Positano)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$257
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$736
US$714
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$839
US$787
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,956
US$1,674
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,317)
Filter reviews
1,317 results
Traveller rating
1,116
169
23
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,116
169
23
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the beachcooking classamalfi coastour honeymoonporter servicehotel restaurantperfect locationsea viewyour luggagewonderful hotelwould highly recommend this hotellarge terracepastriesloved this hotellounge chairsfew stepsevery morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,036 - 1,041 of 1,317 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2007

As my wife and I were celebrating our 30th anniversary, we splurged on a superior double; it was worth every penny of the not-cheap 325 euro price tag. Our room was huge (gigantic might be a more appropriate word), with a fabulous, also huge and very private balcony overlooking the waterfront (high enough above it to afford splendid views of the city and give us complete privacy). We left the large sliding-door windows wide open while we slept and enjoyed listening to the waves hitting the shoreline. The room was old, including an older bathroom; but that mattered little to us. Especially given how crowded and touristy Positano is (both in a "good" way), it was great to be able to retreat to this spacious, private oasis in the middle of it all. The place is exceptionally well run. Breakfast is quite good. Everything you've read about Francesco is true. We arrived late our first evening and the next day, in a crowd of people at the front desk, he knew our name. He couldn't be more gracious. The hotel has several nice touches we have rarely found elsewhere. We were doing emails in the bar-lounge area and a waiter asked if we'd like something to drink. We asked for mineral water and he brought it free of charge. We departed very early our last morning (5 a.m.) and were amazed to find coffee delivered to our door beforehand. A very classy operation. The one touch we missed: there were no terrycloth robes in the bathroom, something we like and might expect to find in this price range. That's a small quibble, however, about a fine hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank KEW15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2007

We are a 60 year-old couple traveling independently in Italy for the first time. Our 3 week trip was arranged by a travel agent. We requested standard double rooms in smaller, interesting hotel. The hotels knew we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary.

This hotel is a wonderful find. And find is the operative word if you are driving. You drive into Centro, drive down until you start up again. At that point there is a parking garage where you leave your car. You then walk down about a block to the hotel. Porters will bring your bags to you.

The hotel is lovely. The room we had 15 was small, with no balcony and no view. Both the room and the bathroom were clean and well appointed. My only disappointment was asking for an upgrade. The young woman who showed us our room said she would check and get back to me, but I didn't receive the courtesy of a response. A small thing, but nevertheless not good customer service. I would not reccommend this room.

The hotel has really nice public spaces. The bar area where breakfast is served has both indoor and outdoor seating. The view is beautiful. We not only enjoyed the breakfast, but a drink on the patio before dinner. The hotel also has a rooftop garden, perfect for an afternoon with a book.

The hotel offered several nice extras. We received coupons for a free drink in the bar, a 10% discount on food in the restaurant and free internet service, a rarity in Europe.

The location is perfect. There is a beach area immediately in front of the hotel. For 5 euros each we got a beach chaise, a very nice gentleman offered to get us drinks from the restaurant just behind the beach and he gave us a card good for a 15% discount on food and drink and that restaurant and it's sister next door. A very good value. The beach is not like Caribbean beaches, sand is mostly pebbles and, at the end of September, the water was a little too cold for us, but we had fun watching the people and relaxing in the sun. Pedestrian walkways go up from the hotel, There are many interesting shops and restaurants as well as a wonderful bakery and small grocery store.

As far as the hotel's customer service is concerned, I've saved the best for last. We checked out on Saturday morning, got the car and drove south to Lecce. Just outside of Salerno, we realized we'd left several items in a drawer at the hotel. I called immediately. The hotel had already found the items. We asked if they could be mailed to our next stop in Lecce, where we would be for a week. The hotel agreed and on Tuesday afternoon our package arrived in Lecce. When I asked how I would be billed, Buca told me to "just mail a check when you get home". I was very impressed with the competent way this was handled. It speaks well for the hotel.

I would definitey return to this hotel and stay for a much longer time.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LindaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2007

Our 4th visit to Positano and to the Buca di Bacco, so something must be good. This year we had room 34 with a great terrace with THAT view.As usual the room was spotless(where do they find their staff?) and Francesco remembered us from our previous visits.We had to make some train booking for friends and Laura could not have been more helpful and accommodating,why can't all hotels have staff like that?
Breakfast on the terrace is somehing to remember and I challenge anyone to walk away feeling hungry. The same terrace is also a great place to call in after having dinner in one of the many close by restaurants, for a glass (or three) of limoncello.
Probably one of the best hotels we stayed in in Italy, it's so good I have asked for a job in the restaurant! (seriously I have)

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank Italianate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

When you get to Positano, you only need to know how to say three things: Hotel Bucca di Bacco, Francesco ( the Manager), and Arturo (the restaurant maistro). It's like being on the front row and backstage at the same time. Walking out on your terrace and being able to talk to your children on the beach? 360 degrees of world class beauty? Priceless ! Our extended family consider Bucca di Bacco a family tradition destination. With Arturo Terminiello making the restaurant feel like home, we had all but two evening meals in a two week stay in the hotel restaurant-- each and every one outstanding. Our children haven't been tolerated-- they feel at home too. In all the times we've stayed there, I can't remember anything that the staff not only made possible -- but effortless. When you get to the restaurant, tell Arturo hello from Digger, and ask what he suggests.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Diggermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

Just returned from my Honeymoon and everything about the Buca was PERFECT!!! The location is ideal, right near the beach - you are high enough up that don't hear the people below, but close enough to hear the ocean. Our room was great - spacious with a wonderful terrace - incredible views!!! The absolute best part of the Buca is the staff - they are friendly, helpful and kind at all times!!! I would recommend it to anyone and I cannot wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Megswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews