We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Positano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Positano”
Reviewed 8 November 2007

This hotel was the last on our Honeymoon. We enjoyed everything about the Buca Di Bacco, from its location the friendly helpful staff. Breakfast was wonderful, lot of different things to chose, you never left hungry. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Evie374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    160
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
202
786
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast, NSW
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

What a shame we had only planned one night at this hotel in Positano. It was a little difficult to find and we ended up going around the town twice before we found it but it was well worth it. We had a magnificent room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The night we were there, there was a violent tropical-like storm and it was quite a sight to watch the lightning over the town and beach from our balcony. Positano is a very quaint place and we were very disappointed we hadn't planned more time there. The hotel staff were very helpful and breakfast was excellent. The only drawback was the location of the parking garage and the expense of leaving the car there plus the high cost to use the porter service. However we wouldn't hesitate to go back to this lovely hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CLL040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

We have stayed at Buca di Bacco in Positano many times and have enjoyed it more and more. A great location, right on the water’s edge. The staff is excellent with that extra touch, “tocca si piu”, that makes you feel special.

Special mention goes to the concierge, Francesco Di Martino, and our favorite waiter, Arturo Terminiello. Francesco can help you with whatever plans you have. Arturo can suggest delightful meals and quickly discovers your preferences. With all the great restaurants in Positano, we seldom eat anywhere else.

  • Liked — Food, staff and rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CamilloR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

My wife and I stayed three nights at this hotel and loved it! The staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast on the terrace was to die for. We paid extra for a room with a sea view and it was worth every euro.

Our room had its own balcony and the view was stunning. The first morning there I came out of the bathroom into the spacious bedroom and it was one of those "is this for real?" moments."

We parked our rental car at 20 euros a day but if we go there again, and we hope we do, we'd go by train or bus.

There is a real contrast in Positano between all the little restaurants and boutiques and the fact that within minutes you can be walking in the bush on tracks up into the hills above the town.

We found eating not as expensive as we were lead to believe as a couple of nights we ate salads with items bought from one from one of the small local shops and fruit stalls along with a bottle of wine bought likewise. You can eat cheaply even in Positano.

Fresh beach towels from the hotel were a nice touch.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gavatron07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2007

I'm not one to go out of my way to write reviews on anything, however I felt obligated to write one for the Buca di Bacco! We just got back from our honeymoon, staying 7 days. Every positive review we read before booking the hotel was right on!! Between the location, amentities, room, breakfast on the terrace, how EXTREMELY friendly and helpful the staff was, we couldn't have asked for more. The location is perfect!!! Right in the middle of everything! And especially if you plan to take the boats to Capri, Sorrento, Amalfi, etc. It's so convenient!!! Plus the beach is right there!! It's a no brainer! =)

  • Liked — Convenient and friendliness
  • Disliked — Bedding/Bed not that comfortable - but that's normal in Italy
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank I-Wonder-35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

As my wife and I were celebrating our 30th anniversary, we splurged on a superior double; it was worth every penny of the not-cheap 325 euro price tag. Our room was huge (gigantic might be a more appropriate word), with a fabulous, also huge and very private balcony overlooking the waterfront (high enough above it to afford splendid views of the city and give us complete privacy). We left the large sliding-door windows wide open while we slept and enjoyed listening to the waves hitting the shoreline. The room was old, including an older bathroom; but that mattered little to us. Especially given how crowded and touristy Positano is (both in a "good" way), it was great to be able to retreat to this spacious, private oasis in the middle of it all. The place is exceptionally well run. Breakfast is quite good. Everything you've read about Francesco is true. We arrived late our first evening and the next day, in a crowd of people at the front desk, he knew our name. He couldn't be more gracious. The hotel has several nice touches we have rarely found elsewhere. We were doing emails in the bar-lounge area and a waiter asked if we'd like something to drink. We asked for mineral water and he brought it free of charge. We departed very early our last morning (5 a.m.) and were amazed to find coffee delivered to our door beforehand. A very classy operation. The one touch we missed: there were no terrycloth robes in the bathroom, something we like and might expect to find in this price range. That's a small quibble, however, about a fine hotel.

  • Liked — Spacious room and large, private balcony. Excellent, attentive staff.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank KEW15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Croix, USVI
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

We are a 60 year-old couple traveling independently in Italy for the first time. Our 3 week trip was arranged by a travel agent. We requested standard double rooms in smaller, interesting hotel. The hotels knew we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary.

This hotel is a wonderful find. And find is the operative word if you are driving. You drive into Centro, drive down until you start up again. At that point there is a parking garage where you leave your car. You then walk down about a block to the hotel. Porters will bring your bags to you.

The hotel is lovely. The room we had 15 was small, with no balcony and no view. Both the room and the bathroom were clean and well appointed. My only disappointment was asking for an upgrade. The young woman who showed us our room said she would check and get back to me, but I didn't receive the courtesy of a response. A small thing, but nevertheless not good customer service. I would not reccommend this room.

The hotel has really nice public spaces. The bar area where breakfast is served has both indoor and outdoor seating. The view is beautiful. We not only enjoyed the breakfast, but a drink on the patio before dinner. The hotel also has a rooftop garden, perfect for an afternoon with a book.

The hotel offered several nice extras. We received coupons for a free drink in the bar, a 10% discount on food in the restaurant and free internet service, a rarity in Europe.

The location is perfect. There is a beach area immediately in front of the hotel. For 5 euros each we got a beach chaise, a very nice gentleman offered to get us drinks from the restaurant just behind the beach and he gave us a card good for a 15% discount on food and drink and that restaurant and it's sister next door. A very good value. The beach is not like Caribbean beaches, sand is mostly pebbles and, at the end of September, the water was a little too cold for us, but we had fun watching the people and relaxing in the sun. Pedestrian walkways go up from the hotel, There are many interesting shops and restaurants as well as a wonderful bakery and small grocery store.

As far as the hotel's customer service is concerned, I've saved the best for last. We checked out on Saturday morning, got the car and drove south to Lecce. Just outside of Salerno, we realized we'd left several items in a drawer at the hotel. I called immediately. The hotel had already found the items. We asked if they could be mailed to our next stop in Lecce, where we would be for a week. The hotel agreed and on Tuesday afternoon our package arrived in Lecce. When I asked how I would be billed, Buca told me to "just mail a check when you get home". I was very impressed with the competent way this was handled. It speaks well for the hotel.

I would definitey return to this hotel and stay for a much longer time.

  • Liked — Location and public spaces
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 39 in Positano
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
868 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Property: Hotel Buca di Bacco
Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing