We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location; great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
West, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location; great staff”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We booked this hotel for an anniversary trip to Italy. We stayed here 5 nights (superior ocean view room) and were extremely impressed with every part of this hotel. It is rather expensive (350 euros/night) but the place is the whole package. The view from the room and balcony is stunning. The room was fairly large and included a couch and sitting area along with a nice balcony with tables, chairs, and lounges. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast, which was included and it was served as a buffet on the hotel terrace which overlooks the beach, was excellent. The staff was helpful with everything. They even arranged a private car to bring us from the Naples airport as well as a return car and train tickets from Naples to Rome. We'll be back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 631robl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    159
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
197
775
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I had a lovely time at this hotel. I was very happy with my room and view after upgrading to a superior room. It was worth the extra fees. The central location on the beach was fabulous. The only complaint I had was the climb up many layers of large steps to get to the hotel. Not for elderly or out of shape travelers!!!

Room Tip: Superior room with balcony is at least a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed here at the end of our 10 Italy vacation. The view from our room with balcony overlooking the beach was wonderful. We kept taking photos as the view was great. Morning buffet was good as well with many selections especially homemade pastries and fresh mozzarella. Room was large compare to other hotels we had stayed. Restaurants, shopping, quaint church, beach is all there. Be prepared to do some walking to get to the hotel and porters will come and get your bags. Also be prepared to stay close to the hotel as traveling is not the easiest as road to and from hotel is daunting.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I had stopped one day in Positano while we were on a Med. cruise a few years ago and we vowed we would come back some day. So, our chance came up to add a few days of R&R after a 10 ten tour of Sorrento and Amalfi. It was brilliant!!! Read the other reviews to hear about the walk up and down the hill, this report is all about the hotel. First the hotel is immaculate, even with a down-pour outside they kept it clean as a whistle. The front desk staff was wonderful, they even upgraded our room for the first night because we had to wait a bit. Our first room was right out of an Italian movie: sky high ceilings, lovely tile floors, a marble bathroom with EVERY thing you would ever want, and water pressure galore! The patio doors opened onto a deck that could handle a 20 person party, and it was surrounded by bougainvillea for privacy. When they told us the next day we were to be moved to our regular room I thought "oh well at least we got one night in a great room"...boy was I wrong. Our next room (they did all the moving for us very nicely), was even better than the first. To enter our second room you had to walk through the front garden area which was enchanting!Through the garden and up two steps, your welcomed by two large green shutter doors that is actually the entrance to your room. We even had a bride taking pictures here one day. This room mimicked the first in its impeccable decor, high ceilings, amazing bathroom, and ocean views. Truthfully I thought this room had more charm than the first. Admittedly I review a lot but I hardly ever gush...I'm gushing now!!! The next time we are in Positano (which will happen), you can find me right here, just look for the girl with a big smile and a glass of wine in hand.

Room Tip: Ocean view as as good (if not better) than ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiliyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed (2 couples) for 3 nights recently. The rooms, views, food, and service were wonderful. Only 5 minute walk to boat to Capri. Like others have said going down to hotel (it is at sea level) thru the village shops was fun but the walk up was a struggle. Like others said let porters take luggage up to top where cabs, etc. will meet you.

Room Tip: Ask for superior rooms on 4th floor. Balcony has room for table, 2 chairs and 2 deck chairs. Incre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepperpot53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

They're not bad referees for a resume. They all stayed here and Steinbeck's response to the Nobel congratulatory note from the owners of the Buca at the time says, "I'd rather be sitting in front of the Buca. That would be better than a prize." High praise indeed but still well deserved. Welcoming, friendly, excellent restaurant and a great breakfast on the most beautiful balcony, clean, well apportioned and fitted rooms - I could go on. I need to add - a bit on the high side for price but we knew what we were getting in to.

Room Tip: The lift is a little slow so ask for Level 1 or 2 so you only need to use one lift, not two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayville, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our honeymoon stay at Buca di Bacco was perfect from start to finish. When you arrive someone from the hotel meets you to take your luggage since there are no cars allowed in that part of the town. The staff was english speaking and very courteous. They allowed us to check in early which was very helpful. Our room was accessible by elevator and had it's own outside terrace. Inside there was a spacious room with plenty of storage for luggage so you could unpack and feel at home. There was a writing desk, a television, a queen sized bed, and a very spacious bathroom with a large bathtub and plenty of toiletries. Beach towels were also provided in case you wanted to go to the beach which was directly below the hotel, just a few steps away. The restaurant was amazing, and there is also a bar where you can purchase gelato, alcoholic beverages, and soft drinks or water. There is a fragrance diffuser in the hallway of the hotel, and the scent is called "Mellograno" - it smelled amazing and we even bought our own smaller version to take home, so now our bathroom smells like Buca di Bacco :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jeanniegraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
845 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Property: Hotel Buca di Bacco
Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing