We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in Positano” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best hotel in Positano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

no doubt that Buca di Bacco is the best hotel in Positano.
Best location than any hotel, staff super friendly. Rooms impeccably clean.
The restaurant served very good pasta and breakfast was great.
If I return to Positano will certainly stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: get a row with sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    152
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
184
743
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I recently had the privilege of staying with my daughter at the Buca di Bacco in Positano. Having been to the Amalfi coast twice before, I had an idea of how the hotels run and what kind of decor etc to expect. Not only did the Buca di Bacco meet this expectation, it greatly out weighed it.

From the moment we checked in until the moment we left, we were always shown the utmost respect and friendliness from EVERY staff member. Our room was immaculately clean and was decorated in rich but friendly furnishings. The linen was generous, the bathroom was large, the bed was comfortable, the view panoramic and the noise from other guests etc inaudible. Breakfast was a large array of fruits, cereals, small goods, italian cakes and crusty breads. Fresh juices and bottled waters were available and the coffee of a high standard.

All service throughout our stay was quick and delivered with a good attitude. My daughter and I felt, no request on our behalf was too much to ask, and unlike a lot of hotels around the world, it was refreshing to see that all staff members including cleaning staff and chefs, were local which added to the personal touch and feel.

I spoke to a few people about their jobs and job satisfaction and the response was always the same, they enjoyed working there.

A BIG, BIG thank you to all staff at Buca di Bacco for making our trip so memorable that we were reduced to tears on departure. We felt we were leaving family.

Thank you Luigi Capriglione for being such a good listener to our tales every evening at pre and post dinner drinks. I'm sure you've heard the same stories from many other people who frequent your hotel and do the same tourist things we did however, you made us feel we were the first ones.

Future Buca di Bacco patrons, don't stay anywhere else when in Positano. We won't!!!

Room Tip: If you want an unforgettable view ask for the Terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peachespeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely hotel. We stayed in a deluxe room with large terrace. It was perfect in every way. Great location, staff was super friendly and helpful. Rooms were impeccably clean. Amazing views and loved the decor. Our room looked like it had recently been re-done. Loved the bright colors. The patio was a great size and the view was incredible. The daily breakfast was very, very good. Breakfast staff were great as well. Loved the fresh OJ machine. It was quite entertaining and delish. Could not imagine staying anywhere else in Positano.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NFPaTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELCO, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just beautiful! We decided to get a room without a seaview which was just fine. Our room had a nice bathroom with a garden tub, shower, and double sink. Each morning, we were able to eat breakfast at a table for two on the balcony just off of the breakfast buffet that had a lovely view of Capri. I had at least two cups of capuccino both mornings which were served by pleasant and attentive staff. Since we were only staying for two nights, we ate at the hotel restaurant (yum!) and attended the wonderful cooking class (fun!) for our next dinner. I really wished that I had booked this hotel for 3+ nights. It was very relaxing in Positano and warm in October. This is a great place to get gifts at the end of your trip to Italy.

I must mention that the staff went above and beyond the call of duty for us. We left something behind in our room. We were notified before we even realized our oversight and they arranged to have it sent to our hotel in Rome. It arrived safe and sound before we departed to go back home. Bravo for exceptional service at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank art2wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This may be the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are large and luxurious. The superior ocean view room is slightly expensive, but TOTALLY worth it. We were in room #45 (rooms #43, #44, #45, #46 are all the same) and had a large patio with a table, 2 chairs, and 2 lounge chairs. We would sit outside every morning and night watching the sunrise and set. Pictures don't do justice for the views you will experience. We spent a lot of time in the room and only the balcony, since this was the last part of our vacation and we just wanted to relax. The included breakfast buffet is great. The staff are friendly. The location is perfect, right on the beach and near all the shops/restaurants. We will be back again!

Room Tip: Rooms #43, 44, 45, 46 have the best views and the full patio to sit/lay on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

All the reviews on this hotel are right! Our room was well decorated and very clean. The staff were very helpful arranging transportation, day trips and making dinner reservations. We were choosing between this hotel and The Sirenuse. Save your money and stay here. The views are the same and you can stay in a suite for less than you can stay in a regular room at The Sirenuse. If you want more bang for your buck, stay here, you won't regret it. My only caution: you do have to climb steps, no big deal if you are in decent shape. Not good if you are elderly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBrooks30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We booked this hotel for an anniversary trip to Italy. We stayed here 5 nights (superior ocean view room) and were extremely impressed with every part of this hotel. It is rather expensive (350 euros/night) but the place is the whole package. The view from the room and balcony is stunning. The room was fairly large and included a couch and sitting area along with a nice balcony with tables, chairs, and lounges. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast, which was included and it was served as a buffet on the hotel terrace which overlooks the beach, was excellent. The staff was helpful with everything. They even arranged a private car to bring us from the Naples airport as well as a return car and train tickets from Naples to Rome. We'll be back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#12 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Property: Hotel Buca di Bacco
Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing