We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Very Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at the Buca di Bacco based on local Italian friends. The hotel location is great only a few steps away from the beach and ferry dock, and also just a few steps away from shops and good restaurants. The staff were very attentive and very helpful with suggestions for things to do and places to go. The only negative aspect about the hotel is the two elevators you have to take to your room since the buildings are separated from one another along the cliff of the city. One day the elevator was out, which made for a very circuitous route back to the lobby of the hotel: not very efficient. The breakfasts were excellent and the morning wait staff very attentive: since we were in Positano in April it was a bit cold to sit outside in the morning, but I can tell in warmer weather the patio breakfasts would be awesome. All in all it was a very pleasurable experience for our first time in Positano. For the price the room was a bit small but we had a great view. On our next visit, however, I may search out alternative places to stay. Perhaps that's just me...the hotel was very nice.

Room Tip: We chose the least expensive room with a view of the beach, and the room was quite small but the vie...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Buca di Bacco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights in a deluxe suite here. It was fantastic. The room was terrific and the view from our large balcony was spectacular.

Our rule is if you can't see and hear the water, you are not at the beach and this hotel did not disappoint.

Service was excellent.

To be fair we need to say this is more a large room than a suite In a uk/us/Australian context. There is no separate living area, there is a seperate shower (with an amazing view!) and bathroom, with a small dressing area in between. The lack of separate living area did not concern us at all, but it's good to know what you are getting.

We didn't see anywhere in Positano that looked a better place to stay than this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KK_M_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights (room 28). We had a great balcony with sea view. The room was very clean and the breakfasts were great.
The hotel is not located next to a road and you have to get there by foot. There is also a small tv (21") in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel is located right at the beach front. It is the best choice if you plan to travel by boat to neighboring areas (Capri, Amalfi, and Sorrento) whilst being based in Positano.

We couldn’t have asked for more. We absolutely loved the hotel. The staff was always happy to assist you with a smile. The breakfast was plentiful for a European hotel (so many desserts, and yes there were scrambled eggs and bacon!)

We picked a room with a patio and it didn’t fail to impress. The room and the bathroom were clean and spacious. Most of our time in the room was actually spent at the patio during the day, so I would have to agree with previous reviewers that rooms with patio are worth every penny.

The room also had heating and air-conditioning should the temperature changed. During our stay we had to resort both the A/C and the heater.

It was an amazing stay overall and we already are looking forward to come back!

Room Tip: Proximity to the beach means easier access via boat. Arrivals from the street is a bit trickier as t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tonnellato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Post card view, perfect location, lovely, welcoming and helpful staff. Breakfast on the terrace each morning and talking with sweet and friendly Chantal, beverage (and soccer game) with Matt the evening we arrived. Three nights at Buca di Bacco was quite a way to start a three-week vacation in Italy! We highly recommend it, and to use it as a base to visit other local areas -- we took a day tour of Amalfi and Ravello, then returned to paradise at Bucs di Bacco! Could not have been more pleased.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony you can lean out on. We had a balcony which has a table, two chairs and t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent a week at Hotel Buca di Bacco the first week of October 2013 for our honeymoon. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. The staff if wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The location and view are just perfect. The view from the balcony is breath taking. The complimentary breakfast on the terrace each morning is wonderful. There are many, many restaurants within walking distance that were all great-we couldn't get enough of the food! End of September/beginning of October is a great time of the year to go. Tourist season is slowing down...it really wasn't crowded; never had to wait for a table at any restaurant and plenty of open chairs on the beach. The weather was perfect, warm enough for swimsuits and sun bathing during the day and just a little chill in the air at night. Perfect, perfect vacation! Do the walk of the gods!! Favorite restaurant- Al Palazzo-short walk from hotel, beautiful romantic garden setting, amazing food, and excellent service. We ate there twice! Amazing trip-highly recommend the Hotel Buca di Bacco-can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Corner room on left side of building facing water-our terrace of big and private-amazing view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hwils002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We chose this hotel because it was not high on the hill and beach level. But little did we know that in Positano everything is on a hill. You either have to go up or go down. As beautiful as the place is it is also very exhausting. This Hotel was simply beautiful. The Italian tile all through the hotel was simple beautiful. We got the best room with a balcony that was able to serve as a dinning room for six. We would go out and buy all kinds of delish Italian deli foods and lunch right on the patio. The breakfast was fantastic and complementary as were the drinks the first night. We had dinner under the stars overlooking this magnificent bay with all the boats moored of the shore. Our friends had smaller rooms but they had the same views. I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I wanted the patio so we got the highest priced room. It was fabulous and worth every penny. When...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank NonnaG143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 38 in Positano
1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £185 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing