We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and honest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We loved everything about our stay at this lovely hotel in beautiful Positano. Room 20 is quite pretty and has a generous balcony with a great view. The staff is calm and poised, helpful and attentive. Don't miss the baba dessert in the restaurant, even if you think you don't like dessert or alcoholic cakes - you'll love it anyway (it's not for kids, though!)

I foolishly wore an expensive gold necklace on the plane, and misplaced it on the trip. We called the hotel from the Rome airport as we were departing, and were told that the necklace had been found. Staff member Maria Trufo sent it to me at home within days. If I knew the name of the staff member who turned the necklace in I would post it also. That kind of honesty and conscientiousness is hard to find. Outstanding service, all around.

Room Tip: We loved room 20, but our friends in room 19 (which has the adjoining balcony) were disturbed by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joylabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 1,304 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is my second stay at this hotel. The deluxe rooms are amazing ,service is very personal and of a very high standard. This hotel has the best location in Positano and one of the best restaurants in the area

Room Tip: Get a duper deluxe room 30 to 36
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel ranks alongside our other best hotel in the world (One and Only, Residence and Spa in Dubai).
We stayed here for a week in early June and had the most wonderful time. The staff at this hotel are simply the best. From chamber maid to receptionist, every member of the hotel staff were friendly, helpful and always with a smile. Salvatorie and Chantal, our breakfast waiter/waitress were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Lorenzo, Mario and all the staff on reception were fantastic. Lorenzo recommended some wonderful restaurants in Positano and booked the best tables for us at each one. We even asked the reception staff to source 10kg of lemons to take back to Tuscany with us to make Limoncello....they delivered!
We chose an Executive room at the hotel and we were not disappointed (Room 32). A beautifully decorated room with a separate sitting area and a huge terrace with sun beds and a table for 4. The bed was a little firm but the chamber maid made good with a mattress topper which meant comfort as we fell asleep to the sound of waves on the beach.
This hotel is wonderful and in our view the best in Positano in terms of position, staff, charm and sheer class. Book a room and you won't be disappointed. Note: The hotel restaurant is fantastic as are the waiters and the portion sizes!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view. The more you pay the bigger the room and the balcony. Room 32 is an E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shapcabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We chose Buca di Bacco from Tripadvisor reviews and have been absolutely delighted. The staff are very good, both friendly and eager to assist. The location is one of the best, central yet a bit removed and with stunning views from the rooms as well as the restaurant. The restaurant is another very good reason to stay here. Food is one of our highest priorities when we travel and the dining here is an excellent blend of casual and gourmet. Very high quality cooking and service without pretensions. Our room (#43) has a stunning view from the large patio, and is beautifully appointed and decorated. The washrooms are large, great showers and spotless. Highly recommended on all fronts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay at hotel. Setting was gorgeous and the room clean and comfortable. possibly the best view in Positano. Staff friendly and helpful. Don't expect to get an early night, noisy outside until late.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I highly recommend buca di bacco restaurant. We had a beautiful meal by the beach with family. The staff are lovely and happy to recommend the best dishes. The fried calamari was the best we have ever had, yes a big call! It is reasonably priced and you will not regret.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

My family (me, my wife and our 3 children) spent 4 nights at the hotel and highly recommend it.

Positano is build on the side of a steep hill that drops sharply into the ocean. At the bottom of the hill and right on the beach are only a few hotels and all are high-end. Buca di Bacco is the best of these hotels.

Our rooms (#36 & #37) were large, immaculate and had great views from the large terraces.

We ate several meals at the restaurant and were very pleased with the quality of the food and professionalism of the service. I suggest eating on the upper, open-air portion of the restaurant, particularly at night. The atmosphere was very romantic, which was no mean feat considering we had our 3 children with us.

One quirk that was not a problem, but worth noting is that the hotel is made up of several buildings which are at different elevations. This meant that there was no way to walk through the hotel without using a series of elevators, stairs and corridors.

A few other recommendations:
- hike the Pathway of the Gods
- use Zia Lucy (Lucia) as your hiking guide
- use Positano Drivers (Nancy or Angelo) for all of your driving needs.
- take a private boat (That's Amore) charter from Blue Star for a tour of the Amalfi coast and ask that Peppe be your driver.
- skip the visit to Capri. It does not offer anything that is not available in Positano, is more expensive, and takes up an entire day.

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank Brett R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
818 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
904 reviews
0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 38 in Positano
1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#6 of 38 in Positano
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: £256 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing