We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming but flawed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming but flawed.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked Buca di Bacco based on many of the reviews we found on TripAdvisor. On first impressions the hotel was quite nice. A typical Italian 4 star place with small rooms and charm by the sea, pretty much what we expected. However, after first impressions, the story was a little different.

The room was fine but unfortunately it wasn't very clean, there was quite a but of dirt on the floor and a brown ring around the bathtub, this ring wasn't cleaned until I did it on the second day. The power in the room didn't work for a full day. There was also no WiFi signal in our room for 80% of our stay. The quality of the furnishings varies quite a lot too, a lot of it is typical Amalfi style painted white with blue accents, very seaside appropriate. Some of it was disgusting however, the phone in the room was filthy and my bedside lamp looked like it was glued together with bodily fluids.

I don't mind bad hotels so long as they're clean, this was an average hotel that was dirty. I should have known walking in as there was an overwhelming smell of "Glade" room freshener that was clearly covering up the scent of sewage in the main hallway leading to the elevator.

On a positive note, the Buca di Bacco is (almost) right on the water and that's really it.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: The lower rooms are brighter than the upper rooms. They're all dark and dingy but more-so upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucadibacco, Proprietario at Hotel Buca di Bacco, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
I enjoy to reply,

We look very surprised by this review, in fact during his stay the Guest never appeared to be dissatisfied and nothing complained with us at the reception desk, in any case every note written in this review could have been explained and justified on site, we will never know what did it happened after the departure.
We are deeply sorry if the Guest was not satisfied, when we are informed about some problem we always try to satisfy every question offering an explanation or finding a solution when possible, in any case I have pleasure to reply:
- Small rooms? We have 47 rooms with 7 kind of rooms category all different from each other, sizes and prices are well displayed in our web site!
- After the departure, when miles away from the hotel and often protected by anonymity everybody feels free to write whatever he wants but a dirty floor or bathtub or every other kind of problem, to be credible must be claimed to the reception as soon as possible upon the arrival;
- The full day without power it is something impossible, in the event of black out the power in the hotel is guaranteed by a full independent electric generator, unfortunately in that week we have experienced severe storms and lightning in Positano that have caused several black out for no more than 4 minutes each time, this is the operating time to switch the power on and off from the hotel generator to the public electric supplier and vice versa, this operation is fully automatic;
- The partial absence of WiFi signal was due to the storm and many lightning had burned some of the Wi-Fi switch in the hotel, we had to wait for the replacement from Naples, anyway for urgent connection we have a 24 hours free internet desk in the reception;
- The phone was totally clean, it had only some signs of wear in the slot receiver;
- Why no pictures were posted regarding the declared disgusting furniture?
- The bedside lamp was broken the day before their arrival and due to the hurry for the new arrival, we agree that it was made a bad fixing using American glue by Saratoga, not at all bodily fluids like unkindly reported!
- The scent of sewage in the main hallway is a complaint we cannot accept, maybe some humidity smell was in the air due to the hard rain we suffered at that time in our town, anyway in this hallway there is nothing that can produce some kind of unpleasant smell, no bathrooms, no pipes under the floor or in the ceiling, nothing in the walls, nothing at all! Only a big window open on the public pedestrian road below the hotel. Every hotel in the world is using scents in public areas and no one thinks it is to cover the smell of something else, in our case the “overwhelming smell” was not Glade but it was from a big glass bottle by “Dr. Vranjes pomegranate perfume”, this is very well appreciated by all of our guests from many years and very often they enquire for the shop where is it possible to buy it, it is also diffused all over the lobby too.
- Every day we have hundreds of people walking up and down this hallway to reach the lift to the rooms, can you explain why nobody has never made or written a similar complaint! If you like you can read our 736 reviews.
- We thank for the positive note we are right on the water but please, this is not our only positive one!
- Salvatore Rispoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    156
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
189
761
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our family of seven recently stayed at the beautiful Hotel Buca di Bacco in Positano, Italy. Our three hotel rooms were all absolutely perfect! Very clean and spacious. The views of the Mediterranean Sea from our balconies were unbelievably gorgeous. The hotel staff were all very professional and helpful. The hotel is situated just a few steps from the beach, shops and restaurants. The ferry dock is also right outside of the hotel making it easy to take a day trip to the Island of Capri. We looked at many hotels online before we chose the Hotel Buca di Bacco. After staying in Positano......we are so happy we chose Hotel Buca di Bacco! Make sure to ask for a room with a view!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Skyskg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Look no further than Buca di Bacco if you are planning a trip to Positano. Our stay here could not have been better - it was amazing from check in to check out.

After spending 9 days touring Rome, Venice and Florence, we were looking forward to our 6 relaxing nights on the beach. Knowing we would spend a lot of time in the room, we splurged on an executive double room that was absolutely perfect. The room was airy, spotless and perfectly appointed. We had a large terrace with a round table, a bench and two loungers. We spent the most time out on our terrace reading and sitting in the sun.

The hotel is located just steps from the beach and near chic little shops and restaurants. The staff was lovely, with everyone going above and beyond. The gentleman working breakfast each morning always made us feel welcome and was quick with our double espresso and cappuccino. There is a machine that squeezes fresh OJ. Do not miss that.

We needed to see a doctor one day and the hotel was able to arrange for someone to come within 20 minutes. I needed help using the lobby Mac since all the commands were in Italian and they walked me through everything.

One word of warning concerning the beach: It is extremely rocky and painful to walk on - both on the shore and in the water. If you plan to spend a lot of time on the beach it is worth packing (or purchasing) water shoes.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive double for a large room, spacious terrace and breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J and M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you plan a stay in Positono, don't miss this hotel. The staff was very professional. This was the best part of our 13-day visit to Italy. The Terrace Restuarant was fantastic. You'll need to hire the porter service to get your luggage down to the hotel, but you won't regret staying here once you are checked in.

Room Tip: Get a terrace room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is beautiful and the location is perfect.You are situated right next to the beach and ferry port.The staff were lovely and helpful with everything. Nice breakfast.We recommend to go to Le Tre Sorelle restaurant next to the hotel. Great food and service.Our opinion this hotel is good value price-quality compare with other 4-5* hotels in Positano. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slavinna022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I took the train from Rome to Napoli and were picked up by Marco (arranged by hotel) and started what turned out to be a beautiful four days. Once in Positano, it's a 5 minute walk from the drop off to the hotel down hill towards the beach and thus if you have heavy bags I suggest using a porter of which there are many there. We were greeted at reception by Lorenzo who has been there for 22 years and almost immediately we felt the friendliness which gave us a quick flavor of what to expect. Upon entering a room (#28) we were both awed at the bright, cheery, clean room with a small veranda with a breath taking view. I assure you would not be a bit dissapointed with anything in your room. I suggest getting a room with a view since the view is simply breathtaking and you will have time to enjoy it sitting on the balcony chairs. Breakfast in the morning is a treat. With eggs, bacon, toast, fruit, pastries etc served, the service is second to none. Salvatore's service was exquisite in making sure you had a good table with a cup of fresh cappuccino. Chantele had a smile that could launch a thousand ships each morning and was so eager to please everyone. She's getting married soon and will be honeymooning in LA and Vegas soon. Breakfast was served on a terrace overlooking the sea ...... simply breathtaking. Dinner on the terrace was exquisite and priced reasonably. I loved the grilled sea bass with a glass of Buca di Bacco's own wine. (I actually had a repeat of this exact dinner the following evening since it was do delicious)

We used a car service arranged by the hotel getting too and from our hotel which removed many of the train/ferry/ bus hassles. Marco, our driver, played romantic Italian music all along the way in a comfy Benz while explaining what we were seeing along the way. It was well worth a few incremental dollars over the cost of the alternative transportation.

We would gladly return to this family run hotel and recommend it to anyone who truly wants to enjoy a wonderful stay in beautiful Positano !

Room Tip: Use a car service to get there and back ...... unless you like lugging baggage up and down steps and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amazin9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We loved everything about our stay at this lovely hotel in beautiful Positano. Room 20 is quite pretty and has a generous balcony with a great view. The staff is calm and poised, helpful and attentive. Don't miss the baba dessert in the restaurant, even if you think you don't like dessert or alcoholic cakes - you'll love it anyway (it's not for kids, though!)

I foolishly wore an expensive gold necklace on the plane, and misplaced it on the trip. We called the hotel from the Rome airport as we were departing, and were told that the necklace had been found. Staff member Maria Trufo sent it to me at home within days. If I knew the name of the staff member who turned the necklace in I would post it also. That kind of honesty and conscientiousness is hard to find. Outstanding service, all around.

Room Tip: We loved room 20, but our friends in room 19 (which has the adjoining balcony) were disturbed by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joylabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Property: Hotel Buca di Bacco
Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing