We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ancora(Positano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Rosa(Positano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Palazzo Murat(Positano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Miramare(Positano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Reginella(Positano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Talamo(Positano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Albertina(Positano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,317)
Filter reviews
1,317 results
Traveller rating
1,116
169
23
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,116
169
23
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the beachcooking classamalfi coastour honeymoonporter servicehotel restaurantperfect locationsea viewyour luggagewonderful hotelwould highly recommend this hotellarge terracepastriesloved this hotellounge chairsfew stepsevery morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
488 - 493 of 1,317 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

It's hard to beat overlooking the beautiful ocean and the duomo at the centre of Positano while sipping excellent coffee or having a cocktail later in the day. This hotel is perfectly located, minimising stair climbing and leaving you free to enjoy the seafront atmosphere. It's pretty perfect.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Adventuring4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked Buca di Bacco based on many of the reviews we found on TripAdvisor. On first impressions the hotel was quite nice. A typical Italian 4 star place with small rooms and charm by the sea, pretty much what we expected. However, after first impressions, the story was a little different.

The room was fine but unfortunately it wasn't very clean, there was quite a but of dirt on the floor and a brown ring around the bathtub, this ring wasn't cleaned until I did it on the second day. The power in the room didn't work for a full day. There was also no WiFi signal in our room for 80% of our stay. The quality of the furnishings varies quite a lot too, a lot of it is typical Amalfi style painted white with blue accents, very seaside appropriate. Some of it was disgusting however, the phone in the room was filthy and my bedside lamp looked like it was glued together with bodily fluids.

I don't mind bad hotels so long as they're clean, this was an average hotel that was dirty. I should have known walking in as there was an overwhelming smell of "Glade" room freshener that was clearly covering up the scent of sewage in the main hallway leading to the elevator.

On a positive note, the Buca di Bacco is (almost) right on the water and that's really it.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: The lower rooms are brighter than the upper rooms. They're all dark and dingy but more-so upstairs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucadibacco, Proprietario at Hotel Buca di Bacco, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

I enjoy to reply,

We look very surprised by this review, in fact during his stay the Guest never appeared to be dissatisfied and nothing complained with us at the reception desk, in any case every note written in this review could have been explained and justified on site, we will never know what did it happened after the departure.
We are deeply sorry if the Guest was not satisfied, when we are informed about some problem we always try to satisfy every question offering an explanation or finding a solution when possible, in any case I have pleasure to reply:
- Small rooms? We have 47 rooms with 7 kind of rooms category all different from each other, sizes and prices are well displayed in our web site!
- After the departure, when miles away from the hotel and often protected by anonymity everybody feels free to write whatever he wants but a dirty floor or bathtub or every other kind of problem, to be credible must be claimed to the reception as soon as possible upon the arrival;
- The full day without power it is something impossible, in the event of black out the power in the hotel is guaranteed by a full independent electric generator, unfortunately in that week we have experienced severe storms and lightning in Positano that have caused several black out for no more than 4 minutes each time, this is the operating time to switch the power on and off from the hotel generator to the public electric supplier and vice versa, this operation is fully automatic;
- The partial absence of WiFi signal was due to the storm and many lightning had burned some of the Wi-Fi switch in the hotel, we had to wait for the replacement from Naples, anyway for urgent connection we have a 24 hours free internet desk in the reception;
- The phone was totally clean, it had only some signs of wear in the slot receiver;
- Why no pictures were posted regarding the declared disgusting furniture?
- The bedside lamp was broken the day before their arrival and due to the hurry for the new arrival, we agree that it was made a bad fixing using American glue by Saratoga, not at all bodily fluids like unkindly reported!
- The scent of sewage in the main hallway is a complaint we cannot accept, maybe some humidity smell was in the air due to the hard rain we suffered at that time in our town, anyway in this hallway there is nothing that can produce some kind of unpleasant smell, no bathrooms, no pipes under the floor or in the ceiling, nothing in the walls, nothing at all! Only a big window open on the public pedestrian road below the hotel. Every hotel in the world is using scents in public areas and no one thinks it is to cover the smell of something else, in our case the “overwhelming smell” was not Glade but it was from a big glass bottle by “Dr. Vranjes pomegranate perfume”, this is very well appreciated by all of our guests from many years and very often they enquire for the shop where is it possible to buy it, it is also diffused all over the lobby too.
- Every day we have hundreds of people walking up and down this hallway to reach the lift to the rooms, can you explain why nobody has never made or written a similar complaint! If you like you can read our 736 reviews.
- We thank for the positive note we are right on the water but please, this is not our only positive one!
- Salvatore Rispoli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our family of seven recently stayed at the beautiful Hotel Buca di Bacco in Positano, Italy. Our three hotel rooms were all absolutely perfect! Very clean and spacious. The views of the Mediterranean Sea from our balconies were unbelievably gorgeous. The hotel staff were all very professional and helpful. The hotel is situated just a few steps from the beach, shops and restaurants. The ferry dock is also right outside of the hotel making it easy to take a day trip to the Island of Capri. We looked at many hotels online before we chose the Hotel Buca di Bacco. After staying in Positano......we are so happy we chose Hotel Buca di Bacco! Make sure to ask for a room with a view!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Skyskg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Look no further than Buca di Bacco if you are planning a trip to Positano. Our stay here could not have been better - it was amazing from check in to check out.

After spending 9 days touring Rome, Venice and Florence, we were looking forward to our 6 relaxing nights on the beach. Knowing we would spend a lot of time in the room, we splurged on an executive double room that was absolutely perfect. The room was airy, spotless and perfectly appointed. We had a large terrace with a round table, a bench and two loungers. We spent the most time out on our terrace reading and sitting in the sun.

The hotel is located just steps from the beach and near chic little shops and restaurants. The staff was lovely, with everyone going above and beyond. The gentleman working breakfast each morning always made us feel welcome and was quick with our double espresso and cappuccino. There is a machine that squeezes fresh OJ. Do not miss that.

We needed to see a doctor one day and the hotel was able to arrange for someone to come within 20 minutes. I needed help using the lobby Mac since all the commands were in Italian and they walked me through everything.

One word of warning concerning the beach: It is extremely rocky and painful to walk on - both on the shore and in the water. If you plan to spend a lot of time on the beach it is worth packing (or purchasing) water shoes.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive double for a large room, spacious terrace and breathtaking view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J and M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you plan a stay in Positono, don't miss this hotel. The staff was very professional. This was the best part of our 13-day visit to Italy. The Terrace Restuarant was fantastic. You'll need to hire the porter service to get your luggage down to the hotel, but you won't regret staying here once you are checked in.

Room Tip: Get a terrace room. It is worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews