We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in beautiful Positano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pensione Casa Guadagno
Ranked #24 of 49 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Back in beautiful Positano”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is the second time I have stayed in Casa Guadagno (even got the same room with beautiful ocean views) and the girls (cousins) looked after us in their usual "no fuss" way. This pensione is quite a way up the hill from the main beach which gives you a chance to see all the restaurants and visit all the beautiful shops on the way down. If you're not into walking there is a local bus to take you up and down. The continental breakfast is good and the place is spotless.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    61
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
77
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed at this cute pension twice and have recommended it to our friends, who have also liked it. It's very simple but really sweet. Stunning views of the water from most rooms. The air con in the room is a fantastic bonus in the heat. The closest beach is Fornillo which is fantastic to swim at. The breakfast is served on their lovely large balcony and is delicious. The people that run it are very relaxed but highly efficient. It's spotless too.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

At the beginning of June my girlfriend and I stayed in the small double room in Casa Guadagno. It was a very comfortable and clean room. The bathroom looked very new and the small balcony ("withouth their best sea view") was totally enough for us. The italian breakfast was also very satisfying (warm croissant, bread, juice, nutella, cappuccino).
The staff was very kind and helpful. We felt very welcome in their small family-business.

We would definetely recommend it! specially because of the good price (other hotels and b&b are very expensive!).

Room Tip: dbl room "without their best seaview" is totally fine for a young couple with "a limi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RobJasp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osnabruck, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a very nice time here in March 2013. The first time I stayed in Casa Guadagno 25 years ago, and I always come back. The Family, who leads the pensione is very friendly an helpful. The rooms are nice and my bed was comfortable. We had a great south balcony with a wonderful view to the sea. You can go from there to the beach, into the City and also to the busstop to make an excursion. On the picture you can see our view from the balcony. We say thank you very much and send greetings to Family Guadagno.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Been to Positano 5 times and stayed at Pensione Casa Guadagno this last trip. Our stay can not be better as the view is superb. The price is unbeatable and the continental breakfast with the excellent espresso or cappuccino was like professionally done. Excellent choice and you willnot be sorry from this exquisite B&B,

Room Tip: better to stay with the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank chauldrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I liked staying here, I recommend it and Positano in general, as its a great place to base yourself on the Amalfi. It's not the easiest of places to get to but if you take the cheap, tiny public bus it's not too hard. It's in a quaint alley and the accommodation itself is spread out over several buildings. We were offered a choice between a smallish room in the main building or a larger room with a big, lush patio a few (steep!) laneways over, which we chose. The room was old, with some old fittings, but I liked it. We were perched up high on a cliff overlooking some locals' backyards and the main harbour. You can really blend in with the locals and escape the tourists up there! The building we stayed in was a sub-divided family home, I think family members live in some of the other rooms, but they were no problem.

It's far enough away from the main drag to be peaceful, but it's a very pleasant walk down the main road (and some serpentine alleys) to the centre of town. As others have said, it is a family-run pensione and the whole family was involved, helping us out and keeping an eye on things, Italian-style! Breakfast was average. TIP: if you want yoghurt, ask for it, they keep them in the fridge.

So if you want a quiet stay and to blend in with the locals, stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolocaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 and had great time. This is a family run pensione. Excellent hosts who are always ready to help you in any way they can. Nice room with comfortable bed. Small balcony with a great view. Our room had a small refrigerator. The pensione is right on the stairs (and plenty of them) to Fornillo beach. There are several nice restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#29 of 39 in Positano
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#30 of 39 in Positano
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ostello Brikette
Ostello Brikette
#36 of 39 in Positano
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maison Liparlati
Maison Liparlati
#18 of 49 in Positano
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Casa Guadagno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Casa Guadagno

Property: Pensione Casa Guadagno
Address: Via Fornillo, 34/36, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensione Casa Guadagno 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione Casa Guadagno* was opened in 1957. Since then, the guesthouse has been family run, offering its guests the possibility of spending their holiday in a relaxing, pleasant and friendly atmosphere. In Italian 'Casa' means 'Home' while Guadagno is the surname of the family running the guesthouse. So, you really are treated as one of the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pensione Casa Guadagno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Casa Guadagno Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing