We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical time in Positano” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Bougainville

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel La Bougainville
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Magical time in Positano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at the Hotel La Bougainville. The room (including the bathroom) were very nice and clean. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Location was prefect in the center of town. Very nice views. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Young32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    192
    42
    9
    4
See reviews for
72
317
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is an excellent location to base yourself in Positano. We visited the Isle of Capri, and the Amalfi Coast from here, attended Church, swam, dined and relaxed during our stay. The excellent car hire company we used to transfer from Naples to Positano was located only metres away - no driving hassles, no porter transfer, no wheeling bags etc. Top spot, very pleasant staff and good facilities

Room Tip: To get a balcony view of the mediterranean, you need to book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, Ca
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our party of three couples spent three nights at the Hotel Bougainville in mid October. Everything about our stay was memorable. Parking is conveniently located across the street in a garage at a rate of $30 Euro per night. After the challenging drive from Sorrento to Positanto, the garage is a welcome relief and a great reason not to drive for the remainder of the stay.

The service at this hotel is outstanding. Marela, Andrea, and Rafael go above and beyond to provide excellent service. The breakfast was very nice with a good selection of choices, beautifully presented in the room with a view of the hillside town and the sea. The choices include juices, boiled eggs, cheeses, tomatoes, yogurt, cereal and Rafael's excellent cappuccinos.

The only difficulty is the steep climb up to the lobby followed by the climb up to the rooms. Those traveling with more than one piece of luggage should be forewarned. The rooms were spacious and the bathroom had the best mirror and lighting for make up of all the hotels we experienced,

The wifi was faster than what we had experienced previously at other locations.

The staff provides excellent information such as schedules to Capri and to the Amalfi and recommendations for hotels. Their recommendations for restaurants were very good. One night they recommended a restaurant at the top of Positanto, Il Retrovo, and arranged for the free shuttle at our preferred time. That night was a real memory maker. First of all the ride provided incredible views of the town and the sea. The restaurant gave us the royal treatment, complimentary proseco and bruschetta to start and a nice selection of Italian cookies and liquors to finish. The meals we ordered were really delicious and prices were reasonable. The next day we raved to the staff about that recommendation. The other two restaurants that we visited at their recommendation were also very good. One was a short walk across the street from the hotel (Valle de Moline) in a garden-like setting and the other was on the beach (Tres Sorelle). The food at Tres Sorelle was very good while the service was a strange mixture of hovering and distracted. For the first and only time in three weeks we encountered a menu that specifically stated that the gratuity was not included at Tres Sorelle.

While in Positano we ferried to Capri one day and to Amalfi another day. In addition our time spent exploring Positano was fun and relaxing.

We would not hesitate to return to this hotel and its excellent service.

Room Tip: The extra charge to get a balcony sea view room is well worth the expense. Room 34 not only had a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmuse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had a very nice stay for one night at the hotel. We would have loved to stay longer. The hotel was beautiful and clean and the staff was very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel. The location was perfect. Just a short walk from the bus stop and very close to the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get the room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 130Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hotel is a short walk down to the beach and near the shopping.
The Staff was very helpful and the breakfast offered a large variety.
It was so fun to have a view from your terrace. The shower was
large which was so nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WrightTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Beautifully clean and ideally located for this wonderful holiday destination. Rooms with balcony and sea view a must , as the alternative means you miss out big time. Staff amazing, extremely helpful. The man , Raffaelle, serving breakfast particularly helpful and lovely! Short and pretty walk to the beach. Thank you for everything! Jackie

Room Tip: With balcony a MUST!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieharwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this adorable little hotel. The room was very clean and bright and we enjoyed the little veranda. It's very convenient to all the places you may want to walk to in Positano - close to all the shops and not too far for walking to the beaches.
One of the best parts of our stay was the incredible help of the two women who always seemed to be at the front desk! From recommendations to calling in reservations for us, they were great!
Oh, one more thing - the cafe latte and breakfast were wonderful! Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rox271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pupetto
Hotel Pupetto
#16 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bougainville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bougainville

Property: Hotel La Bougainville
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 25, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#14 Family Hotel in Positano
#15 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bougainville 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a superb location in the picturesque historic center of Positano, only five minutes from the sea. Hotel La Bougainville is a delightful family run establishment where modern technology and contemporary furnishings have been employed so as to offer the utmost in comfort and design.The interiors of the hotel, filled with the bright colors typical of the Amalfi Coast, are stylishly simple. A number of bedrooms lead out on to their own private balcony, from where to enjoy views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Bougainville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing