We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Bougainville
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a lovely time at Hotel La Bougainville. The location is perfect! Rooms are well equipped and clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Nice coffee at breakfast although I found the other breakfast options a little too focused on sweet rather than savory. We asked the hotel to book a transfer for us from Naples and whilst expensive, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lam_378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    194
    42
    9
    4
See reviews for
72
319
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Hotel La Bougainville exceeded my expectations. Every positive review that was written was spot on. The proximity to shops, the walking path to the beach, and the numerous restaurants for dining was perfect. The staff was always pleasant to talk to, and offered a number of recommendations for our stay. The hotel itself is just LOVELY. The colors are brilliant, the rooms feel open and airy, the views are breathtaking, and the cleanliness was great. I have already recommended it to my friends since coming back, and I look forward to staying there again when I return for a longer trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My 2 girlfriends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at HLB!! The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. Recommended a great restaurant that locals like to eat at (name escapes me right now). One of my friends had twisted her knee in the beginning of our trip and the staff gave her an ice pack every night. It was ready and waiting for her upon our return to the room in the evening. We had a triple room - it was a bit tight but we managed. This for me was the only downside as it wasn't what the pictures looked like when we booked. However, we did have a lovely balcony overlooking the ocean and hillsides. Just lovely.
The breakfast was ok. But my experience with B&B's in Europe is definitely not the same as it is in the States. And I've learned to adapt and accept. =)
All in all, this is a great place to stay and I would stay here again if I came back to Positano!

Room Tip: Unless you're arriving by bus or private car, you will be arriving by ferry. PAY the 7-8 euros f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPizzle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We'd return in a second! Clean, nicely decorated and tucked upstairs behind a bank ATM. Our suitcases were quickly carried for us. I had left my little shoulder purse in the van when we were dropped off first and was upset about losing it. The owner quickly called the driver and the purse was delivered back to me. (Thanks Nick @ Rainbow Tours)
Hotel Bougainville is in a PERFECT location, and we had a superior room with the terrace, and yes, there is a sea view. We have some great photos!
There is no traffic/people at night on the very cute little cobblestone street so very quiet for a great sleep. Plenty of selections for breakfast and wonderful cappachino.
All the staff was very nice and helpful, even bringing my husband bowls of ice each day!
La Cambusa was recommended and it was great. Right on the beach. Three out of four of us had a seafood and they raved on and on:)
We were there 3 nights and it was not enough! We are in our 60's and have a lot on our bucket list, but so hope we can return. And we'd pick La Bougainville again!

Room Tip: Superior room with terrace and sea view!! Good people watching too, while sipping a glass of wine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonJames311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great location, as it is on the lowest point of the road, so the closest to the beach you can get by car. The staff was very nice, helpful and understanding. The rooms were clean, but one of them had a smell of humidity unfortunately. The weather was fantastic still in October, so we spent most of our time out of the hotel, which is great as the hotel doesn't have a restaurant and the rooms are rather small.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel is not for "pampered" among us. If you want to enjoy from Positano - better to pay more and get more.
The Hotel location is a good and comfortable, close walking distance to the shopping area and the beach. Near bus station and car parking ( 20-30 euro per night )
The hotel is very clean and minimalist. The staff is friendly and helpful ( not always ).
We had a large and clean room ( superior ) with a very comfortable bed.

So ....
The price of a good place - is a noise of a road below in the terrace of a road, very disturbing at the resort and rest.
We had a room with a "sea view". Really, in the terrace we had amazing view to the mountains. But it's not a sea view . May be only a corner of "sea veiw" after "veiw" of roofs of neighbors.

Breakfast is very poor, even for people not spoiled food. Coffee, croissants (well), boiled eggs, two types of cereal, some dry cakes , yogurt, one type of cheese, some fruit juice .
On leaving we asked to make coffee at 7:00 AM, they told us to get in a half hour. Although we announced the night before an early departure. So we had coffee on the way at a petrol station.

The bathroom is large and clean, but very, very small shower. We had to take a shower with the shower door open we got a room with bidet blockage opened it the next day.
Soap, shampoo and other toiletries products not added at all !!! After I asked for shampoo and received one vial without apology, just bought everything out there.

The staff of reception is very friendly, but I would not trust their recommendations. Some were a mistake as a beach, cruise or restaurant.

It would be better to add another 50-100 Euro per night, and get a real good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalPasternak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked this after our friends recommended the hotel for our Positano stay. We arrived a bit late, and the staff was accommodating, she even upgraded our room. We were so surprised at how wonderfully located the hotel was. It was important for us to be centrally located vs having a view, and it was worth it. We had a very short walk to the beach and many restaurants. The breakfast was great, and the specially made coffee was fantastic. We are so glad we added Positano to our 10 day Italian romantic getaway, it truly was magical.

Room Tip: I would recomend book a room with a courtyard, we spent many nights after dinner with wine on our pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pupetto
Hotel Pupetto
#18 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bougainville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bougainville

Property: Hotel La Bougainville
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 25, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#14 Family Hotel in Positano
#15 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bougainville 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a superb location in the picturesque historic center of Positano, only five minutes from the sea. Hotel La Bougainville is a delightful family run establishment where modern technology and contemporary furnishings have been employed so as to offer the utmost in comfort and design.The interiors of the hotel, filled with the bright colors typical of the Amalfi Coast, are stylishly simple. A number of bedrooms lead out on to their own private balcony, from where to enjoy views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Bougainville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing