We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All around great hotel in Positano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Bougainville
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“All around great hotel in Positano”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We made reservations here based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were treated to a pleasant stay in Positano. The hotel is located near a bus stop in Positano - we are not sure if the bus stop is for local Positano buses only or if you can take them to neighboring towns on the Amalfi Coast. We arrived from Capri to Positano by ferry. From the Positano marina, it is approximately a 10 min uphill walk to the hotel and it would take longer if carrying luggage or wearing heels. The main street you walk up in Positano can get crowded in high season, so that may add time also. We chose to upgrade to an ocean view and it was definitely worth it. The breakfast, available 8-10am, was typical for other hotels we stayed at in Italy - fresh fruit, one meat, one cheese, selection on breads and pastries, yogurt, cereal, teas/coffee, one juice, water, milk. The breakfast room was lovely and had a nice view. Wifi was included and had good connectivity in the room. Service was excellent as they helped book us a car transfer to Pompeii (60 min drive) and then on to Naples (30 min drive from Pompeii). Restaurant recommendations were spot-on. The bathroom size was good, the counter space was large enough for two medium sized toiletry bags and one small bag. There was enough shampoo and body wash for four days for two people. In short, we would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joiedevivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    197
    42
    9
    4
See reviews for
73
325
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

hotel la bougainville is a small hotel in the heart of Positano. helpful staff and a wonderful buffet breakfast. I was delighted to have as many cappuccinos as I wanted without having to pay extra for them! We had a room "with a view" which is worth the extra money. Rick Steve recommends this hotel ; it proved to be a good recommendation. Would stay there again. J.B.

Room Tip: ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was my second stay at the La Bougainville. It is in a great location not very far from the beach and close to shopping and restaurants. I arrived by boat on this trip and departed on the local Sita bus, and the hotel is relatively close to both the boat dock and the bus stop on the main road through town….but I was traveling light. You would't want to haul any steamer trunks through the streets of Positano.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. On both of my stays, the hotel staff spent time helping with information on how to get around Naples and also helped me book a hotel in Rome. I had a sea view room on this trip which was definitely nicer than a room at the rear of the hotel that my tour company booked on my first trip. The deck was large with chairs for lounging, with nice views of the town and a view of the Mediterranean. Breakfast was good and served in a very attractive dining area. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I liked the sea view room much better than the rooms at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Positano was the last stop in our 8 day Italy trip. We came to Positano due to a strong referral from one of my best friends in Montreal!
WE WERE SO GLAD WE CAME HERE!
This place is gorgeous, the roads, the people everything is unique and enchanting. The water is a short but steep 5 minute walk from the hotel. We took a private transfer from Naples Airport to Positano via Pompeii (Well worth the short stop).

Sorrento is beautiful as you pass it along the curvy mountain roads. You get a nice view of Naples from Sorrento.

La Bougainville was the right place for us since it was not too far from the beach and the bus stop to take you around Positano is just accross the street.
Reminder you have to pay each way going up and again going down if you take the local bus.
You can rent scooters but ahh at your own risk, drivers and roads are like westmount in Montreal ;)

The owner of the hotel is a sweet middle aged lady who manages it with class and finesse.
She is very helpful when helping you choose the best spots to have lunch or dinner in town.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again,, it was only for two night but the price and location are great. Only downside was the window in our room we had no view and it was very high up on the wall, I don;t think all the rooms are like that, so make sure you get one that has a normal height window.

Be mindful You have to carry your own luggage up the stairs if you are elderly or have packed heavy.

Tip: Make sure you make reservations for the restaurant La Tagliata, they can make it for you at your hotel and a shuttle will pick you up for free, this restaurant is located at the top of the mountain overlooking the Mediterranean sea and the food is prepared by Mama, you will absolutely love it!

Ciao Arrivederci!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadianxplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a lovely time at Hotel La Bougainville. The location is perfect! Rooms are well equipped and clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Nice coffee at breakfast although I found the other breakfast options a little too focused on sweet rather than savory. We asked the hotel to book a transfer for us from Naples and whilst expensive, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lam_378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Hotel La Bougainville exceeded my expectations. Every positive review that was written was spot on. The proximity to shops, the walking path to the beach, and the numerous restaurants for dining was perfect. The staff was always pleasant to talk to, and offered a number of recommendations for our stay. The hotel itself is just LOVELY. The colors are brilliant, the rooms feel open and airy, the views are breathtaking, and the cleanliness was great. I have already recommended it to my friends since coming back, and I look forward to staying there again when I return for a longer trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My 2 girlfriends and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at HLB!! The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. Recommended a great restaurant that locals like to eat at (name escapes me right now). One of my friends had twisted her knee in the beginning of our trip and the staff gave her an ice pack every night. It was ready and waiting for her upon our return to the room in the evening. We had a triple room - it was a bit tight but we managed. This for me was the only downside as it wasn't what the pictures looked like when we booked. However, we did have a lovely balcony overlooking the ocean and hillsides. Just lovely.
The breakfast was ok. But my experience with B&B's in Europe is definitely not the same as it is in the States. And I've learned to adapt and accept. =)
All in all, this is a great place to stay and I would stay here again if I came back to Positano!

Room Tip: Unless you're arriving by bus or private car, you will be arriving by ferry. PAY the 7-8 euros f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPizzle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pupetto
Hotel Pupetto
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bougainville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bougainville

Property: Hotel La Bougainville
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 25, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#14 Family Hotel in Positano
#15 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bougainville 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a superb location in the picturesque historic center of Positano, only five minutes from the sea. Hotel La Bougainville is a delightful family run establishment where modern technology and contemporary furnishings have been employed so as to offer the utmost in comfort and design.The interiors of the hotel, filled with the bright colors typical of the Amalfi Coast, are stylishly simple. A number of bedrooms lead out on to their own private balcony, from where to enjoy views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Bougainville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing