We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Bougainville is perfect!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Bougainville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Bougainville
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“Hotel Bougainville is perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Bougainville for our wedding in Positano, Italy. The hotel was recommended by a co-worker who has been in Positano over 20 times and it is where he always stays, for good reason. First, the location is without question the best in Positano. The hotel is an easy walk to the beach, shops and restaurants. Many of the other hotels in town are higher up the mountain and require a bus or taxi ride (or a long and grueling mountain hike) down near the beach where all of the shops and restaurants are located. But the Bougainville puts you right where you want to be.

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and they all spoke good English. It was our first time in Positano and the staff always had a great restaurant or activity recommendation at hand. Also, being that we were getting married, my wife and I needed extra attention and the staff was always willing to help. Marella, the hotel manager and daughter of the hotel's owner, went as far as to help us arrange our wedding dinner for 15 quests at a beautiful restaurant right down on the beach. Marella made us an appointment with the owner of the restaurant to design the menu and accompanied my wife and I to the meeting to make an introduction and help translate.

The hotel itself has been recently renovated and it is modern and very clean. The rooms are clean, large for European standards and have great showers. We had a room with a balcony and amazing see views.

Finally, the rooms are very reasonably priced and a great value. My wife and I plan on returning to Positano often and when we do, we will be staying at the Bougainville.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGuisinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    191
    42
    9
    4
See reviews for
71
317
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

After a long day's hike on the Path of the Gods, this hotel was a welcome stop.The rooms were tastefully done, with ample amenities.Breakfast was substantial and the staff helpful.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stefanotour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Highly recommend this hotel for fun/leisure. Close to the beach! A group of us stayed there for my brother's wedding. The staff was phenomenal in helping, not only with our accommodations, but reserving restaurants, rides, and tours. The hotel even helped arranged a boat ride for our group and surprised us with a bottle of champagne, they supplied the boat company with, for our sunset ride home. Recommend that you upgrade to the rooms with a view....the inside rooms are smaller. Bonus...free continental-type breakfast everyday!! Not really any ameneties for business travel. High-speed internet is available (at additional cost) in all rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fraseraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

My friend and I stayed at the hotel for one week at the beginning of September. We had a seaview room with a balcony which was excellent (the view from the balcony was breathtaking!) and even though the room faced out on to the road we could not hear anything thanks to the double glazed patio doors! The hotel is in a fantastic position - it's about 5 minutes walk to the beach through the winding pedestrian alleys of the town. I would seriously recommend this hotel to anyone - the staff were very friendly and helpful and we wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmadene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

We travelled from Rome taking the train from Naples to Sorrento ( an experience never to be repeated) then bus to Positano. Best to take the ferry from Naples to Positano. On arrival we were helped with our luggage up to the two flights of stairs. Our room was supposed to be garden view!!!! even if we stood on top of the bed we could not see out of the window.
However the staff more than made up for our huge disappointment in the room. They were extremely friendly and gave us sound advice on where we should go.
Breakfast was fairly basic but ok. Overall, the room was a shock but did not spoil our 3 days.
Would recommend this hotel for location but would request a room with a sea view.
There are many steps in Positano, however there are porters available to take luggage from hotel to the ferry approx 7 Euro per bag, well worth it

Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ScottishRose4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

Place is nice, the owners tried to be helpful.... I ordered and paid for a SEA VIEW, got a horrible view with a window leading to an alley. The shower clogged up for 3 days so you couldnt take a shower for more than 1 minute-- a problem for my girlfirend with long hair. And to top it off, we had an ant infestation. Breakfast was nice-- location is good. They didnt offer me anything for all my troubles... it really was a miserable 3 days. Definitely the worst hotel experience i've had in years.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cueball123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pupetto
Hotel Pupetto
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bougainville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bougainville

Property: Hotel La Bougainville
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 25, 84017, Positano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#14 Family Hotel in Positano
#15 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bougainville 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a superb location in the picturesque historic center of Positano, only five minutes from the sea. Hotel La Bougainville is a delightful family run establishment where modern technology and contemporary furnishings have been employed so as to offer the utmost in comfort and design.The interiors of the hotel, filled with the bright colors typical of the Amalfi Coast, are stylishly simple. A number of bedrooms lead out on to their own private balcony, from where to enjoy views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Bougainville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing