We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stillfull!! All spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of da Gabrisa

da Gabrisa
Ranked #13 of 85 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$38
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A marvelous view of the sea, a comfortable and elegant atmosphere where is possible to taste authentic local dishes in one of the most romantic restaurant in Positano. Enjoy also the great selection of wines and other special drinks.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stillfull!! All spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My hostel recommended this place and omg it was a mealfor the books. We sat outside, gazing out at the amazing view. Octopus salad, seafood stew, and their almond cake. Oh man, i knew i would need to hike the next day after inhaling this food. I just couldnt stop it was so amazing. Wait staff and owners were so kind, true italians. Cute male waiter doesnt hurt the situation for us single ladies. I just loved it and will look back on this experience and smile. I am a broke recent college grad and it was worth every penny'

Helpful?
1 Thank Tay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    104
    28
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food with views to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful place to eat with an outstanding view of the town below. The outside seating is on the roadside so there is some noise from cars & mopeds, however this isn't too bad and not a problem for me personally. We were given complimentary bruschetta to start which was tasty and very fresh. I had the seabass & asparagus in a butter sauce which melted in the mouth. My partner had the pink squid and potatoes which he absolutely loved. We finished off with a cheese board to share which had a good variety and was just the right size. The service was attentive without being intrusive. Would definitely recommend a trip to this place.

Helpful?
Thank Nikk19_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food and extensive wine and beer choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and ate at the restaurant for 2 of them as we were so impressed the first time. The food was great and reasonably priced. The staff are uber helpful and friendly and the view is amazing if you are able to sit outside

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank fbldebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I went for dinner and sat outside overlooking the beautiful water. We had had a lackluster meal the night before elsewhere and this was the redeeming 'Italian' experience we were looking for. The service was great and the meal excellent and extremely fresh.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanGirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty okay for positano, average for italy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner here last night. If you're looking for wow factor or that quintessential Italian meal, it's not here, actually it might not exist in Positano at all! It wasn't a bad meal, but just nothing special. For those who have previously reviewed this restaurant and raved, I can only imagine that this is their first Italian experience and they're swept away by the walk in band flogging their cd's or the overpriced menu.

The view is great, the food is average.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank EstherMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obiondo, Proprietario at da Gabrisa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks a lot for sharing your opinion and we are sorry if you did not enjoy your meal with us. However, it is difficult to know what we would do differently, given the points you make, and that is unfortunate; we are always looking to improve, and would love to have had some actionable feedback. Also, I think it would have been possible to avoid ad hominem comments as to why other guests have enjoyed themselves – that seems very unnecessary. There is no one ‘quintessential Italian meal’, because each area within Italy specializes in one or more aspect of food (that is to say, each of the 20 regions, and within those regions, each city and town, have their own specialties, often developed over 1,000 years). None of these areas would claim that their food is more quintessential than the other - it is a matter of pride within Italy that we look at other areas food, and appreciate them for their qualities. Real estate in Positano is in great demand, and therefore expensive compared to many other places. This is precisely because, as you note, the views are great. This may be why you found our menu to be ‘overpriced’, but that’s only a guess also considering that the menu is just published on the road, free for anyone to check our dishes and prices. The ‘band’ are a group that walks around all of Positano from years, and we let them play only to guests who want to listen to them; they really do not push people into buying things if people do not indicate an interest in them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed da Gabrisa also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to da Gabrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing