We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of da Gabrisa

da Gabrisa
Ranked #12 of 84 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$38
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A marvelous view of the sea, a comfortable and elegant atmosphere where is possible to taste authentic local dishes in one of the most romantic restaurant in Positano. Enjoy also the great selection of wines and other drinks.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Best meal in Italy this vacation, and proffecional and friendly staff! Loved it! Family of four from Norway

Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth Skov C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    104
    28
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely food beautiful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We ate at this restaurant on our first night. We were fortunate to get a seat with a lovely view. Food was great. I loved the vegetable antipasto and the ravioli with pumpkin.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Poor quality meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My husband and I ate at this restaurant. We had 2 very poor main courses and one very average entree, one was a chicken dish with tomato and mozzarella of which the chicken was a replica of a Birds Eye frozen meal with some cheap tomato sauce splayed over it with a piece of rubber meant to be mozzarella cheese and thick cut chips. I had a vegetable soup which when served by the very inexperienced waitress had her finger dipped in the plate because she couldn't place the dish properly on the table and the meal slurped onto her fingers. The croutons surrounding the soup could require a visit to the dentist (they were so hard). When the waitress cleared our table and asked if we enjoyed our meal I told her in Italian the meal was not good, she asked "don't you like Italian food?" For a restaurant that was quite expensive and looked the part, we expected at the least fresh chicken cooked to an acceptable Italian standard and a soup that was palatable and once again to acceptable Italian standards. The staff ignored us and did not attempt to make enquiries as to what our complaint entailed, hence this bad review and warning any other tourists to choose a better and cheaper restaurant a few metres down via Pasitea.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terri821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obiondo, Proprietario at da Gabrisa, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
I am the owner of the restaurant da Gabrisa. I manage the restaurant with my sister and family and in over 10 years of activity we never had such a bad and personal review by any of our guests. We are sorry if you had a bad experience with our restaurant but unfortunately a meal doesn’t cost the stress of anyone. If you really didn’t enjoyed anything of it you could tell it immediately to the staff, which was serving you, and we could change it or even offer it. More than asking if everything was fine, and in your case we did it twice including my sister just before processing the payment, we really can’t guess when the customers have some problem, as we can’t read in their minds, so is in your interest to expose a problem immediately. I hope you can understand that is impossible to verify anything if guests eat all the meals and only at the end appoint a problem with a remaining piece of cheese, which is also a product of our area and presents in a gummy aspect when fresh and melted in oven. I just want to appoint that we only use high quality, fresh and expensive products and we don’t think is correct to be compared with other restaurants, even if they make a great job. We know what we sell and we are proud of it. Please, in general if you have any problem just talk with the owner or the manager, maybe sometimes problems could solve in an easier way and surely no one will be hurt or disappointed. Italy is a fantastic country with a great history and culture and we love to share it with everyone but we take is personally when someone compares our culinary tradition with some type of food industry. Exactly for avoiding any disinformation about our ingredients and unfair critic the doors of our kitchen are always open for a visit or a cooking class.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel last time we were here 3 years ago and the food was great. As In Canneto, where we were staying this year does not provide evening meals we returned to da Gabrisa several times for dinner. Great food and very friendly staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible views, wonderful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We found this place by accident and even though we had a little trouble actually finding the place, when we did, we were so happy! It was off the main road so it was much quieter. We sat outside and the staff was incredibly friendly. The food was very good as well. I had the grilled squid with potatoes and my husband had the mixed fried fish dish. The tiramisu was to die for! A wonderful place, great views with reasonably priced food. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed da Gabrisa also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to da Gabrisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing