We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming but inconvenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Complesso Turistico Averno
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Pozzuoli
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorks, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Charming but inconvenient”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I adored this place!

Yes the room was old fashioned, the shower was small and English was not widely spoken, but the staff are incredibly friendly, the pools are truly amazing and the restaurant is fabulous.

There are some inconveniences; the resort is surrounded by main roads, and it is extremely difficult to walk to anywhere outside. Taxis can be easily booked from the hotel, but they are very difficult to find once you are out - you must pre book.

The restaurant is good, hearty Italian food. Pizzas are great! But it is closed on Mondays, and on the week we went, it was closed on Saturday for a wedding. On the Saturday, they sat us down, before the wedding party arrived and made us Pizza, and on the Monday, one of the staff drove us to another local restaurant and gave us his number so that we could call him to pick us up after dinner!

The only breakfast we found was croissants and muffins in the bar, and similarly lunch was mini pizza or pastries from the bar. At weekend, there was a lunch buffet served al fresco.

This is a busy country club with great facilities for the active amongst you! On Tuesday night as we were eating our dinner, the tennis courts and gym were full, the basketball court was hosting dozens of rollerskating youngsters, and there was a very well attended salsa dance class in the downstairs studio which we could watch whilst we were eating.

This is not a glossy chain hotel - far from it. But if you want a slice of the real Italy, and are prepared to put up with a couple of inconveniences, then I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    35
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
48
29
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed in the Damiani for the better part of two months. They treated me like family the moment I arrived in the middle of the night. The owner, Eduardo took me on a personal tour of the grounds and his fathers estate. Not saying everyone will receive this, but the hospitality and family nature of the hotel is unbeatable. At least once a week, there is a complimentary bottle of wine in the room and dishes and silverware are available and in good condition. As a pet friendly hotel, they truly mean pet friendly. When I would leave for work, I knew that the hotel staff knew about me pet and made sure when they cleaned the room he didn't get out. They went so far as to tell me when then were doing cleaning outside, to make sure I knew to close my windows so my pet didn't have to breath the extra dust. Bottom line: Great hotel, great facilities, and great ownership.

Room Tip: Bungalows are small, but comfortable. They have literally all the things you would need; washer, clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank User8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The complex was comfortable, friendly and relaxing. The pools are excellent and the greenery in the volcanic soil most soothing. The food is fresh and interestingly prepared and we had many alfresco meals in the elegant surroundings designed and built by the owners over the years. The tennis facilities are first class and were well used. The bungalow accommodation is simple but effective. There was only one brief break in the electricity supply during our stay and that was as a result of the neighbouring hillside catching fire for a couple of days, before the air force extinguished it with water dropped from planes and a helicopter. Highly recommended as a base for a local vacation, and a refuge from the general noise and untidiness of the streets of Napoli. Caters especially well for children.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHELE850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A great place with nice rooms, great pools, tennis courts and nice restaurant for a reasonable price.
This family owned hotel with ac rooms will give you the real Italian feeling during your stay. Excellent for families thanks to the friendly staff but also great for business travellers who prefer to relax after a busy day.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taino, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We came in the Averno Resort with our sons and their wives and 10 grandchildren between 16 and 2 years old to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. The whole experience was very positive. The bungalows and other accomodations were well equipped and complete.Airco in all rooms. The 5 swimming pools were heated and clean. The kindness and service of the personnel was above standard. Breakfast was according to the italian standards. No parking problems,The bus stop to Napels city is at the exit of the park. There is a restaurant inside the resort. Even tennis courts. The management was very helpful.The location is central to the Vesuvius, Solfatara, Ercolano, Pompei, Pozzuoli. You can reach the isles of Ischia, Procida and Capri by hydrofoil.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waltergroet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pozzuoli, Campania, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. Plenty to do for our son who played himself to exhaustion in the swimming pools. The restaurant is phenomenal for a full dinner, or if you want to keep it light they also offer pizza takeaway. The bungalow we stayed in was perfect (2 bedrooms and a kitchen) with decks for eating outside and catching some sun. We recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through the Naples area, you can't find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a great place from where to explore the Naples bay area. The resort itself is a lively place with a lot to offer; 3 pools, 4 tennis courts, a gym and a very nice poolside restaurant. For the visiting tourist the bungalows and hotel rooms are good quality and great value. We stayed as a 4 person family in a 2 bedroom bungalow with a small kitchen (including a washing machine), and parked the car just next to the bungalow. Staff and owning family are very friendly, and working hard to make you feel welcome. The place is a mixed resort/ country club, so you mingle at the pool side with the local members of the club. The whole atmosphere is Italian and very friendly. The Naples area has a bit of a difficult image, which we believe is partly understandable but largely exaggerated; come and decide for yourself. Damiani (Averno)is a great starting point to visit Naples and the bay area. The Western part of Naples is less known by tourists, but there are so many things to see and to visit. And still, you are only 12 kilometers of so away from Naples, or a little further from Pompeii or the Vesuvius. After a day on the road, it is great to be in one of the pools and to enjoy a great dinner whilst the friendly staff looks after you. If you are planning to visit Naples or Pozzuoli, this is a definite recommendation which you will not regret!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelvanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pozzuoli hotels
0.9 mi away
Agave Hotel Residence Inn
Agave Hotel Residence Inn
#4 of 21 in Pozzuoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gli Dei Hotel
Gli Dei Hotel
#2 of 21 in Pozzuoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Tripergola
Hotel La Tripergola
#1 of 1 in Arco Felice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Luisa Hotel
Villa Luisa Hotel
#1 of 21 in Pozzuoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mini Hotel
Mini Hotel
#5 of 21 in Pozzuoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.8 mi away
Flegrea House - Casa Rosa
Flegrea House - Casa Rosa
#7 of 21 in Pozzuoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Complesso Turistico Averno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Complesso Turistico Averno

Property: Complesso Turistico Averno
Address: Via Montenuovo Licola Patria 85, 80078, Pozzuoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pozzuoli
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pozzuoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Country Club is located 15 min from Naples, 25 min from the airport, and 5 min from Pozzuoli port.Our location and infrastructure makes us a perfect place for backpackers, bachelors and families to stay. We presently have 12 rooms and 13 bungalows with a hot-water thermal swimming pool and a cold swimming pool, a restaurant, bar, gym (closed in the month of August), night club, tennis, basketball, and camping. All our bungalows have a kitchen, living room, bathroom, one or two bedrooms and a place for parking. We also give free wireless Internet access to anyone staying in the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Complesso Turistico Averno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Complesso Turistico Averno Province Of Naples/Pozzuoli, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing