We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Week”
Review of Gli Dei Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gli Dei Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Pozzuoli
Certificate of Excellence
Luton
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Great Week”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We have just spent a week's family holiday at the Gli Dei. And we had a great week. The hotel is lovely, as were the staff. We were welcomed at reception, helped to our rooms and had good advise on places to go and eat. Breakfast is a little limited and lacks variety - but orders for hot food are taken and helps mix things up a bit. We ate one night in the hotel. As others have commented, it is a limited choice and a touch pricey, but the quality was excellent - I had sea bass which was fantastic.

There are great views And to get those, the hotel is situated high up a long, and in places steep road. We had a car for our trip so no experience of the taxi situation. The pool is very good, a decent size though deep all over so not really suitable for non-swimmers or younger children - we had no issues all week with restrictions for weddings or parties.

Overall, we enjoyed our time at the Gli Dei. With a car, we had easy access to Naples, beaches around Cuma, visited Castera and took a day down the Amalfi Coast, which were all easy day trips.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjiv66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    122
    56
    20
    10
See reviews for
86
90
6
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel. Some staff were very good, some not so. Breakfast is okay and you can ask for pretty mush what you want, hot or cold. The pool is a great place to relax, the rooms are good size and up to date. The hotel though is high above the town, and not a short walk after a night in town. Taxis finish at midnight at the rank, so if you know what time you need picking up, book in advance. I would stay again but would plan things advance. The town itself is a great little Italian town, a little bit of edge, some great restaurants and some nice locals. There are a number of things to see and do and the hotel location is easy to drive to vesuvio and Pompeii.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Just been there for 1 night. Ugly, dirty room. When swithing on Airco, room full with musquito. Pubic hair on toilet, dust everywhere, sick smell (smoking?) in room. Unfriendly staff, breakfast was poor. Doorman did not help with suitcases. Never again!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaeta, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

As a tour manager I change hotels every couple days, i must absolutely say how much my group of 40 americansand myself have enjoyed this hotel, the wornderful views, great matresses, cleanliness and so much more.
I also must say something about the extreme kindness of all the staff, from the desk to the waiters, not necessarily 4 star means 4 star kindness ....
At hotel GLI DEI it does.
THANK YOU EVERYONE
ENZA

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriGaeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

With its stunning view over the bay of Pozzuoli, it deserves its name!
I really can't find any imperfection. Good service, rich breakfast, small but cute swimming pool. Beautiful rooms, clean, everything perfect.
It is not in the town centre, though, but in this area a private mean of transport is quite necessary all the same as there's no metro, only buses and a train station.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a beautiful view on the bay, those on the back don't have the same, lovely view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoBrtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padangsidimpuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stayed here for a week.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I speak Italian so I don't know their English skills.

Breakfast was good and had a lot of variety. The pool was nice but sometimes special events- parties, weddings - would have it closed to regular guests.

BUT BUT BUT- the views from the oceanside rooms are outstanding! The balconies are big and you have have sundowners every night. It's a great way to end the day. Even at night, the lights across the bay are great. Just sit out there and let the stress of Neopolitan drivers drain out of you.

The room was nice- typical two doubles pushed together, with AC, good internet, fridge and good storage space. The bathroom was also spacious. Not something you see everywhere in Italy.

BEWARE however. If you do not have a car, it is a HIKE to get up the hill to the hotel. Hey- you don't get views like they have by being at sea level. And if you have a car, drive to the bottom of the hill and park there. Walk 50 feet down the road to the right and there's a great Rotisserie Chicken restaurant called the Devils of Chicken that has a great spicy rub. "Spicy Chicken Shack" was a go-to place for us. If you stay there, make sure you stop in.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the ocean side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberticus-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Although a good grade hotel it location is too far from the town, the taxi fares to the town are very expensive between 15 and 20 euros. The hotel nominated taxi was a rip off. The fare was different each time. Considering the hotel has a preferred taxi it does not make any difference to the cost. the taxi driver seemed to just charge as much as possible.
The hotel was focused on weddings and not service to the guests. the hotel swimming pool as not in use due to need to look good for the wedding partys. The resturant was setup for the wedding and not the paying guests. The breakfast selection was very poor as the only thing which seemed to be important was the wedding party. On the whole the hotel should not take booking at the same time as providing weddings. I would not recommend this hotel. I was very dissapointed with the whole experience.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sja_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pozzuoli
2.8 mi away
Villa Luisa Hotel
Villa Luisa Hotel
#1 of 21 in Pozzuoli
349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mini Hotel
Mini Hotel
#5 of 21 in Pozzuoli
196 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel La Tripergola
Hotel La Tripergola
#1 of 1 in Arco Felice
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Il Gabbiano Hotel
Il Gabbiano Hotel
#1 of 1 in Baiae
266 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Casafort
Hotel Casafort
#6 of 21 in Pozzuoli
126 reviews
3.2 mi away
Agave Hotel Residence Inn
Agave Hotel Residence Inn
#4 of 21 in Pozzuoli
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gli Dei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gli Dei Hotel

Property: Gli Dei Hotel
Address: Via Coste di Agnano 21, 80078, Pozzuoli, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pozzuoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pozzuoli
#4 Business Hotel in Pozzuoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gli Dei Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gli Dei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gli Dei Hotel Province Of Naples/Pozzuoli, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing