We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cala Gavitella Beach Club

Cala Gavitella Beach Club
Ranked #28 of 32 Restaurants in Praiano
Price range: US$45 - US$92
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Since april 2011, the gavitella has been under the new expert management of paolo, a positano summer native. At the front of the house there is his charming partner sara, of australian,italian origin, so no language problems.the gavitella is a stunning location between priano and positano away from the beaten tourist track. It is great fun to be picked upand taken home by private boat, courtesy of the patrons..A Perfect place to sunbathe on the deck lounges and swim in the sea from the small rocky beach and afterwards to enjoy a cool drink in the shade, a delicious lunch or a romantic candlelit dinner.the menu has been revisited by the new chef and features fresh fish, local produce, both traditional and contempory cuisine with truly mediterranean italian flavours.it is also possible to anchor your yacht or motor boat infront of the restaurant, telephone them for aperitivo service or to be shuttled to the restaurant for lunch or dinner, just ring and they will collect you.you may want to celebrate wedding receptions, birthdays, anniversaries here, a perfect place.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We enjoyed a fantastic lunch at La Gavitella and wished we had gone back for another meal! I am still dreaming of the lemon pasta I enjoyed that afternoon!This is by far the best dining in Positano and just a short water taxi ride from town...well worth the trip! The staff was friendly and attentive, the food and wine top-notch!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jboh319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salernosara, Proprietario at Cala Gavitella Beach Club, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear client, thank you for your beautifull recention, I am happy you did like the linguine pesce bandiera con limone.
Hope to see you soon, bye La Gavitella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    37
    24
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A shame, not what it once was”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I first came here in 2006 and it was a very memorable experience (when different owners ran the place). The prices were expensive as there are now (ie. 40 euro for whole grilled local fish (sea bass), compared to 16-20 euro elsewhere in Praiano), but the service, quality of food, and nice location made up for that. How things have changed. We went in July 2012, and it was terrible. Firstly, the service, totally useless! The restaurant was hardly busy. The waiter / waitress kept forgetting our requests. Wine list. Bread. Balsamic / Olive Oil. Over and over, we had to keep reminding them to bring it. Inexcusable incompetence, especially for an area where the locals pride themselves on delivering excellent service. Items on the menu couldn't be explained, with attitude shown when asked to give detail. Reading the exact written words back to us, without further explanation. Food took a long time once ordered. The quality was mediocre. Also, we found out after receiving the meals, that the English menu was inexact with what was included in the dishes. For example items listed as "Fish" contain the whole array of seafood including shellfish - as you later find out. The failed to mention these details when asked, as I mentioned. So do yourself a favour, go and eat elsewhere in town. There's plenty of awesome places, half the price. And to the owners, go visit your competition they are blowing you out of the water in all areas.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KWatsonAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salernosara, Proprietario at Cala Gavitella Beach Club, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear client I am sorry you did not like la gavitella.
Bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Provincial Italian Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

On a recent trip with my husband to Italy we spend a wonderful week on the Amalfi Coast. We had been recommended to visit 'La Gavitella' by freinds who had previously visited - and what a lovely unexpected highlight! As it is tucked away from the busy hub of Positano beach we were taken for a short taxi ride by boat to the next alcove - Praiano. La Gavitella sits up overlooking the spectacular coastline and were delighted to meet the English Speaking owner who was very pleasant and gave us all the low-down of the coast, with what to see and do during out stay. As we didnt know what to order the owner suggested for us to try their Chef's recommended special dishes - what a great way to dine! We had a selection of fantastic traditional seafood dishes from the region: Spaghetti with Pipis, Battered White Bait, King Prawns cooked in an amazing sauce, and lots of side dishes to accompany! The local wine recommended was also a great choice - perfect to accompany our meal! After lunch we sunbaked out on the restaurant's daybeds away from all the touristic hussle n bustle of Positano Beach. Relaxing along the beachfront we watched all the local Italian kids frolicking in the ocean then late afternoon we asked the restaurant to organise a taxi boat that came and collected us when we wanted to leave. It was such a lovely way to spend a day out on the Amalfi coast.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salernosara, Proprietario at Cala Gavitella Beach Club, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear client, thank you for the beautifull recention, I am very happy you and your husband liked la gavitella.
I speak a good english because my mother is australian, infact a have a special feeling with australian people.
Hope to see you soon bye La gavitella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The fried anchovies were unbelievable!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Great earthy, fresh, no-frills Italian food.

My wife loved the pastas. I loved the fish - the best of which was a big bowl of fried anchovies with lemon and pepper. Simple, but delicious.

Ask for the special fruit sorbet. This is not on the menu but trust me, you will like it :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Expert_adviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salernosara, Proprietario at Cala Gavitella Beach Club, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear client,
Thank you for the beautifull recention you wrote for us.
We love to receive and read them.
Bye for now hope to see you soon
La gavitella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a let down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We went to La Gavitella following a friends recommendation. It was beyond disappointing and expensive! We were taken from the pier at Positano to the restaurant with the other couple who also had a dinner booking and we thought this was a good service to provide. We had originally booked for 4 people but our friends pulled out at the last minute. The owner who was on the boat seemed miffed when we said it was now just 2 of us. Strange given the restaurant was empty when we got there and it remained that way for the full evening! The waiter we had was fine but the owner got involved at one point with our wine. We ordered a bottle from our waiter and she came back with another bottle saying what we ordered wasnt available. The bottle she suggested was double the price of our first bottle - it was clear she jumped in to try and do the big upsell even though she didnt openly tell us that the bottle was double the price until we asked how much it was! Dodgy. Needless to say it didnt work! The restaurant has a beautiful view over the water but it had absolutely no atmosphere and it was a bit eery being in such a big yet empty restaurant. Furthermore, the food was average and we noticed in the kitchen that they use bought Barilla pasta. Surely at the prices they're charging, they can make their own! All the other restaurants we ate at that were considered better value made their own. When we went to leave the owner said a boat would be waiting downstairs for us at the jetty. She didnt even bother to check and it wasnt there and we had to wait atleast 20 minutes for it. Why send us out to the dimly lit dock when the boat wasnt ready for us?? At that point, a family arrived for a late booking via a water taxi. The taxi was trying to charge them $100 euro one way for the 5 minute ride from Positano! The owner had told them to take a water taxi when they made their reservation, not offering them the free pick up, but she didnt warn them about the price! The poor father was left arguing with both the taxi and the restaurant owner (via phone mind you - she didnt come outside to speak with him) about the cost. There are so many amazing restaurants in Positano with beautiful views, service and food. Dont bother with this one...it fails on all accounts! I'd recommend Da Vincenzo for sure for dinner, Da Adolfo for lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucylous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salernosara, Proprietario at Cala Gavitella Beach Club, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Dear client,
I am sorry you did not enjoy la gavitella.
I was absolutly not miffed because you where 2 and not 4 but I could not understand, if it was you or someone else we had to wait for.
We never use Barilla but we use a pasta that costs 3 euro a kg, and de cecco pasta.
The prices are all written, so how much you want to spend you decide.
For the wine it seems to me very strange what you wrote and even more strange the story of the water taxi.
I think you probably made a big mistake, not understanding italian language .
Bye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cala Gavitella Beach Club also viewed

 
Praiano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Cala Gavitella Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing