We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This vacation was over the top -- so much to do...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of VILLA MICHELINA

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Dana T
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“This vacation was over the top -- so much to do and such beautiful scenery!”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in April 2015

This vacation was one of our favorites. We stayed at Villa Michelina and we felt like extended family. It was everything we hoped it would be and more. The culture was everywhere around us in this villa. There was no denying that we were in Italy and that was what we wanted. Faith gave us so many good recommendations on where to go and where to eat and even took us on a tour to the Isle of Capri, visiting the Blue Grotto on the way. We didn't want for anything. When we stayed close to the villa and went to the beach or restaurants nearby we felt like old friends to everyone we met. When we ventured out exploring places that Faith suggested we were never disappointed. There are so many more places that our family of four would love to explore but we've all agreed that we'd love to go back to Villa Michelina!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Thank you so much Dana! We hope you and your entire family will visit us again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bertilsan...
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
“Villa Michelina is amazing”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Villa Michelina is amazing.
The villa is beautifully decorated, furnished and equipped with every kind of modern equipment to make the stay as pleasant as possible.
In the garden there is a beautiful little pool. There are 3 terraces, one with pizza oven and grill. From one of the terraces there is a wonderful view of the sea. The beach is only a few minutes’ walk from the villa and there are several restaurants at the beach.
The owners Michelina and Umberto are living in a building a few minutes’ walk from the villa and they are always ready to assist with every kind of help and information.
It is not possible to find a better place to spend the holiday than in Villa Michelina.
We have stayed here eleven years in a row. Guess why?
Julianna and Bertil from Sweden

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Michelina and Umberto, the villa and the surroundings.
Liked least: Everything is exellent
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2016
Thank you! We look forward to seeing you next September!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny M
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic villa and location with amazingly hospitable hosts.”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed in this Villa in September 2016 in the first month of my retirement and absolutely loved everything about the experience. We arrived after a fairly hair raising drive from Naples and were immediately made welcome by Michaela and Umberto. The villa is positioned in a fjord leading down to a beautiful marina and beach at Il Praia just outside the village of Praiano. There are many good bars and restaurants by the beach.The villa is very spacious with extremely big and airy rooms and a beautiful traditionally tiled kitchen with all of the equipment to make luxurious meals. There are 3 terraces and a beautiful swimming pool and there is WIFi and air conditioning in the bedrooms. Michaela is a fantastic cook and she spoiled us with her home-made tiramisu on the first day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return, nothing was too much bother, Michaela even got the supermarket owner to send his taxi so we could collect provisions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality of the hosts.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
We really enjoyed having you. We look forward to your return!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phimumom
Atlanta GA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in May 2014

We were one of the first guests to stay at this charming property. The date iof our stay is prior to 2014, but there was no way to enter to correct year. The villa is on top of a hill which overlooks the sea. When we were there, parking for car was provided. with the villa, as the owners operated the adjacent parking business. Please note that a car is not required, but it would be helpful. The villa is situated near a beach in Praiano, and it would be a STEEP climb to get back up to the main road where the bus stops. There are a many steps up to the villa, but the owner helped us with the luggage. The home is charming. Plenty of kitchen items provided. There was a washing machine and a rack for drying; The pool was extremely pleasant. Be advised that one must be in shape and spry to manage the trips to and from the lovely beach. The restaurants by the sea were very good. Our favorite was Il Pirata The only downside is the noise from the garbage trucks picking up from the restaurants very early in the morning, but after a long day, sleep comes easily in such a wonderful setting. You will need to bring a phone, as the trip into town to use the pay phone was a real pain. I do not know about wifi, as we did not travel with a computer. Do not miss this charming villa and the town of Praiano. Bus service from Praiano to Positano and Sorrento, both amazing. You can also arrange boat trips at the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The sea
Liked least: Stairs!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your review and trying to remember your stay at our villa from soo long ago. A lot has changed since you have been here last, and we highly recommend you return for a visit to Villa Michelina.

We now provide our older clients a shuttle service to the top of the main road to catch the bus if needed (however the walk is approx. 2 minutes walking at a slow pace). The beach is right in front of our gate (maybe 100 feet a max.) along with all the restaurants, bars and nightclub. We do recommend a car as taxis do become expensive.
As far as the garbage truck, it no longer picks up at that very early morning hour therefore people in our villa and the nearby hotels are no longer bothered.

As you know, we do everything we can to help you and make your stay as pleasant as can be. We look forward to seeing you again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david_g_l...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Michellina and her family were very welcoming and very helpful during our stay making our holiday a delight. The home was beautifully decorated and the location is superb just a minutes walk from the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
Thank you, hope to see you at Villa Michelina again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mynameisf...
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An idyllic three-generational family holiday in Praiano”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, our two year old daughter, my parents and I stayed for over a week in Villa Michelina in Praiano. We got a warm welcome and plenty of support while we were there. We've been to Praiano before and loved it, so this was a repeat visit, but our first stay at VM. Having a private pool was a big bonus and it's really beautiful. We made good use of it. The terraces were great for meals and sundowners, the villa itself is really spacious and really well-equipped (if you're cooking, you will find everything you could possibly need), and air-conditioned bedrooms were a bonus on a few of those days. It's decorated in a traditional style and it is a family home, so naturally there are lots of knick-knacks, photos, vases etc around the place. We liked being in such close proximity to quite a few restaurants. It meant we could be as lazy or as active as we wanted (and since it was HOT that week, we were pretty lazy). No-one in our group wanted to drive in Italy, so at first, the idea of having to ask for lifts or walking up the cliff to go anywhere felt like a bit of a nuisance, but it really was fine. Even with a baby. There's an affordable eco-taxi driver in the city who drives a buggy, Umberto (the owner) is always happy to help out whenever he can, and the grocery store in Praiano will send a car to pick you up and drop you off. Some restaurants in Praiano up in the hills offer free shuttles, too. Plus, water taxi is a really cool way to travel and they leave almost right outside your front door. We didn't bother too much with the local or SITA buses but there are plenty of them. Faith and Michelina were helpful and accommodating the whole time the complimentary orange liqueur Michelina left for us on arrival was fantastic. You'd be hard pressed to find more accommodating hosts and a more exquisitely beautiful part of the world to spend some time. I would recommend this villa for small groups and families due to its convenience, space, facilities and support.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thank you! We are looking forward to your next visit with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Home and Ideal Location”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had the wonderful opportunity to stay one week at Villa Michelina. From our arrival to departure everything was perfect. The home is beautifully decorated with every amenity you could hope for. Faith met us upon arrival and was gracious and accommodating helping to insure we had everything we might need for the week. The location was ideal as the home is situated minutes from the beach. We could spend the day in the water and walk back and forth so easily. The restaurants were also minutes away and provided such a wonderful experience within walking distance with a great sense safety at night. The home is very large and provided many unique area's to dine, even an outdoor kitchen which we used several days. We couldn't have hoped for a better experience and will welcome the opportunity to return. Lastly we traveled with teenagers and the home provided the boys a nice sense of freedom yet confined to a small area that provided us the ability to communicate easily when needed. Lastly Faith whom helped us with all coordination for the week stood out as another reason we would hope to return. She was warm, welcoming, spoke English as well as Italian and was so personable. It was if we new her for years. Her mother in law surprised us with a special Italian desert one day...it doesn't get much better! Villa Michelina and the family created a memory we will always treasure.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thank you so much, we hope we will see you again at Villa Michelina!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing