We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of Hotel Pellegrino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pellegrino
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Pellegrino in late August. When we arrived Luigi and his wife greeted us. The first night there we had dinner at the restaurant and it was excellent you could tell it was made fresh to order, they served an anchovies that was stuffed with cheese and breaded and it was fabulous (and I don't like anchovies). The breakfast was perfect, fresh fruit and breads and the eggs my husband said were the best he has ever had. Our second day we were asking Luigi how to take the bus into Positano and he graciously offered to drive us in his car and drop us off near the beach, when he dropped us off he told us to call him when we were ready to come back to the hotel and he would come and pick us up. The rooms are clean with air-conditioning, and had a lovely view of the ocean from our balcony. Everyone was so friendly it made you feel right at home. The Amalfi coast is beautiful and within walking distance you were in Praiano which had a small market and a couple of restaurants. If you are looking for a nice and quiet out of the way place this is the place to check out. Thank you Luigi for making our visit so special.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife, sister, brother-in-law, and I had the good fortune to stay at Hotel Pellegrino in September. I had booked our reservation last year after reading the reviews in TripAdvisor and we could not have been more pleased. Luigi, Sandra, and their daughter, the owners, are wonderful hosts. Luigi, btw, has a great sense of humor. He also is a music lover and loves technology. He has downloaded hundreds of songs to his laptop and plays these at dinner in the hotel restaurant on a nice sound system. Did I say dinner? The hotel restaurant is absolutely magnifico! It's so good, we ate dinner there three of the four nights of our stay (and wished we had eaten all four). The lasagna melts in your mouth, a recipe handed down to Luigi from his grandmother. Breakfast is included and is easily the best we had our 16 days in Italy. I know a few reviewers on TripAdvisor felt dinner was too pricey, but I strongly disagree. We averaged 60 Euros/dinner for two people, including a bottle of wine that was split between the four of us. The same dinner would have been about 80 Euros anywhere else, and the quality not as good, unless you were lucky (in Rome, you would spend 90-100 Euros). But enough about food. Our room was very, very nice. My wife and I were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and Luigi treated us to a suite at no additional charge. Our view was directly overlooking the Amalfi coast and spectacular (I think all rooms have a similar view). The hotel is next to the highway, but noise was not a problem. Just close your double-pane sliding glass door at night. I (the four of us) HIGHLY recommend Hotel Pellegrino to anyone staying on the Amalfi Coast. You will enjoy!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boatspapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Pros:
1. Great location with frequent bus service just out the door for easy quick access to Positano, Ravello, Amalfi, Sorrento, etc.
2. Rooms were very nice, very clean and updated with roomy shower, comfortable mattress and nice patio for two to sit outside.
3. Very warmly but also very professionally run.
4. The total food offered was awesome plus the ambience of the indoor and outdoor dining areas was perfect...accented with really nice music from a superior sound system. The breakfasts were the best we had in Italy by far and the dinner was something we looked forward to every night. We were there three nights and ate there all three. Very romantic also.
5. Free parking if needed.
6. Laundering services offered for 15€ per load. Very fair and convenient.
7. Reasonably priced.
8. A beautiful view from most areas.
9. Luigi and family were perfect hosts.
10. Would I stay there again? Yes, I look forward to doing so.

Cons:

None. I literally looked forward to going back to the room after a long day knowing the room and evening meal would be waiting and perfect.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I arrived at Hotel Pellegrino after a long and exhausting journey from Rome. We booked this hotel based on all of the positive reviews other travelers gave, and all of the praise was absolutely true. When we arrived, our hosts made us feel so welcome. Our room was wonderful and spacious, and the view of the Amalfi Coast from our balcony was spectacular! We were invited to enjoy a welcome drink (aka an entire bottle of wine!) on the 3rd floor when we were settled into our room.

The food here was among the very best we had in all 11 days we were in Italy. Seafood was a big thing in this part of Italy, and since we are from the middle of the United States, fresh seafood is always a delicious treat. Luigi does seafood extremely well, and the Swordfish, octopus salad, and oysters were among our favorites. The cakes and crostata that are prepared daily....TO DIE FOR! Even breakfast, which is not a typical Italian meal, and consisted of Nutella and bread when in Rome, was executed to perfection. We were brought wonderful fresh squeezed juice, fresh fruit, bread, homemade fruit spreads, yogurt, made-to-order cappicino and espresso, and if that isn't enough, "bacon and eggs" if you wanted them. My husband and I loved the way that Luigi prepared scrambled eggs with proscuitto, bruschetta, aged cheese, and olives so much we have been recreating and eating it for breakfast since being home in the States.

Nothing is too much to ask of the Pellegrinos when it comes to getting around and suggestions for meals and activities. One day, we asked how to get to the beach, and Luigi noticed we did not have any beach towels. He found some extra towels for us and then drove us to the area where you begin the gorgeous hike down to the beach. He even offered to come and pick us up when we were finished there.

No place we have been has ever been so wonderful for the price. We want to come back to the Amalfi Coast with our families, and if we do, we will not hesitate to stay here again. The Pellegrinos will truly treat you like family when you stay with them. That is such a wonderful feeling when you are in a strange new place and are far from your own family.

Room Tip: Room 201 could easily sleep a family of 4. There are two bathrooms. The master bathroom has the BE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our host was amazing, and his family could not do more to make us feel like we were staying in their home. Beautifully cooked meals and genuine people. Rooms were spotless, great location. Would highly recommend. Also staying in Praiano is much more peaceful than neighbouring Almalfi or Positano.

Room Tip: Ask for room 29 with the beautifully renovated huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwhittle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed at the Hotel Pellegrino for four days. Our host, Luigi and his family made us all feel like family. Although it is a small hotel, it had everything and more you could ask for. The included breakfast was outstanding (and seemed never ending), and the dinners were first class. Located between Amalfi and Positano, it is a great location for visiting both for day trips. The 20 minute walk into the town of Praiano was easy and well worth it. You'll find good shopping for food and wine. The local cafe was a great place to stop at for a glass of wine on the outdoor terrace. If you're up for the hike, the walk to the local beach called One Fire Beach Club is well worth it. The staff, the music and the Italian beer was a real treat, not to mention the fantastic views. All-in-all, the Hotel Pellegrino was a real gem of a find. I highly recommend it if your planning on a trip to the coast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I promised myself I would write a review the minute I got home - but life got busy and here I am 2 weeks later dreaming of a chilled white wine on the balcony of Hotel Pellegrino watching the sun go down. This truly is one of the best places I have stayed on vacation.
Firstly, Praiano is the pick of the Amalfi Coast. It's peaceful, quaint, hidden away from the crowds and the perfect base for day trips to Ravello, Amalif, Capri and Positano. The restaurants (all within walking distance of Hotel Pellegrino) are some of the best we visited and OneFire Beach Club is a must for lying on a deck chair beside the ocean, listening to great music and being served Aperol Spritz by the entertaining bar host.
And then there's Luigi and his family, who from the moment we arrived, made us feel like one of them! The rooms are simple yet clean and comfortable but it is the service that you simply can't get anywhere else. From the welcome drinks and snacks, the home-made cake, the carefully picked Italian wines, the complimentary appetisers at dinner and the amazing breakfast spread - to the travel tips, transfers, general knowledge and just genuine hospitality. Luigi and Hotel Pellegrino made our trip one of the best we've ever had so you'd be crazy not to book here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.6 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,540 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
1,065 reviews
3.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pellegrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pellegrino

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 190, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#2 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: £126 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pellegrino 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pellegrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pellegrino Pensione Praiano
Pellegrino Pensione Hotel Praiano
Hotel Pellegrino Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing