We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great personal service in comfy pensione”
Review of Hotel Pellegrino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pellegrino
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Luigi and family are incredible hosts! We were welcomed with a nice glass of wine and home-baked cake in the beautiful upstairs dining room (with seats on the balcony overlooking the coast). We were amazed to find out that Luigi provides wine and cake every night to his guests at no additional cost. He also offered to pick us up from Positano, Amalfi, or the Praiano marina using his own car. We took him up one time and his sister promptly showed up to drive us back - amazing personal service! Luigi also has bus tickets available and the bus stop literally right outside of the hotel, so it is very convenient to get to Positano, Amalfi, or any other city on the Amalfi Coast (we took a bus to Sorrento then train to Pompeii one day). The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the price is right. Great place to stay in the Amalfi Coast and we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at Pensione Pellegrino in mid May for 4 nights along with 2 other couples. Luigi and his family could not have done more to make our visit enjoyable. Each couple had a large room with lots of closet space & we all had spectacular views off our balconies. The rooms were spotlessly clean as were all the common areas. This is a 3 star hotel so of course the bathroom isn't equipped with fancy toiletries & fluffy towels/robes, nor are there mints on your pillow at night but what makes Pellegrino special is the attention Luigi gives to his guests, along with the stunning location. Luigi was always happy to let us hang out in the dining room balconey with a bottle (or two) of wine before dinner, gave us directions to places we wanted to go and even drove us to a few of them. Praiano is small and quiet but we found it offered plenty of choice with regards to restaurants and bars. We ate out every night although Luigi did say he would bring someone in to cook for us at the hotel if we chose. He has a beautiful dining room which seemed to be newly added. The "beach" is a fairly arduous jaunt down from the hotel but as we weren't there for a beach holiday, it didn't bother us at all. I think the only disappointing aspect for me was the public bus service. It didn't seem to run very frequently & consequently was very crowded. We often ended up just taking a cab which was quite expensive. But that of course has nothing to do with the Pensione Pellegrino, which was delightful.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

My wife and I stayed here in April. We simly can't recommend a better place to stay! Luigi and his family are very friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the hotel 2 nights, and on both occassions the food was excellent (betther than at some restaurants we ate at in Italy!).

Luigi also provided lots of information about the area, and tips on doing the Walk of the Gods.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

If you are walking at the amalfi coast visit the hotel. The owner kwnows a lot of
the pathways and is very helpfull. Breakfat is great ! The rooms comfortable with a beautifull view over the sea

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visijmuiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Very cordial and pleasant welcome with drinks and homemade delicacies by the owners of the hotel. Very neat , renovated, air conditioned chambers with balcony and sea vieuw. Vast breakfast with fresh fruit, yoghourt, bread, wafers,... Also possibility to have a delicious diner with fish specialities at request. Situated on the national road along the coast, 100 metres from town. Well starting point for hiking the path of the Gods. Possibility to swim at the public beach in the village. One speaks well English.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lie7jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

My partner and i stayed at Pellegrino Pensione for the last week in October with my partner's sister and brother in law. None of us can recommend it enough.
Whilst we found the Amalfi Coast second to none in beauty, our stay at the hotel just perfected our holiday. In all our years of travelling we have never encountered such a host as Luigi, nothing was too much trouble for him. The rooms were spacious and very clean, and the restaurant on the top floor had views to die for. We had breakfast every morning on the top floor veranda overlooking the sea, enjoying locally grown fruits and Luigi's homemade preserves - which were delicious especially the fig and chocolate!
We found Praiano a great base for exploring. Situated between Positano and Amalfi it made trips to Sorento, Pompei, Revello etc all within easy distance and although we had a car we found it easy to reach these destinations by the local buses. Most of these towns have limited parking and so the bus can be an attractive option, however in October parking wasn't a problem. Luigi does offers free parking in the hotel garage so you can leave the car there and bus it, for example - we took a day trip to Capri, taking the 15 min bus ride to Positano and then the boat to Capri, this was cheaper than parking for the day in Positano.
We will definately re-visit Luigi on our next trip to the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenSurbiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

My husband and I enjoyed celebrating our first year anniversary touring Italy. One of the best parts of the trip was visiting the Almalfi coast and staying at Pensione Pellegrino. The service that Luigi provided was outstanding. The beautiful ocean view from our outdoor terrace was beautiful. One of the best parts was the fact that we were able to park our rental car safely in their garage. Luigi's culinary skills are also delicious as we enjoyed them each day. We will be sure to return the Pensione Pellegrino on our next trip to Italy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leahrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.6 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,587 reviews
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
844 reviews
3.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pellegrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pellegrino

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 190, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#2 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range: £88 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pellegrino 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pellegrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pellegrino Pensione Praiano
Pellegrino Pensione Hotel Praiano
Hotel Pellegrino Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing