We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view is worth the hike!”
Review of Locanda degli Dei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda degli Dei
Ranked #2 of 12 Praiano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The view is worth the hike!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here in September for a week. The B&B is extremely clean and well maintained. The view from our room was amazing. The breakfast every morning included fresh pastries, meats and cheeses, bread, yogurt and espressos freshly made (and delicious! no need for lunch most days!). The value is unbeatable, but the reason becomes clear at the end of the day when you are ready to make your way back up to the inn. The stairs are difficulty but parking on the main drag can be even more difficult, and so for those faint of heart this place is not for you!

Overall, Praiano is the perfect town for people who want to explore the coast but still have some intimacy. It feels so cozy compared to the hustle of neighboring Amalfi and Positano. Please do the walk of the Gods (our absolute favorite day of the entire trip!). The hike is amazing and there is an entrance just across the street from the B&B. Just note, if you are out of shape or unable to walk uphill/do 300 stairs then this place is simply not for you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
167
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on honeymoon. The walk to the b&b from the town isnt for the faint hearted but we knew this before we booked. We had a car and there was parking right by the accommodation on street.

The views from the rooms are stunning sndt Franco brought us a lovely breakfast on our balcony everyday. We'd just call Franco and he'd bring a sumptuous selection of fresh juice, coffee, home made pastries and more.

Franco made us feel very welcome, giving us a cappuccino on arrival and told us the best places to eat, visit and the nicest beaches.

Would thoroughly recommend this b&b.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank toypig84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We have had an awesome stay at the Locanda degli Dei with Franko looking after us admirably. He speaks a little English and we speak no Italian sadly, so communication is a lot of fun. We have the best view in town as we are so high up. The room is perfect, clean and quiet. Franko makes the best cappuccinos. We are here in November which is not the tourist season so a lot of restaurants are closed but the few that are open are very good. We are lucky to have a car and can drive to nearby Positano and Amalfi for dinner where there is a good selection of eating places. Weather is generally sunny with a little rain but nothing to stop us getting about. The temperatures are cooler but when you climb as many steps as we are doing daily, the cool days are a bonus. We will have had two weeks here by the time we leave and it has allowed us a good amount of time to see the Amalfi Coast thoroughly enough for a first visit. Highlights have been - Paestum to walk among the Greek/Roman ruins with three majestic Greek temples, better preserved than most in Greece - whoops, went on a Monday and the Museum was closed! - Herculaneum(Ercolana) to see the result of the destruction by the eruption of Vesuvius. This was a smaller, better preserved alternative to Pompeii. Then we drove up Mt.Vesuvius to see the crater - whoops, got there at 3.50 and it closes at 4pm. - We walked from our B. & B. up one thousand steps to the Sentiero degli dei (walk of the gods) and across to the village of Montepertuso, a small village high up behind Positano where we found an awesome family run trattoria called La Tagliata. Whoops, it was a Sunday and full of local families and we hadn't booked! They were lovely and found us a table to eat the best Italian meal we have eaten so far.

Room Tip: We are in the Bacco room which is downstairs and has a garden terrace. The rooms upstairs also have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaBWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed for a week at Franco's lovely B&B. We were very pleased we arrived by car as it is located right at the very top of Praiano, walking up the steep roads and steps would have been very difficult with luggage. Many others staying there had a car and Franco recommended we hire a scooter. We decided against hiring a scooter (the roads are hectic!) and went on foot for the week. Once we knew our way around town a bit and could navigate the buses all was fine. We just needed to be prepared for the whole day (it's not the type of place you can duck up to quickly!). Franco was very welcoming and provided a tasty, fresh breakfast each morning. He arranged the Capri tour and happily dropped us off at the marina. Praiano itself is a charming town with lots of locals and far less busy/ touristy than Positano. I found it helpful to visit the tourist information centre for information about the town and buses. Be warned- we visited in September and the SITA buses were very, very busy. Often so busy they refused passengers. They also do not come very often... so it did take quite some time to move around the coast from Praiano. However, the views from everywhere in town are outstanding so it was never too bad to have to wait! The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a room on the bottom floor which included a beautiful outdoor area with table and chairs where we ate breakfast each morning. We had a fantastic week, found Praiano a good base to explore the Amalfi coast, enjoyed some delicious food, spectacular walks, great weather and friendly service.

Room Tip: The rooms 'Bacco' and 'Cupido' include outdoor area with chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

If you're looking for a friendly, family-run place that offers some peace and quiet amidst the throngs of tourists, Locanda degli Dei is perfect. Franco is a kind host who does everything he can to make your stay pleasant, and his daughter and son regularly help out at the family establishment. The rooms are very spacious and beautiful - very good value for the price - with beautiful views over the sea. We stayed in the two rooms on the ground floor, which open onto a private garden terrace where breakfast is served every morning. Breakfast is delicious - every day we were given croissants with different fillings, a type of cake, toast and jams, coffees, juice, yoghurt and platters of ham and cheese. The locanda is very high up, but the steep walk was manageable and Franco lifted us to the main road and to restaurants whenever we wanted to. The views were spectacular, and for such good value, this is a place I'd come back to any day!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

This is a great B&B on Amalfi coast between Positano and Amalfi. The rooms are very clean with great attention to detail. Franco and his son are fantastic hosts. Although high up where a car might be advisable, we survived a week and got plenty of exercise up and down the steps. Fantastic views and a great way to wear off all that pasta!lLoved or breakfasts on the patio in the morning! A great way to start the day!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy1485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napoli
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Very well located if you have your car is located between Positano and Amalfi in Praiano. Clean, excellent breakfast and stunning view from the rooms. The family running the business is very helpful but , I should admit, all over Amalfi Coast they pamper guess.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vichi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.1 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Saracena
Hotel Torre Saracena
#9 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#3 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda degli Dei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda degli Dei

Property: Locanda degli Dei
Address: Via Pistiello II, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Locanda degli Dei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Degli Dei Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing