We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfetto!!”
Review of Calanteluna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Calanteluna
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfetto!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a full week at the end of May and beginning of June. It really was so perfect and Elia was so helpful and made everything wonderful. We also got to meet the his Mama, Papa, brothers and Aunt, Such beautiful people and made us feel so welcome! We stayed at the apartment at the very top (143 steps) but so worth it. The view is just amazing!! I was perfect for us and loved having the small but nicely equipped kitchen to make breakfast each morning and also made dinner two times as well. The bed was comfortable and linens were soft and very nice. Everything was clean and well thought out. It was very easy to get to the coffee shop, grocery, and restaurants from the apartment. We had dinner at the family's restaurant in Positano and enjoyed the food and atmosphere very much. I got to celebrate my birthday while there and Elia helped my husband arrange a boat tour to Capri and it was really awesome! The boat's captain Fabio was incredible and took us to so many beautiful spots on the way there and back. So worth it and we only had three other couples on the boat so it wasn't on a crowded tour boat. We plan to come back with our two children one day and stay in one of their larger apartments. I hope sooner than later!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDeLibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
66
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here in mid April and it was simply stunning! The view is incredible-one of those places where 1000 photos aren't enough. Yes, there are lots of stairs, but there are landings as well for rest breaks if needed. The owners help with taking luggage up so that wasn't an issue and then homegrown, home made lemon drink is served... I don't think we would have had such an incredible Amalfi experience without the view and the accommodation & hospitality on offer. The accommodation is wonderful. We were a blended family and there really are 2 separate areas in the apartment we had (Case de Sol?). Upstairs a large bedroom, with sea view, separate small sitting area and own bathroom-also with view to Capri. On the main level there was another bedroom, with sea view, separate bathroom with washing machine, small kitchen, fridge, stove etc and a pull out sofa bed for our son. As such we had 5 of us in the apartment and it was comfortable. We stayed a week (recommended) & were able to take in Capri, Paestum, Ravello, Amalfi, Pompeii & Herculaneum by doing day trips from this wonderful base. We had 2 small cars & at that time of the year we didn't have parking issues, although in high season this may be different? The terrace of the apartment is huge-we had a number of meals outside at night and enjoyed the amazing view to Capri and back to Positano. Our hosts were wonderful-no request was too much trouble. The apartment was beautifully clean & on hot days Mama would bring a jug of home made lemon drink-it really was like having good friends on hand to help us!
Praiano is also a bit quieter than some of the other towns along the way-but very well positioned for trips to both the north and south from here. It was easy to walk to the local supermarket down the hill and the delicious, wonderful & highly recommended, licensed Il Rifugo restaurant (I will write separately to review this). All in all we loved our time here, it was a real treat and offered great value for money as well. We would certainly return if ever we visit the Amalfi Coast again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ossitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I am a bit delayed in writing this review. It is certainly not reflective of my experience here. Every step of the way was easy with Elia and Pietro. The 1 bedroom apartment was in a great location, walkable to everything in the town. Even when we had troubles with the ATM closest to the apartment (it turned off our card because the machine was compromised), Pietro was there to let us use his phone and even drive us on his scooter to the other ATM in town. He gave us recommendations for dining and even booked us on the boat to Capri. They are all about the experience and enjoying yourself, which we did immensely. We really did not want to leave and actually considered going back this year again if it had worked in our schedule. I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone wanting the Amalfi Coast experience and not wanting the craziness of the other larger towns. We were happy to catch the bus to Amalfi and Ravello but to return to the quiet of this smaller town. There were great restaurants in town so we did not feel like we were missing out on anything! Come here and enjoy yourself!

Room Tip: Be prepared for stairs but this is to be expected coming to the Amalfi Coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apomposelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a wonderful, very relaxing time a Calanteluna. The place is so beautiful with stunning views over the see from every window of the apartment and the terraces that there would be no need to go anywhere else, if there weren't other stunning places to visit along the coast... We have spent some time just lying in the sunbeds enjoying the breathtaking surrounding.
The Family running Calanteluna are super nice and very helpful and we had a great time with Elia, who besides speaks excellently english.
We are counting the days to come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent a wonderful week at Calanteluna in July 2013 in the apartment at the top of the property. This space was truly magical - the view of the sea from our balcony, bedroom and even bathroom :) was stunning. Our accommodation was not large, but everything was modern and logically placed to make a small area seem uncluttered and spacious. The little kitchenette allowed us to freedom to prepare breakfast, and several great restaurants and a small grocery store were a very short stroll away. The long flight of stairs leading to our apartment was no big deal, only a challenge when moving heavy suitcases up - but our very gracious host Elias was quick to offer his help. Many times during our stay he checked to make sure we had everything we needed and offered helpful recommendations about local transportation, attractions, restaurants, and even a memorable boat ride to Capri. The shared garden area with 'cool' tub was a great place to unwind and enjoy the surroundings. We were very lucky to have this to ourselves for a couple of days during our stay. Our week at Calanteluna felt indulgent in every way, and proved to be the perfect escape.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emarinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Calanteluna at the beginning of August this year for a week, which neither of us will forget. After trawling through tripadvisor and various other portals for recommendations we decided upon Calanteluna given the amount of positive reviews the place received - we were not disappointed by our choice.

After being wonderfully greeted by Elia, our charming host who could not do enough to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, we were shown to our room.

We stayed in the two person apartment at the top of the property, which was spacious and clean affording breathtaking views out to sea and the whole of the amalfi coast leading to Capri. We were initially suspicious of the pictures we saw on the website thinking it couldn't possibly be that amazing, but it was!

The garden area complete with hammock and hot tub, was a welcome oasis after climbing the stairs to the property. We spent many an evening watching the sun dip into the sea and relaxing in the tub before going out and sampling the numerous delightful restaurants in Praiano and beyond.

Yes there are a lot of steps up to the property, they are steep and it is a lot more steps to the beach. However, this is the Amalfi coast, it's steepness and architectural peculiarities are what makes this place so beautiful. Trust me, the effort is worth it every time and you do get used to it after a while.

We also stayed one night at the end of our stay in the family owned B&B above the restaurant Saraceno d'Oro in Positano. Whilst this place lacked the breathtaking views of Calanteluna, it still possessed its own charms. The breakfast on your own private balcony and the honesty bar were both very nice touches. Once again Elia and his brother Pietro did all they could to make our stay as special as possible and once again they succeeded with room to spare.

This was truly one of the best holidays we have ever had in one of the most spectacular locations. Elia and Pietro thank you, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here in July as a family of 5. I can honestly say Calanteluna Relais is everything you want, everything you expect and more!!
Pietro and Elia are the perfect hosts. We were blown away by the hospitality and experience these two brothers showed us. Where else do you go where the hosts great you in the mornings as they come to the property to ensure everything is clean and you have everything you want? On our last night Elia came to say goodbye and ended up staying for a chat and sharing watermelon with us on the truely breathtaking balcony. We had dinner at the family restaurant in Positano and still talk about it! It was brilliant. The best gnocchi we have ever had. This family is a true reflection of Italian hospitality - nothing is too much trouble, everyone is treated like a friend. Genuine people with a genuine passion for making guests happy.
LOCATION cannot be beaten! Truely amazing in every sense. Bus stops just down the street, shops nearby, beach may be 500 steps down but worth every step. And view? The view from every room, from every inch of balcony and open space is breathtaking. What you see in the listing is true to its word. There is no trick photography here, the photos are as real as you get.
The apartment has everything you could possibly want. Spotless is an understatement. We This property doesn't feel like a holiday rental, it feels like home.
There is nothing this family could do to improve the property or the experience. We travelled most of Italy, we saw some amzing places and experienced some truely amazing things, but this one is definitley up there as a true favourite. I happily recommend this property to everyone that talks about going to Amalfi Coast.
Thankyou Pietro and Elia for an unforgettable experience!! We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra_gennaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praiano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#4 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Saracena
Hotel Torre Saracena
#9 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calanteluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calanteluna

Property: Calanteluna
Address: Via Casa Cinque 4, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Calanteluna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calanteluna Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing