We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Onda Verde
Nearby Hotels
Casa Angelina(Praiano)
US$822
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Fioriere(Praiano)(Great Value!)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Il Pino(Praiano)(Great Value!)
US$1,197
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$266
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
US$282
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Open Gate(Praiano)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Holiday(Praiano)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveller rating
863
177
29
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
863
177
29
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmilano familyamalfi coastwater taxithe busthe cliffil pirataour honeymoonsmall beachhalf boardeasy accesssun decknaples airportrestaurant staffbreathtaking viewsbreakfast and dinnereach morningthe hotel's restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
756 - 761 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We drove from Naples and it was like a roller coaster! Great fun but not for the faint hearted at all! Far better you get Miro to arrange to have you met & driven to Hotel. Once there it is a "pinch me I’m dreaming" place. Run by the Milano family you are treated as if you are one of the Family! Francesco the Son works on the front of house things and NOTHING is ever too much trouble. He wanders around the restaurant and one can clearly see he loves his job. The place is not at all fussy & portrays the image of a time past with its peaceful location & enchanting views from your room. We viewed a few of the rooms whilst there and could not find one we would not highly recommend. Ours had a balcony overlooking the fishing village below and had a Spa bath with a shower. TV. with English channels (BBC CNN etc) but did not watch it much. There were also various radio stations available. Rooms were plenty big enough with lots of wardrobe space. You get lots of opportunity to walk off the magnificent "in house" food the Chef produces each day. You WILL eat too much .. How can you resist! But a stroll down the steps to other bars & cliff tops and the fishing beach helps give you an appetite for the next delight that Chef conjures up! We were simply sitting outside on the veranda enjoying a quiet cocktail overlooking the ocean & boats when out came the chef with a grin as big as his Menu ... He had made some special small pies just for us to sample, no charge, he was just that proud of his cooking! Miro the father has run this place for nearly fifty years (he looks very young to have but I believe him) his wife and children assist!
The waiters are friendly and obliging and nothing is ever too much trouble.
....
We much prefer this Hotel tucked away atop a hill in a quiet place then downtown ones or those in more Tourist places nearby. The hotel can arrange a taxi to anywhere you wish for a very reasonable charge. We took the Water Taxi which was great fun. The hotel arranged a speed boat trip to Capri (we paused at the Blue Lagoon) and had a trip to Pompeii and other places of interest. Location is superb if you enjoy walking - Recommended if you seek to get away from everything or are on Honeymoon - restful at night - recommended for food - Just a dream like place. There is a tight tiny (tiny!) car park atop the hotel with lift to all areas but again we recommend the hotel driver collects you. If you like cliff views & a balcony overlooking the ocean & fishing village .... This is the place. I just can not see how anyone can not love it here! I was with my Wife & her Business partner. It was a snap decision trip over the extended "Royal Wedding" weekend, Best thing we ever did and as enjoyable as any place we have ever been! We WILL go back this year now we have found it. This place will get busier as word gets out on its recently improved quality rooms etc. Ask Miro for his SPECIAL extended visit rate which includes food & trips to Capri etc. It is really good value.

Room Tip: Drive along coast is not for light hearted!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank info-on-ENGLAND-FREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Me and my mother stayed at this hotel for a week on a special 7 night package (breakfast and dinner included for each night of the stay, plus transportation to and from Naples airport and 2 guided tours ) We really enjoyed our stay!
The hotel is in a beautiful location: Quiet and with amazing views but also convenient for public transport. It's set on multiple levels on the cliffside with a private beach at the bottom where you can catch a water taxi (we did this to and from Positano with a group of 4 others from the hotel, great way to travel but would be expensive for just a couple)
We both loved the variety of food available at breakfast, especially the cakes and other pastries! There was the odd dinner we weren't as keen on but that is to be expected with a half board option I think. We never felt the need to complain but the staff seemed eager to please and were very accomodating so i'm sure they'd provide an alternative meal if anyone needed/wanted it.
The transportation to and from the airport was excellent and we had the same driver and Mercedes for both journeys, this is something we would definitely have paid for separately if it hadn't been included.
We enjoyed the tour to Pompei and Vesuvius but felt we would have appreciated more time at Vesuvius rather than the trip to the coral factory afterwards which didn't add much to the day and was just a hard sell really... I have a feeling the tour operator gets a financial incentive for including it! We didn't get to use our other tour to Capri due to high winds but we received a full refund for this and visited on our own using the ferry from Positano.
We visited Amalfi, Positano and Sorrento using the Costa buses which run along the main road. Even in October these were full to bursting most of the time and more often than not it was standing room early which was tough for my mother who has mobility problems and uses a stick but in most cases someone kindly gave up their seat for her so it wasn't a huge problem. I think they could do with being more regular though, especially as driving on the Amalfi Coast is a daunting prospect for many tourists (me and my mother included!)
This was my first visit to Italy and i'm sure it won't be the last!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

My husband and I stayed with Miro and his family at their Family owned and operated Hotel Onda Verde on the Amalfi Coast in April 2011. After a very interesting train ride, we opted to have Miro arrange for a driver pick us up from Sorrento as opposed to taking the SITA bus that runs from Sorrento to Praiano. The drive is beautiful out to Praiano. Francesco welcomed my husband and I with open arms; we are an young, American, multi-ethnic couple who receives strange looks from some people who do not realize that I am a Ph.D. and my husband also has a professional degree beyond a Bachelors; we're normal, happy, friendly, law-abiding citizens who like to travel the world. Everyone was kind, friendly, hospitable, wonderful to talk to, just really pleasant. The room was wonderful; super clean (I am a clean/germ/neat freak) and I was thrilled. The bed was comfortable - two twins pushed together with a thick pad on top that covered the middle so the gap wasn't noticeable. The bed (letto) had the warmest blankets; we slept with the doors open to the terrazza. We opted to purchase our room with half board, which included breakfast and dinner each day. The food was very good. Breakfast was typical Italian breakfast. Dinner was great! Large selection of seafood caught right there in the Sea and prepared by Chef. We loved the food, wine, service, and company. There are restaurants around the hotel, but we chose to eat with Miro; much easier. We went on the trip to Capri and had a ball. Worth the money and time. The hotel arranges it for you. Great time. One of our favorite things was the silence. It was so quiet, relaxing...not an airplane in sight for days. No loud cars. Just little tiny quiet cars, little scooters, little fishing boats, sea gulls. Perfetto!!!

We cannot wait to go back. Hat is off to Miro, his family and the Hotel Onda Verde!!! :)

***The hotel is extremely remote. We highly recommend if you have lots of luggage or are not good with TrenItalia, have MIro's driver pick you up in Napoli. **Do not try the Circumsuveviana. It could be very confusing or even dangerous if you do not speak Italian. I am extremely good with the Treni, speak Italian, and I was confused by that system. It is not TrenItalia. There were drunks, homeless, very questionable individuals on the circumsu. treno. Professionally we are not who are normally bothered by individuals from various socio-economic stratus, various races, ethnicities, cultures, etc., but this was not very comfortable. We would not allow our parents or children to travel on that treno; put it that way and my Dad lived in Europe for years. We normally travel EuroStar/FrecchiaRossa/Gento; this other treno was more like the worst inner city treno I'd ever seen. Avoid this: Simply have Miro arrange to have you picked up by the company called "Flavio" (Antonino owns it) and all will be ok. We were charged 90 Euro from the hotel to Napoli. Some drivers wanted 120 Euro, Antonino was cheaper. Next time, we will take the EuroStar to Napoli and be picked up there by Antonino, then Antonino will take us back...problem solved. No more Circumsuviana Treno.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucia04162011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

This place is magical. The hotel is built into the side of a cliff next to a tiny fishing village. It's much more warm and welcoming than the scene in nearby Positano. The view is breath-taking, no matter the weather. The staff are wonderful. Be prepared to eat some amazing seafood. The chef leaves trays of homemade treats for guests between meals. We would go back in a second.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Hotel Onde Verde and staff,
MEMORABLE!!! That is what you made Italy for us. We LOVED, LOVED, LOVED your place!!!! We are world travelers and have seen many places we'd love to return to for a visit...but, none where we would love to move in...until Hotel Onde Verde!

Naples, Positano, even Capri were minimized when we got to your hotel. Set on the most beautiful coastal views in the lovilest cove was Hotel Onde Verde. The warmest and friendliest staff ever, we immediately felt at home. Your hotel was so beautiful, clean, and relaxing we felt as if we were at a 5 star spa in the most beautiful place in the world. The food prepared daily by Nicola was the best we've ever eaten. His charming personality and how he welcomed us right into the kitchen to cook and taste, made our whole trip! He's such a wonderful part of your hotel and so charismatic. Daily we were served cappuccino's and incredible homemade desserts out on the balcony overlooking the panoramic views of the deep blue waters and colorful wooden boats (see pictures)...we never wanted to leave! (Thank's to Pepe, Michael, and Sofia...we love you!)In fact, one day we were to spend the entire day in Positano shopping and eating and within 2 hours of being dropped off by water taxi, we were tired of Positano and it's busy pace and were ready to go back to "OUR" slice of heaven at Hotel Onde Verde. From the first day we found your son, Francesco was so energentic, friendly, and really enjoyed our conversations with him. What a blessing he is for you. And speaking of conversations, that was another unique thing about your hotel over many others, it seemed most everyone who worked at your hotel spoke english very well and that really helped us connect with your staff. And your suggestion to take a private taxi to Naples our last day was GREAT!!! We had such a wonderful trip back and were able to relax and go door to door.

We've told everyone who will listen about our "FAVORITE" part of our trip to Italy...Hotel Onde Verde and we can't wait to return. Many who have seen our pictures have asked for hotel info and want to plan their "dream get away" too.

Thank you for all you and your staff did to make our 10th Anniversary UNFORGETABLE! I've attached some pictures. HUGS to each of you!! I would HIGHLY recommend Hotel Onde Verde!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodieloverStPete_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews