We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!”
Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
mobile, alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Found!”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My husband and I recently returrned from our fifth visit to Onda Verde in five years...and we are already planning our sixth. This unique hotel on the Amalfi Coast is a delight. The rooms are immaculate, beautiful, and comfortable. Because the hotel is made up of several villas built into the rock of the mountain, you have a great deal of privacy and the rooms are very quiet. The views of the bright blue Gulf of Salerno are unsurpassed. Chef Nicolo and his staff are always eager to make your dining experience memorable and use only the freshest seafood, homemade pasta and pasteries, and delectable fruits and vegetables to prepare their wonderful dishes. The dining staff, Pepe and Rafaelle, pamper you throughout your stay, and the entire Milano family is devoted to the happiness, comfort, and satisfaction of the guests. If you tire of seeing the sights of the villages along the coast, you can fill your days with exploring the area around the hotel. A morning or afternoon sitting at Marina de Praia, il Pirata, or on the sundeck of the hotel is a beautiful and very relaxing way to fill the hours. This is truly a magical place...the beauty, the food, and the ambience...treat yourself to a few days...or a week in paradise.

Edward and Beverly Jones

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    162
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
127
607
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My husband and I spent 6 nights here in mid May and if the weather had cooperated for a few more days, our stay would have been perfect!!! The wonderful staff, particularly in the dining room, ensured we were very well looked after. Rooms are spotless, location (overlooking the water) beautiful, and ideal for exploring the coast from Salerno to Sorrento. Make sure to visit Villa Cimbrone in Ravello. Day trips to Pompei,Vesuvius and Capri are also easy to do. We will miss the amazing views out over the water while enjoying our morning coffee or sipping a glass of wine in the evening! A great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank langara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I found Hotel Onda Verde here in Atlanta while net surfing the Campania region of Italy. We had already booked a hotel for our May vacation farther down the coast in Maratea, but were wondering if there was something equally beautiful closer to the Napoli airport. We immediately fell in love with the photos on Hotel Onda Verde's website, and were thrilled to learn that the hotel would send a taxi to pick us up, a great benefit that saved us the stress of white-knuckling the hairpin turns in a rental car. Our expectations were more than met by the welcoming Milano family, and our beautiful room with a balcony with spectacular views of the ever-changing sky and seascape. I was especially pleased with the high-quality mattress and to have a bathtub with jacuzzi. We booked the half-board plan, choosing to eat at the hotel for 4 dinners and out for 3 dinners. The dinners at the hotel were fabulous, with the freshest mussels and squid we've ever had. The wine list had many wonderful local wines from Campania, but I was disappointed that the wine-by-the glass option was limited to the hotel's choice of one red (a bit sour to my taste) and one white. Other nearby restaurants had several choices of local wines by the glass. When we decided to eat out, we either took the short walk "down the cliff" to the Il Pirata restaurant, or took the 5-minute walk down the main road to the restaurant of Locanda Costa Diva. We were so glad that we stayed in Praiano, rather than the more touristy towns of Positano or Amalfi, and appreciated the staff's recommendation of taking the SITA bus to the breathtakingly beautiful town of Ravello. Part of the joy of exploring Praino was discovering that almost all the hotels and restaurants used the beautiful ceramics from Ceramica Liz Art, a wonderful ceramics "laboratory" and store just a few steps away from our hotel. As it turns out, the artist and owner of Liz Art are relatives of the Milano family! We are now home in Atlanta, dining on two beautiful pasta plates from Liz Art, wishing that we could find the fresh pasta and seafood that we experienced in Praiano and at the wonderful Hotel Onda Verde.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathtub/jacuzzi, as not all rooms have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The Amalfi Coast is a beautiful part of the world and Praiano is located conveniently between the larger towns of Amalfi and Positano with easy bus or cab transportation. The Onda Verde turned out to be everything we could have asked for to have our wedding ceremony. The terrace overlooking the sea had amazing views and was a perfect spot to have a wedding. A very important feature is that the room was exceptionally clean with fresh towels every day and the bed was very comfortable. Also, the restaurant overlooking the sea was a great place to enjoy breakfast and dinner. What made the Onda Verde a special place to stay was the staff. Everyone was professional but each was friendly and personable. They made us feel like we were friends, not just customers. Special kudos to Francesco, he is very professional and knows how to treat customers. Francesco helped us with many details in planning our wedding. Also, Rafaelle, our server at the restaurant is very pleasant and always made sure we were happy with each meal and anything we needed. The Chef, Nicolo, was exceptional and all the food was excellent. He also made our wedding cake which turned out perfect. We recommend getting the package deal. It was a good value and the pricing for the wedding ceremony was very fair. Will we go back to the Hotel Onda Verde? ABSOLUTELY!
Many thanks, Chris and Julie

Room Tip: If you like hearing the sounds of water when you sleep, the double deluxe room we stayed in was perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euless
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We found this little piece of heaven,hotel Onda Verde,Praiano, Italy ten years ago and have returned every year sometimes twice. Located on the Amalfi Coasst between Positano and AMalfi, it is the perfect spot for visiting the Coast attractions from Capri to Salerno. Three generations of the Milano family insure a warm and friendly welcome. We are welcomed as members of the family, always with a smile. Public transportation is at the front door for the whole peninsula with even trips to the Naples sights a possibility. The cuisine is always made from homegrown ingredients and always a delight. We cannot wiat to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EulessMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

If you thing the picture on the net is wonderful, you've got to experience how wonderful and charming this little hotel really is. We do not know what to expect because the hotel is below the street and inside the hill. When the elevator door opened,we entered a well lit cave that brings you into an open area with the view of the ocean. It's just gorgeous. The staffs are wonderful and friendly. The room on the first night was adequate but clean with safe inside the room. We have to go out,through side door, to enjoy our ocean view. You got a little noise in the morning from pedestrian walking along the back of the hotel but not so bothersome. Then, we got move into a "real"ocean view room. A bit bigger and nicer room but a bit noisy in the morning because you get a bit of traffic(bus beeping as it goes around the curve on the hill) You've got to watch the fisherman going back ashore with their catch and got serenaded with "O Sole Mio" from your balcony. There's a little cove down below where you can swim and sunbath or catch a boat to Capri or Positano. The area is quiet. But you want to dance and get something to drink at night, there is a discotique/bar a short walk,along the cliff, from the hotel. We dined in a little mom/pop restaurant,which situated inside a cave, that served fresh fish that they caught that morning. Keep in mind, it's not Positano. You may need a car at night if you want to get to the restaurant of your choice or ask them to get your taxi. Overall, it was a really wonderful experience. The view is magnificent but then again.. it's the Amalfi coast. We're planning to go back there again one day soon. We love it there. Hope you enjoy your trip as much as we did.

Room Tip: when you asked for an ocean view room, you have to make sure you got a room with vie of the ocean th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRoseLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Spectacular entrance, from the car park, directly off the road, you take the lift down 6 floors to the reception and eating area overlooking the sea, wonderful.
The food was superb, not the cheapest, and of course a large service charge, but very well presented and served.

Room Tip: We stayed opposite, not in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisBrown524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#3 of 19 in Praiano
1,390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 19 in Praiano
807 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 19 in Praiano
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
3.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
966 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 19 in Praiano
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Property: Hotel Onda Verde
Address: Via Terra E Mare 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Onda Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing