We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location!”
Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, FL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful location!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Spent three nights here in mid-August and would highly recommend a stay here. Our visit to Italy included 8 nights on the Amalfi Coast, 3 here at Hotel Onda Verde, 5 at La Fenice in Positano, then ended with 2 nights in Rome.

Felt the price was a bit of a splurge, compared to the other hotels we stayed at during our trip, but the service was nice, breakfasts were great and you are paying for a great location. I had gone back and forth from other hotels to stay at in Praiano and so glad we choose this one. It is quite a walk to the city center of Praiano, I think we did it in about 20-25 minutes. Not much to the city, but it is a nice departure from the busier towns. I thought about choosing a hotel right in Praiano, but others I wanted to stay at which were small B&B's with water access, were booked. Glad I did not stay in the center at the other hotels, as I loved the location of Hotel Onda Verde and water access. But if water access is not important, location of Praiano is very nice.

We had a deluxe room with balcony overlooking the beach/cliff/ocean, it was an incredible view to wake up to each morning, so worth it for that. It was an Italian holiday when we arrived, so it was busy with locals, which was neat to experience. I choose it due to it's location on the water. Although you have to travel down some stairs to get to the water, we did not feel that was a detraction. We spent our first day laying out on the sun-deck. If those were not available, you could easily rent a chair at the Pirata Restaurant below for 7.5Euro a day. We never did that though. If you want a front row at the restaurant, reserve your chairs a day or two before.

We walked to all the restaurants each night. We ate at the hotel once, it was good, but not our best. The employee who checked us in gave us complimentary proseccos went we sat down, nice treat. But our regular server, seemed to be having a rough night, so that put a damper on our first evening. But we took it in stride and just enjoyed the view from the restaurant. Other two nights we walked to the beach where there are three great restaurants, within an incredible location in the cove of the beach.

The hotel had excellent service, from check-in to check-out. They are genuinely nice and accommodating. They helped us with little excursions we planned and held our luggage for us on our last day when we had a boat-trip planned. The rooms are very nice, love the hand painted tiles. Included a room-safe, small minibar, hairdryer, and TV which we never watched :) Beds are a bit firm, but still got a good nights rest each night. The breakfasts were great. Lots of fruit, pastries, great coffee, juices, eggs and bacon/sausage each morning.

Would definitely recommend a stay here if water access is important and if you want a spectacular view, along with great service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    167
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
129
632
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Hotel Onda Verde (I think the translation is "Green Wave") is a wonderful, welcoming hotel in Praiano, Italy, on the Amalfi coast. At a good friend's suggestion, I was trying to find a hotel in Ravello for my daughter, son and me for 3 days in August, but the ones I wanted were already booked. So, back to Booking.com for other suggestions and that's when I came across the website for Hotel Onda Verde.

The hotel arranged for a driver to meet us in Naples. We had been staying in Sutri, a small town about 50 km from Rome. We took the train from Rome to Naples and our driver, Gino, was there to guide us to his car for the 1.5 hour drive to Praiano. He stopped along the way so we could take a few photos of the beautiful Amalfi coast. We arrived at the hotel and immediately were shown to our room, which was beautiful and included a large bathroom with a great shower as well as a private patio overlooking the beach and elegant villas built into the hills of Amalfi.

Nickolai (hope I'm spelling his name correctly) is the chef at Onda Verde and he is awesome! We ate a beautifully prepared breakfast at the hotel each morning. Every morning Nickolai had a special treat for hotel guests. One morning it was pizza and another morning the fried sugar-coated donuts that Italians and all of us tourists enjoy. The dinners were delicious and we filled up on fresh fish, mussels, clams and shrimp.

The staff was courteous and attentive. We took a day trip to Amalfi by water taxi. Our only disappointment was a rain on the day we planned to go to the beach. Instead, we staying in our comfortable room and read and napped until the rain ended. Then we took a 20-minute walk to the town of Praiano and had dinner at La Strada, a restaurant recommended by our concierge. If you go to Praiano, don't miss this restaurant! We had the best pizza there and that's saying a lot since we ordered pizza in Rome and Naples!

Our three days in Amalfi were one of the highlights of our trip. I highly recommend the Hotel Onda Verde if you're planning to visit this marvelous place!

Room Tip: Be prepared to take the elevator from the top of the road down 6 levels to the hotel. All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Wow, what can I say, we were on honeymoon and fell in love with the pictures online of the hotel and were very excited before we arrived. Well, on arrival, we were delighted :0) our sea view suite was just beautiful and to top it off they gave us room 106 with a large private balcony complete with comfy sun loungers, we stayed 8 nights and 2 of those days we didn't even leave the room / balcony, we could sunbathe, enjoy the delights from the mini bar and watch the tourists having fun in the water below without exiting our room :0). Of course we did get out and about on the other days, we did a night boat trip to Positano recommended by the wonderful Milano family who own the hotel, to watch celebration fireworks from the private little boat, it was amazing! We purchased all day bus tickets from the hotel reception, to Amalfi Town and Ravello, an absolute must! Next time we go we will also try the boat taxi's! We did a private boat trip to the Island of Capri, taking in all the little Islands and Coves on the way, again booked directly by the hotel, it was wonderful :0). We swam in the clear waters of the bay below, just a short stroll down a gentle slope, so much more natural and refreshing than a swimming pool. Breakfast was always magnificent, an abundance of fresh fruits, homemade pastries, breads, hams, eggs and bacon, far too much to choose from! We ate twice in the Onda Verde Restaurant, by far the best meals we had on our entire 16 night honeymoon, most memorable was the baby squid stuffed with home grown vegetables and that was just for starters ... the entire menu was just delicious and compliments to the wonderful chef who was always very charming :0) the entire staff, especially Francesco and his father, were so welcoming and caring and always concerned about how our day had been and if we were making the most of our days out and always very informative of what to do and where to go, we felt as though we were part of the family!! We are already planning our trip for next year to the Onda Verde and I'm sure it will become a regular holiday destination for us as we absolutely fell in love with this gorgeous family run hotel :0) thank you to the very caring Milano family and staff!!

Room Tip: Room 106 has a large private balcony complete with comfy sunloungers, perfect for relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Hotel is easy to find on main road with car parking free and at the entrance to the hotel. Check in friendly and efficient, lots of steps and twisty corridors so if you have mobility problems it would be best not to chose this hotel. The room was spotlessly clean, garish tiles in the blue and yellow typical of this region, and a spectacular wash basin of ceramic. Good shower, aircon and wifi. Food was fine and service really friendly and helpful, the staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome. They booked us our motorboat to hire and helped with directions. Be aware that the hotel doesn't have a pool and access to the sea is only from piers, the beach is down a series of steps. The tiny bay has three or four restaurants and the night we stayed there was an outdoor opera and a fireworks display. The views are fantastic, service great and room was clean and well equipped. We would recommend it, although like everywhere along this coast, it was expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetotravelIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Best value for money, the hotel staff were so friendly and helpful. The view and location of the hotel is perfect, food at the restaurant was superb. Hotel room was clean and well looked after. I'm trying to balance this review with some negative comments however cannot find any. I must thank Sophia, Andrew from the restaurant, Francesco and the lady at reception whose name I can't remember for being so nice and for making our honeymoon enjoyable. I recommend this hotel to anyone planning to stay at Praiano. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielkimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed at Hotel Onda Verde for 9 glorious days on the recommendation of a girlfriend who was ecstatic about her stay there. It was everything she told me and more. The amazing family who own the hotel along with their fabulous staff could not have done any more to ensure my stay was memorable in every respect.
Loved thepeaceful location away from the hurly burly world of Positano and Amalfi. A water taxi was a great means of transport to these fabulous neighbouring villages. The hotel is positioned well for visits to these famous places. Dont miss visiting Ravello and if the concert season is in full swing attending one of these at Villa Rufolo is a once in a lifetime experience.
Miro, Francesca, Fernanda, Sophia and Nicola I will return to once again immerse myself in your care.The beautiful atmosphere and stunning views and all of you will entice me back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Onde Verde from July 29th to August 09th and it was an oasis of
serenity and relaxation.The room was beautiful, overlooking the sea, and the hotel staff(Fernanda,Francesco, Miro and Sophia were very helpful and welcoming.The location of this hotel provides easy access to all major areas . We chose their special 7 day package, which included breakfast and supper as well as 2 excursions. The food prepared by Chef Nicola was
outstanding. His passion for food equals his passion for life! Breakfast always included the
freshest fruits,fresh homemade ricotta cheese, breads, biscotti, italian cookies and the best
scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage. Breakfast provided an opportunity to taste foods that are typical to the region.Delizioso!! The evening meals were an incredible experience....fresh products prepared with tremendous love.Chef Nicola and the foods he prepares are a highlight of this resort! We'll be back

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank pleasantlyconverted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#6 of 20 in Praiano
821 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 20 in Praiano
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
703 reviews
3.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Property: Hotel Onda Verde
Address: Via Terramare, 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Onda Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing