We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Setting & Picture Perfect Views - Easy, charming stay on the Amalfi Coast”
Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing Setting & Picture Perfect Views - Easy, charming stay on the Amalfi Coast”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Clean, spacious rooms - with breathtaking views of Praiano from the terrace.
Housekeeping gets a big tick, as does the breakfast selection - you could sit for an hour or two if you wanted, soaking in the sea views from the restaurant balcony.

Excellent location to explore the Amalfi Coast - 5-10 min bus ride to Positano, or if you want to explore the other way, 10-15 mins to Amalfi and the gorgeous hillside village of Ravello (a must visit).

We had a really easy stay - enjoyed coming back to the hotel after our busy days of exploring. It did feel like our home away from home in no time. Definitely visit Il Pirata... fantastic restaurant just next to the hotel - a nice unexpected romantic dining experience. We wanted to go back but there was too much to explore!
Hire a sun lounger at Praiano Beach or Il Pirata - great atmosphere but also relaxing and quiet.

Only one little issue... we hired a scooter on our first full day. Were told by reception to be up on the road at 11am.. waited and waited until 11:30, called back to the reception desk to ask where our scooter was, only to be told to come back to the hotel as the scooter was never going to show. Upset the balance of the day as I'm sure you can imagine!
Would have been nice to have been told!! Left a bit of a sour taste in our mouths but the following 2 days and 2 nights were flawless.

All in all - a wonderful stay, I'm sure you'll have a fabulous time here.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Praiano in our opinion are better - you're looking at boats and the action down on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjf84Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    165
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
128
612
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a portion of our honeymoon last Sept (2012). I can only say I am semi impressed. The rooms were cute, had a great view, everywhere in this hotel had a great view and everything was clean, but the service trumped beauty and was TERRIBLE. There was a nice lady that worked the desk and I wish she worked 24/7 because dealing with the males at the desk were the equivalent of putting forks in your eyes. I feel I was taken advantage of several times during my stay. Also, the food was awful. The included breakfast was enough to hold you over but a meal here and the pirates bar left me feeling queasy and broke. My husband and I went into town to eat after the first couple of nights. If you are fairly independent in Amalfi and are familiar with the area I would recommend, but otherwise try somewhere else first.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatQueen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

If you want a relaxed, real Italian/ Amalfi experience then this hotel is perfect. We stayed for 3 nights in early August and while it was relatively expensive it was absolutely worthwhile in every way. The staff were caring and so helpful, we had exactly the short holiday we wanted thanks to their help, they organised a boat from the little cove below the hotel for our trip to Capri with swimming stops on the way - so beautiful!! The hotel itself is carved into the cliff - see photos in the front entrance/lobby of construction by the owners - the same family still run the hotel and are understandably very proud of it. Our room was lovely, from the beautiful italianate tiles and furniture to the view of the sea and our little cove - honestly difficult to find the words to describe it although incredibly beautiful comes to mind, comfortable and clean. We swam in the clear warm water of the little cove and had wonderful, fresh fish, veges and fruit from the restaurants in the cove or from the hotel - perfect. And the coffee is fabulous :-), as is the breakfast. Don't expect total luxury - this hotel is better than that.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnTarrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Spent three nights here in mid-August and would highly recommend a stay here. Our visit to Italy included 8 nights on the Amalfi Coast, 3 here at Hotel Onda Verde, 5 at La Fenice in Positano, then ended with 2 nights in Rome.

Felt the price was a bit of a splurge, compared to the other hotels we stayed at during our trip, but the service was nice, breakfasts were great and you are paying for a great location. I had gone back and forth from other hotels to stay at in Praiano and so glad we choose this one. It is quite a walk to the city center of Praiano, I think we did it in about 20-25 minutes. Not much to the city, but it is a nice departure from the busier towns. I thought about choosing a hotel right in Praiano, but others I wanted to stay at which were small B&B's with water access, were booked. Glad I did not stay in the center at the other hotels, as I loved the location of Hotel Onda Verde and water access. But if water access is not important, location of Praiano is very nice.

We had a deluxe room with balcony overlooking the beach/cliff/ocean, it was an incredible view to wake up to each morning, so worth it for that. It was an Italian holiday when we arrived, so it was busy with locals, which was neat to experience. I choose it due to it's location on the water. Although you have to travel down some stairs to get to the water, we did not feel that was a detraction. We spent our first day laying out on the sun-deck. If those were not available, you could easily rent a chair at the Pirata Restaurant below for 7.5Euro a day. We never did that though. If you want a front row at the restaurant, reserve your chairs a day or two before.

We walked to all the restaurants each night. We ate at the hotel once, it was good, but not our best. The employee who checked us in gave us complimentary proseccos went we sat down, nice treat. But our regular server, seemed to be having a rough night, so that put a damper on our first evening. But we took it in stride and just enjoyed the view from the restaurant. Other two nights we walked to the beach where there are three great restaurants, within an incredible location in the cove of the beach.

The hotel had excellent service, from check-in to check-out. They are genuinely nice and accommodating. They helped us with little excursions we planned and held our luggage for us on our last day when we had a boat-trip planned. The rooms are very nice, love the hand painted tiles. Included a room-safe, small minibar, hairdryer, and TV which we never watched :) Beds are a bit firm, but still got a good nights rest each night. The breakfasts were great. Lots of fruit, pastries, great coffee, juices, eggs and bacon/sausage each morning.

Would definitely recommend a stay here if water access is important and if you want a spectacular view, along with great service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Hotel Onda Verde (I think the translation is "Green Wave") is a wonderful, welcoming hotel in Praiano, Italy, on the Amalfi coast. At a good friend's suggestion, I was trying to find a hotel in Ravello for my daughter, son and me for 3 days in August, but the ones I wanted were already booked. So, back to Booking.com for other suggestions and that's when I came across the website for Hotel Onda Verde.

The hotel arranged for a driver to meet us in Naples. We had been staying in Sutri, a small town about 50 km from Rome. We took the train from Rome to Naples and our driver, Gino, was there to guide us to his car for the 1.5 hour drive to Praiano. He stopped along the way so we could take a few photos of the beautiful Amalfi coast. We arrived at the hotel and immediately were shown to our room, which was beautiful and included a large bathroom with a great shower as well as a private patio overlooking the beach and elegant villas built into the hills of Amalfi.

Nickolai (hope I'm spelling his name correctly) is the chef at Onda Verde and he is awesome! We ate a beautifully prepared breakfast at the hotel each morning. Every morning Nickolai had a special treat for hotel guests. One morning it was pizza and another morning the fried sugar-coated donuts that Italians and all of us tourists enjoy. The dinners were delicious and we filled up on fresh fish, mussels, clams and shrimp.

The staff was courteous and attentive. We took a day trip to Amalfi by water taxi. Our only disappointment was a rain on the day we planned to go to the beach. Instead, we staying in our comfortable room and read and napped until the rain ended. Then we took a 20-minute walk to the town of Praiano and had dinner at La Strada, a restaurant recommended by our concierge. If you go to Praiano, don't miss this restaurant! We had the best pizza there and that's saying a lot since we ordered pizza in Rome and Naples!

Our three days in Amalfi were one of the highlights of our trip. I highly recommend the Hotel Onda Verde if you're planning to visit this marvelous place!

Room Tip: Be prepared to take the elevator from the top of the road down 6 levels to the hotel. All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Wow, what can I say, we were on honeymoon and fell in love with the pictures online of the hotel and were very excited before we arrived. Well, on arrival, we were delighted :0) our sea view suite was just beautiful and to top it off they gave us room 106 with a large private balcony complete with comfy sun loungers, we stayed 8 nights and 2 of those days we didn't even leave the room / balcony, we could sunbathe, enjoy the delights from the mini bar and watch the tourists having fun in the water below without exiting our room :0). Of course we did get out and about on the other days, we did a night boat trip to Positano recommended by the wonderful Milano family who own the hotel, to watch celebration fireworks from the private little boat, it was amazing! We purchased all day bus tickets from the hotel reception, to Amalfi Town and Ravello, an absolute must! Next time we go we will also try the boat taxi's! We did a private boat trip to the Island of Capri, taking in all the little Islands and Coves on the way, again booked directly by the hotel, it was wonderful :0). We swam in the clear waters of the bay below, just a short stroll down a gentle slope, so much more natural and refreshing than a swimming pool. Breakfast was always magnificent, an abundance of fresh fruits, homemade pastries, breads, hams, eggs and bacon, far too much to choose from! We ate twice in the Onda Verde Restaurant, by far the best meals we had on our entire 16 night honeymoon, most memorable was the baby squid stuffed with home grown vegetables and that was just for starters ... the entire menu was just delicious and compliments to the wonderful chef who was always very charming :0) the entire staff, especially Francesco and his father, were so welcoming and caring and always concerned about how our day had been and if we were making the most of our days out and always very informative of what to do and where to go, we felt as though we were part of the family!! We are already planning our trip for next year to the Onda Verde and I'm sure it will become a regular holiday destination for us as we absolutely fell in love with this gorgeous family run hotel :0) thank you to the very caring Milano family and staff!!

Room Tip: Room 106 has a large private balcony complete with comfy sunloungers, perfect for relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Hotel is easy to find on main road with car parking free and at the entrance to the hotel. Check in friendly and efficient, lots of steps and twisty corridors so if you have mobility problems it would be best not to chose this hotel. The room was spotlessly clean, garish tiles in the blue and yellow typical of this region, and a spectacular wash basin of ceramic. Good shower, aircon and wifi. Food was fine and service really friendly and helpful, the staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome. They booked us our motorboat to hire and helped with directions. Be aware that the hotel doesn't have a pool and access to the sea is only from piers, the beach is down a series of steps. The tiny bay has three or four restaurants and the night we stayed there was an outdoor opera and a fireworks display. The views are fantastic, service great and room was clean and well equipped. We would recommend it, although like everywhere along this coast, it was expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetotravelIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 19 in Praiano
1,398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#5 of 19 in Praiano
811 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#7 of 19 in Praiano
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
3.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
972 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 19 in Praiano
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Property: Hotel Onda Verde
Address: Via Terra E Mare 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Onda Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Amalfi Coast, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing